We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #49 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My favorite hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with my friends and we shared a triple room.

We were greeted with friendly staff. The room is average sized, compact, funky and chic! The rooms are the cleanest, freshest with the best beds warmest duvets and great pillows. The room I had was extremely quiet. The wallpaper is dandy comic print, there are magnetic boards in the bedrooms. The showers are modern and you can even play music inside! Everything about this hotel is funky. The lift, the walls, everything!

What's more, at the lobby, there is a door that linked the hotel to a pub. How convenient is that!
And Edinburgh Castle is just a 5-minutes walk away.

I will definitely be going back to this hotel if I am visiting Edinburgh again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitch_Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi Mitch_Lin,

Thank you for your fantastic review - we are flattered that we are your favourite, that's awesome!

It sounds like you had a great trip to Edinburgh with your friends - I am pleased we could play a part at that. It's great to hear you enjoyed the individual design of the hotel, found the rooms comfortable and the staff to be friendly :-)

Please let us know when you are returning; and we will ensure you receive a great returners rate!

Hope to see you soon,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    687
    193
    83
    48
See reviews for
345
711
223
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Good place to stay in heart of the old historical side of Edinburgh. The cozy Dandy comics styled rooms are playful, clean and comfortable. The staff are wonderful and very helpful. I was pleased and for sure will stay here again. The only one thing that might be a problem for some people with this hotel is that bathroom doors are frosted glass and does not give you enough privacy if you are sharing the room with some one else. I had single, so it was not a problem.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Nabil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi nabiljamil,

Thanks for the review - we really appreciate it!

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - it sounds like you made the most of our great location! I'm so pleased to hear you found the staff to be wonderful - they will be delighted when I show them your review.

Please contact us directly when you return and we will be sure to offer you a superb returner rate :-)

Hope to see you soon,

Rachel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent an extended weekend with our parents, and we really loved this place! Perfect location in the heart of Edinburgh, walking distance to everything. The rooms are large, modern design and we enjoyed the magnetic map wall and the cartoons.
Friendly and helpful staff, great details like the books in the reception, games and even the option of buying gifts and cards.
The location with bars all around means a bit noisy outside at night, but not much of a problem really.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guro-Marte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hey Guro-Marte,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review - it sounds like you had a fantastic family weekend here in Edinburgh!

It is great to hear you enjoyed our superb location, our quirky rooms and that you found the reception area to be comfortable. I'm so glad you found the staff to be friendly and helpful - this is what we aim for :-)

I hope we can welcome you all back again in the future!

Best Wishes,

Rachel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Very nice and origial decoration. Friendly atmosphere in combination with humorous brochures. NIce toiletries. Extremelly strage tap in the shower (difficult to opperate). Tasty teas in the room. Good TV. Inconvenient that we had to carry luggage through a stair. A little awkward that you have to eat breakfast in the nearby pub (we didn't try it eventually).

Room Tip: The room was small and low-ceilinged. However, the bathroom was large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank afrodite_lafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi afrodite_lafi,

Thank you for your review!

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us; particularly the room amenities and design features. Due to the age of the building, our rooms can vary in size throughout with some being smaller than others.

I hope we can welcome you back next time you are in Edinburgh :-)

Best Wishes,

Rachel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed here for one night and the price of the room was under £30 which was amazing value. The hotel is small, compact, funky and chic! The staff were all lovely, warm and extremely helpful. I have stayed in lots of hotels in edinburgh and this rates as one of the best. The rooms are not the largest however they are the cleanest, freshest with the best beds warmest duvets and great pillows. The room I had was extremely quiet which I loved even though the hotel is situated on the bustling grassmarket. The wallpaper is dandy comic print, there are magnetic boards in the bedrooms, great airconditioning which you can regulate and tunnock teacakes! Showers are modern and monsoon! I will definitely be going back and I cannot rate it highly enough especially for value and comfort!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi Kaneo,

Thank you so much for leaving a review of your recent stay with us here at The Grassmarket Hotel!

It's great to hear such positive feedback about our Hotel; it's fantastic to have been a part of such an enjoyable trip :-)

Don't stay away too long!

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
133 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a unique and very pleasant hotel at the historic center of Edinburgh, the market square. Each room has a very original decoration. The staff is really helpful if you need any information about the city of Scotland and the breakfast whis is served at the next door pub really delicious!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stathis75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi Stathis75,

Thank you so much for leaving a review of your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh!

I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, our fantastic location and our great staff :-) I will also make sure to pass on your kind comments to the kitchen team next door in Biddy Mulligans.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Loved the room, staff and breakfast. Very close to major tourist attractions and useful amenities. Booked via a last minute website and the price was very affordable.
Room was large and modern with a great bathroom. Nice touches such as the filter coffee and teacakes. Staff were extremely helpful.

The only downside was that my room was on the first floor and seemed to be directly above the adjoining pub which had live entertainment. The noise in my room was awful, making sleep impossible until well after 1.00am.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the first floor directly above Biddy Mulligans (the adjoining pub) if they hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hi Louise,

Thank you for the great review of your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh!

It's superb to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our fabulous location, the great staff and our room amenities.

As you have noted, due to our city centre location occasionally some rooms can be affected by noise on the weekends.

Thank you again for your comments, and I hope we can welcome you back again in the future :-)

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#82 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,155 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassmarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Grassmarket Hotel is the perfect choice for work and play, and is centrally located only a 2 minute walk from the famous Royal Mile, 10 minute walk from the Edinburgh International Conference Centre and moments from the best attractions Edinburgh has to offer including Edinburgh Castle and the historic Royal Mile. If you like to unwind after a hard day in quirky stylish surroundings, you won’t be disappointed. Our designs bring a distinctive and fresh flavour to the Edinburgh hotel market whilst incorporating traditional Scottish twists, with a few surprises along the way! The hotel has newly refurbished guestrooms, ranging from cosy (single room), comfy (standard twin/double) and comfy plus (triple or 4 singles) all complete with rainfall style showers. Can’t cope without your iPod? Pop it in our dock & kick back in sound proofed rooms. Each bedroom has a large flat screen plasma TV. Oh and if that wasn’t enough to keep you occupied, we also have free Wi-Fi. New to the city? All rooms have wall sized magnetic map that will point you in the right direction and air conditioning as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing