We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hipster hotel”
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #50 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Good place to stay in heart of the old historical side of Edinburgh. The cozy Dandy comics styled rooms are playful, clean and comfortable. The staff are wonderful and very helpful. I was pleased and for sure will stay here again. The only one thing that might be a problem for some people with this hotel is that bathroom doors are frosted glass and does not give you enough privacy if you are sharing the room with some one else. I had single, so it was not a problem.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Nabil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hi nabiljamil,

Thanks for the review - we really appreciate it!

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - it sounds like you made the most of our great location! I'm so pleased to hear you found the staff to be wonderful - they will be delighted when I show them your review.

Please contact us directly when you return and we will be sure to offer you a superb returner rate :-)

Hope to see you soon,

Rachel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,626 - 1,632 of 2,270 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent an extended weekend with our parents, and we really loved this place! Perfect location in the heart of Edinburgh, walking distance to everything. The rooms are large, modern design and we enjoyed the magnetic map wall and the cartoons.
Friendly and helpful staff, great details like the books in the reception, games and even the option of buying gifts and cards.
The location with bars all around means a bit noisy outside at night, but not much of a problem really.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guro-Marte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hey Guro-Marte,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review - it sounds like you had a fantastic family weekend here in Edinburgh!

It is great to hear you enjoyed our superb location, our quirky rooms and that you found the reception area to be comfortable. I'm so glad you found the staff to be friendly and helpful - this is what we aim for :-)

I hope we can welcome you all back again in the future!

Best Wishes,

Rachel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Very nice and origial decoration. Friendly atmosphere in combination with humorous brochures. NIce toiletries. Extremelly strage tap in the shower (difficult to opperate). Tasty teas in the room. Good TV. Inconvenient that we had to carry luggage through a stair. A little awkward that you have to eat breakfast in the nearby pub (we didn't try it eventually).

Room Tip: The room was small and low-ceilinged. However, the bathroom was large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank afrodite_lafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hi afrodite_lafi,

Thank you for your review!

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us; particularly the room amenities and design features. Due to the age of the building, our rooms can vary in size throughout with some being smaller than others.

I hope we can welcome you back next time you are in Edinburgh :-)

Best Wishes,

Rachel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed here for one night and the price of the room was under £30 which was amazing value. The hotel is small, compact, funky and chic! The staff were all lovely, warm and extremely helpful. I have stayed in lots of hotels in edinburgh and this rates as one of the best. The rooms are not the largest however they are the cleanest, freshest with the best beds warmest duvets and great pillows. The room I had was extremely quiet which I loved even though the hotel is situated on the bustling grassmarket. The wallpaper is dandy comic print, there are magnetic boards in the bedrooms, great airconditioning which you can regulate and tunnock teacakes! Showers are modern and monsoon! I will definitely be going back and I cannot rate it highly enough especially for value and comfort!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hi Kaneo,

Thank you so much for leaving a review of your recent stay with us here at The Grassmarket Hotel!

It's great to hear such positive feedback about our Hotel; it's fantastic to have been a part of such an enjoyable trip :-)

Don't stay away too long!

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a unique and very pleasant hotel at the historic center of Edinburgh, the market square. Each room has a very original decoration. The staff is really helpful if you need any information about the city of Scotland and the breakfast whis is served at the next door pub really delicious!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stathis75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hi Stathis75,

Thank you so much for leaving a review of your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh!

I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, our fantastic location and our great staff :-) I will also make sure to pass on your kind comments to the kitchen team next door in Biddy Mulligans.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Loved the room, staff and breakfast. Very close to major tourist attractions and useful amenities. Booked via a last minute website and the price was very affordable.
Room was large and modern with a great bathroom. Nice touches such as the filter coffee and teacakes. Staff were extremely helpful.

The only downside was that my room was on the first floor and seemed to be directly above the adjoining pub which had live entertainment. The noise in my room was awful, making sleep impossible until well after 1.00am.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the first floor directly above Biddy Mulligans (the adjoining pub) if they hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hi Louise,

Thank you for the great review of your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh!

It's superb to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our fabulous location, the great staff and our room amenities.

As you have noted, due to our city centre location occasionally some rooms can be affected by noise on the weekends.

Thank you again for your comments, and I hope we can welcome you back again in the future :-)

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

this was the 2nd time i'd stayed here, it was nice though our room was a bit smaller this time, and there was no way to ventilate the room which made it quite stuffy when trying to sleep.

it is in a great location though and the staff are always willing to help.

definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: if you want a quiet room (the hotel is above a pub) then request a room on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank SolsRichmond20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hi SolsRichmond20,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us :-)

It's great to hear you came back to stay with us again! I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed our fantastic location in the heart of the city, our superb staff and that you would recommend us.

Thank you for bringing the issue with your air conditioning to my attention; I will ensure the maintenance team will look at this.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon!

Best Wishes,

Rachel Duff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,603 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,746 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#32 of 151 in Edinburgh
373 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmarket Hotel

Address: 94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £58 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassmarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grassmarket Hotel is the perfect choice for work and play, and is centrally located moments from the best attractions Edinburgh has to offer including Edinburgh Castle and the historic Royal Mile. If you like to unwind after a hard day in quirky stylish surroundings, you won’t be disappointed. Our designs bring a distinctive and fresh flavour to the Edinburgh hotel market whilst incorporating traditional Scottish twists, with a few surprises along the way! The hotel hasguestrooms, ranging from cosy (single room), comfy (standard twin/double) and comfy plus (triple or 4 singles) all complete with rainfall style showers. Can’t cope without your iPod? Pop it in our dock & kick back in sound proofed rooms. Each bedroom has a large flat screen plasma TV. Oh and if that wasn’t enough to keep you occupied, we also have free Wi-Fi. New to the city? All rooms have wall sized magnetic map that will point you in the right direction and air conditioning as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing