We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel”
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #45 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Loved this hotel. My wife and I stayed for a weekend and had a lovely time. Great location, great staff, comfortable rooms. Breakfast at biddy mulligans next door was great too. Pick up a take-away Edinburgh map in reception and they have 241 food deals printed on there for nearby places, definitely worth doing!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hi Dean T,

Thank you for this top rated review. It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us and a great to hear you thought our hotel was brilliant. If you are ever looking to return to Edinburgh let us know directly, we will be more than happy to assist. Again, thanks for taking the time to review us.

Best wishes, Rachel Duff - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,032
    707
    197
    83
    48
See reviews for
360
733
227
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Workington, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Rooms were different to any other hotels I've stayed in so that's why I picked it. Staff really helpful and even left a card and chocolates as it was my boyfriends birthday. Good location. Only downfall was that there was no car park and it was expensive to park in the ncp. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynseyvPratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Morning LynseyvPratt,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Grassmarket Hotel and thank you for the top mark review! Great to hear yourself and boyfriend really enjoyed your stay with us, hope he had a good Birthday. As our hotel is so centrally located in Edinburgh, parking is limited but it does mean you’re in walking distance to enjoy the best of Edinburgh right at our doorstep. Come back and visit us soon, we would be delighted to have you both stay again…

Best wishes, Rachel Duff - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Nothing to complain about here - everything was nice, CLEAN, spacious, and overall great. Well situated as well, in the heart of Grassmarket. You dont need to look any further! You've found your hotel here!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hi Morgan989,

Thanks for this fantastic full mark review! The fact your overall stay was great is all we ever want for our guests and your comments are greatly appreciated, I’ll be sure to share this with all the team. We hope to welcome you back soon, best wishes,

Rachel Duff – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I can't fault this place. Absolutely loved the fun and quirky attention to detail, the comic book wall paper, the lovely treats in the room (a real teapot!) great bathroom/shower. No noise complaints but I as there mid-week in winter. Amazing location, everything within city centre easy walking distance, just below the castle! A great winding street of restaurants and shops around the corner. The staff were super friendly and helpful and nice space to chill out in window seats, drink coffee or work on your laptop in the lobby area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Iascaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Morning lascaigh,

Big thank you for this great review, it’s a pleasure to hear you found your stay with us fun and relaxing. I will be sure to share your kind comments with the team also. Come back and visit us again soon, let us know directly next time you’re returning to Edinburgh and we will be more than happy to assist. Best wishes,

Rachel Duff – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Great little hotel centrally located. Good sized double room with a spacious bathroom and very comfortable large bed and plenty of storage. Loved the Dandy decor. It was my husband's birthday when we were there. I had notified the staff when I booked and he was given chocolates and a birthday card. Nice touch

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank jean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hi Jean m,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us, it was a pleasure to assist in making your husband’s birthday a good one and great to hear you loved our Dandy décor. Come visit again soon,

Rachel Green – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Took my boyfriend away for his birthday just went for the 2days and really wish we stayes longer!..was a great hotel everything was fab! Right down to the service, breakfast was ok not our cup of tea would have preferred Scottish instead of Irish. But yeah such a perfect hotel! Will definitely be back really soon...hopefully a longer stay!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bex_thorntonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Good morning bex_thorntonx,

Thanks for this great review and glad your boyfriend had a fab Birthday with us. Come visit us again soon, your both welcome back anytime…

Rachel Green – General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Love love love this place. Only fault was lack of info on room. Great bathroom considering it was a single room. Bed was a large single and very comfy. Breakfast was passable but felt a bit weird being in pub that early in the morning! ! Next time will stay there but eat elsewhere. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheehank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Hi Karen,

Thanks for the great review!

It’s fantastic to hear that you loved our wee place just as much as we do! I’m sorry you felt there was a lack of room info for you; we do have booklets in the rooms, so I will investigate as to why there was not one in yours.

Hope to see you again soon :-)

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#48 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassmarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Grassmarket Hotel is the perfect choice for work and play, and is centrally located only a 2 minute walk from the famous Royal Mile, 10 minute walk from the Edinburgh International Conference Centre and moments from the best attractions Edinburgh has to offer including Edinburgh Castle and the historic Royal Mile. If you like to unwind after a hard day in quirky stylish surroundings, you won’t be disappointed. Our designs bring a distinctive and fresh flavour to the Edinburgh hotel market whilst incorporating traditional Scottish twists, with a few surprises along the way! The hotel has newly refurbished guestrooms, ranging from cosy (single room), comfy (standard twin/double) and comfy plus (triple or 4 singles) all complete with rainfall style showers. Can’t cope without your iPod? Pop it in our dock & kick back in sound proofed rooms. Each bedroom has a large flat screen plasma TV. Oh and if that wasn’t enough to keep you occupied, we also have free Wi-Fi. New to the city? All rooms have wall sized magnetic map that will point you in the right direction and air conditioning as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing