We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For one or two nights only.”
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #49 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed here for one night on visiting the theatre. Loved the central location of the hotel with plenty of places to walk to for interest, food and entertainment. Would return to the hotel for those attractions alone.
I found the hotel 'unique' with it's Dandy wallpaper, beer mugs and Tunnock biscuits. The toilet/shower room was superb in terms of finish and size but the bedroom itself was small and too cosy for any prolonged stay for more than one person. Reception was unusual but worked, the member of staff on duty friendly. A good experience for one or two nights.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skyebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Hi Skyebo,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us & hope you had a good night at the Theatre. It’s great to hear you loved our central location & you liked our unique little touches within your room, I’ll be sure to share your comments with the team at our next meeting. Come visit us again soon, let us know direct and we will be happy to assist.

Best wishes, Rachel Duff – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,675 - 1,681 of 2,227 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

As a pre-birthday treat I booked myself for one night into this hotel solo. It completely lived up to expectation. Amazing central location, friendly staff, and funky decor- I loved the Dandy wallpaper and small room adornments such as the water container and beer mugs. I was in a 'cosy' room which I feared might be mini, however I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was a good size and extremely comfortable. The bed was fab and the 'rainforest' shower was a total delight. I would recommend this place to anyone. And don't be afraid to book it for yourself alone- there are enough quirky details to keep a person entertained for hours!! Brilliant birthday treat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Hi Catherine,

It’s great to hear such fantastic feedback about our brand new hotel product, and I am so pleased that you chose to write a review to share your experience with future guests!

It sounds like you had a really fun trip to Edinburgh for your birthday, and I’m pleased we played a wee part in that :-)

I do hope you will come back and stay with us again; please get in touch for the best returner rate.

All the best,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

By far, this is one of the nicest and most welcoming hotels my partner and I have ever stayed in. We were welcomed warmly with plenty of advice on where to eat and what to do nearby. Its in a prime location; about a 5 minute walk from Princes Street - main shopping and attractions and on a square full of pubs. The reason for our visit was our anniversary which we mentioned in passing to find a nice restaurant. The next morning we received a card and a box of chocolates which was a lovely touch and really showed the attention to detail. The room was gorgeous, nice and spacious with a clear modern bathroom. My partner is a massive fan of the Dandy and Beano so he was delighted when a feature wall was covered in historical Dandy covers and a Beano annual he was allowed to borrow - a massive winner in his book! The hotel links with the pub next door for breakfast which we had on 2 morning and was very enjoyable. Great location, great price, great quality, great staff - we will definitely be returning; we've already started planning our next visit! Thank you Grassmarket! :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Hi Charlotte,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review about your recent stay with us here at The Grassmarket Hotel :-)

I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms, quirky room amenities and our fantastic staff.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed here as a group of 4 girls on the weekend of December 21st for an over night. We booked this last minute because of its grass market location and didn't have any expectations. We got such a great surprise when we arrived! The hotel reception is lovely and unique in its decor with a nice waiting area that has board games and a great view along the grassmarket.
It's an old building and the corridors to the rooms are slightly windy but we found this sweet. When we got to our room it was set up with 4 single beds which was perfect for us. The room was very spacious with lots of room between the beds and around them. The beds were so comfy and cosy with white linen . All lovely. Our room felt really sociable with an iPod docking station in the bedroom which was connected to built in shower speakers which could be adjusted whilst in the shower. Nice touch. We also had a big map of Edinburgh on the wall with magnets which could be positioned to plan your trip. There was a large flat screen tv but we didn't have that on as preferred to listen to music. The coffee and era facilities were also great with filter coffee and a never ending supply of different teas all in the room, with Tunnock's tea cakes and crockery. There was lots of room for storage and there was nothing i felt was missing from the room. Lovely shower gels and body lotions in bathroom too. The only tiny thing I would change was that the bathroom door was almost see through and you can see people showering from the bedroom!! This was ok for us being all girls but some people may not like this.
The hotel is connected to an Irish pub buddy milligans which we popped into for an hour after a night out. It was really fun with a great atmosphere and live music. Lots of people around on weekends having fun, loved it.
The next day reception girls kept out luggage secure until we were getting our train which was fab and although they always seemed really pre occupied and busy, the staff were nice.

Will definitely stay here on our next visit to Edinburgh and have recommended to my friends who are staying this weekend. Fab location too with lots of restaurants and bars around and just a few streets from royal mile.

Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johanna89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Hi Johanna,

It’s great to hear such fantastic feedback about our brand new hotel product, and I am so pleased that you chose to write a review to share your experience with future guests!

It sounds like you and your friends had a really fun trip to Edinburgh, and I’m pleased we played a wee part in that :-)

I do hope you will come back and stay with us again; please get in touch for the best returner rate.

All the best,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Super friendly staff. Good breakfast in pub next door. Reasonable prices. But note it is more like a high end hostel than a hotel. Rooms are clean, bathrooms have been renovated. My room had moldy smell in bathroom. Not a good hotel if you need good accessibility as many steps to get to rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have smell of cigarette smoke even though it is non smoking hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FeralFluffyBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Hi KCarruthers,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us here at The Grassmarket Hotel – we appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests :-)

I’m so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, that you found the rooms comfortable and clean and the staff to be friendly.

Thank you for informing me of the issues in your bathroom; I’ll ensure our maintenance team look into this straight away.

Hope to welcome you back again soon!

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Amazing Stay - surely come back!
Very well designed rooms, friendly staff, nice pub next to hotel with a fantastic breakfast, enjoyed the stay soo much! Excellent location for discover Edinburgh. Great idea: built-in iPod-Docks!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Hi Mark,

What a great review – it’s fantastic to hear such positive feedback about our new hotel :-)

I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed the new rooms, our fantastic location and that you had a great trip to Edinburgh.

I hope we can welcome you back again – please get in touch if you are returning to Edinburgh and we will sort you out with the best returner rate!

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Can't fault this place for their customer service - it was superb. The staff were really very friendly and welcoming. Interesting decor and quite a stylish environment. Breakfast was plentiful.

Steve Miles

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Hi Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review about your recent stay with us here at The Grassmarket Hotel :-)

I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms, quirky room amenities and our fantastic staff.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,561 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#26 of 151 in Edinburgh
355 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmarket Hotel

Address: 94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £69 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassmarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grassmarket Hotel is the perfect choice for work and play, and is centrally located moments from the best attractions Edinburgh has to offer including Edinburgh Castle and the historic Royal Mile. If you like to unwind after a hard day in quirky stylish surroundings, you won’t be disappointed. Our designs bring a distinctive and fresh flavour to the Edinburgh hotel market whilst incorporating traditional Scottish twists, with a few surprises along the way! The hotel hasguestrooms, ranging from cosy (single room), comfy (standard twin/double) and comfy plus (triple or 4 singles) all complete with rainfall style showers. Can’t cope without your iPod? Pop it in our dock & kick back in sound proofed rooms. Each bedroom has a large flat screen plasma TV. Oh and if that wasn’t enough to keep you occupied, we also have free Wi-Fi. New to the city? All rooms have wall sized magnetic map that will point you in the right direction and air conditioning as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing