We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, fantastic breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #48 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, fantastic breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is a nice hotel, central location, the breakfasts at the pub next door are fantastic, downside the rooms are small ask for a larger room when you arrive, also my husband left his ipod in the dock when we left, on arriving home we rang the hotel who said they would check the room and get back to us, we had to ring again the following morning, the only people that could have been in the room (304) where the cleaners and the next guests, and the ipod had disappeared! the only reaction that we got from the staff was that they trust their staff, a very disappointing conclusion to a trip that we took to celebrate our 32nd wedding anniversary, so beware there are obviously thieves ether working or staying at this hotel,

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quieter,Don't leave anything valuable in your rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 171Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Good morning 171Jean,

Many thanks for the review, it’s great to hear you liked our location and had a fantastic breakfast with us.

We take all lost property items very serious at our hotel and any way we can assist we certainly will. Our hotel has a system in place where we will return left or found items by any means we possibly can, we also have safes within all bedrooms to lock up any valuables which is free for our guests to use during their stay. Unfortunately, when you contacted us when you got home & we investigated your missing item we could not find this within the room. Had this been found we would have ensured its safe return as soon as possible. Many thanks for your time,

Rachel Duff – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,017
    700
    194
    83
    48
See reviews for
352
723
226
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Much like other reviewers here, I agree this hotel is in a fantastic location. We found it to be very quiet (even though it was Six Nations Rugby & there was a game at Murrayfield when we were there).
One word of warning as mentioned by other people: the “Cosy Rooms” are EXTREMELY small. Well worth paying the extra for a larger room. The double bed is accessible only from one side, which to me makes this room ideal as a single occupancy only.
We made a complaint as soon as we saw our room, & were promised to be moved the next day as the hotel was fully booked for the first night… probably to do with the rugby.
On top of that the room we were in (306) had an air blockage in the shower meaning we had to get receptionist up to the room to “fix” it. To be fair she did, but this was by no means ideal, & we were worried the same thing would happen again during our stay.
As we’d paid a hefty room charge for the Saturday night, we were really disappointed that we had a tiny room & dodgy plumbing. We made a complaint (again) & were told we were welcome to find other accommodation & get a full refund. As the rugby was in town, we knew this wasn’t going to happen so we stayed put.
20 mins after the shower was fixed the receptionist knocked at the door with a complimentary bottle of wine & offered us a reasonable discount on our bill as compensation. We thought this was really fair, & luckily that first night we had a comfy sleep. Shame the kettle set off the fire alarm in the morning, but that just shows how small the room was. A bit of wafting the steam away & it stopped.
Moving to a larger room (210) the next day we were delighted: had our original room been to this standard we’d have had no complaints.
All in all, we had a fantastic weekend & would recommend this hotel… but only if the Cosy Rooms are avoided.

Room Tip: Avoid "Cosy" rooms (unless for single occupancy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Good morning Bella D,

Hope your very well today and thanks for taking the time to review our Grassmarket Hotel. As you experienced, Edinburgh is at its busiest during home rugby games and there is a fantastic atmosphere in the city. As you stated we were full on the 1st night of your stay but glad you enjoyed your 2nd night with us. Our Cosy bedrooms are designed for solo travellers and if you are traveling with two we would recommend booking a Comfy room type which is more spacious.

If you’re ever returning to Edinburgh please let me know Bella, I would be delighted to arrange your stay personally. We hope to welcome you back soon,

Rachel Duff – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

I have just stayed 2 nights at the Grassmarket hotel (March 2014) and would highly recommend it as an affordable, clean, well located and funky hotel. Mel on reception was exceptionally friendly and helpful. She recommend a cafe up the road called Love crumbs and I suggest you head up there for wonderful coffee and cakes if you can. The room was definitely small and if you are looking for luxury you might need to go elsewhere.. But on a budget I don't think it gets better than Grassmarket.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hi Lyn E,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh - it sounds like you had a great trip and I am pleased we could play a part in that!

Don't stay away too long :-)

Best Wishes,

Karen & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Fab hotel.bed was so comfy I wanted to take it home, really good location, I never heard a thing and I'm a light sleeper, the blackout curtains block out all light, this is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. Staff emailed me asking if I needed assistance with anything before I arrived, really thoughtful and great customer service, pub next door where u go for breakfast is good, the only comment I would have is for the pub just to cook breakfast items a little more. This is a wonderful hotel in a wonderful city with wonderful staff. When ever I return to Edinburgh I will stay here :) thanks for a great stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarahsaul1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hi Sarahsaul1999,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review on your stay with us!

I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed our comfy beds.

I have passed on your comments onto the Biddy Mulligans management team and they appreciate all the feedback they receive.

Let us know when you are coming back to Edinburgh and we'll sort you out with our great returners rate - see you again soon!

Best wishes

Karen & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Just a couple blocks from the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle, this hotel is quaint, funky, and quirky. The rooms are super fresh and modern, decorated with a magnetic, wall size map of the city and comic strips. The amenities are perfect and the staff very friendly. I found the adjoining pub next door served a wonderful and hearty breakfast which is a great start to your exploring this enchanting city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank wbuttrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Hi Wbuttrill,

Thank you for sharing your photos of you recent visit to us here in Edinburgh!

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our fantastic location, the breakfast next door in Biddy Mulligans & our lovely staff!

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Karen & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunmore, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed at the Grass market in February/March 2014. I found the location brillant, very close to the Edinburgh Castle and quite close to the main shopping street if you dont mind climbing alot of steps. The room was quite small ( Twin), but was clean, the ensuite and shower were lovely. The breakfast was in the irish pub attached to the hotel which was quirky and really nice. The staff in here were lovely as well. I would highly recommend the Grass Market, its a hotel with a difference. You will enjoy your stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kiara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Hi Kiara,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh; it sounds like you had a great time and made the most of our fantastic city centre location :-)

It’s great to hear you enjoyed the room, the amazing rainfall shower and the breakfast next door in Biddy Mulligans – I will pass on your kind comments to their management team.

Please keep in touch to ensure you receive the best returner rate!

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

The location is great in the city centre of Edinburgh. The bed is very comfortable and room is very clean. Lovely bathroom with walk-in shower. The Dandy Wallpaper and wall map with word magnets adds to the fun and quirkiness of the hotel.

Definitely would recommend for a nice visiting weekend stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerTL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Hi TravellerTL2014,

Thank you so much for leaving a review about your recent stay with us; we really appreciate it!

I’m so pleased to hear you found the rooms comfortable and clean, and that you enjoyed our fantastic bathrooms!

It is also great to hear you would recommend us to others :-)

Hope to see you again,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassmarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Grassmarket Hotel is the perfect choice for work and play, and is centrally located only a 2 minute walk from the famous Royal Mile, 10 minute walk from the Edinburgh International Conference Centre and moments from the best attractions Edinburgh has to offer including Edinburgh Castle and the historic Royal Mile. If you like to unwind after a hard day in quirky stylish surroundings, you won’t be disappointed. Our designs bring a distinctive and fresh flavour to the Edinburgh hotel market whilst incorporating traditional Scottish twists, with a few surprises along the way! The hotel has newly refurbished guestrooms, ranging from cosy (single room), comfy (standard twin/double) and comfy plus (triple or 4 singles) all complete with rainfall style showers. Can’t cope without your iPod? Pop it in our dock & kick back in sound proofed rooms. Each bedroom has a large flat screen plasma TV. Oh and if that wasn’t enough to keep you occupied, we also have free Wi-Fi. New to the city? All rooms have wall sized magnetic map that will point you in the right direction and air conditioning as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing