We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's the heart of Edinburgh”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #48 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's the heart of Edinburgh”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was booked on the day for three nights and proved to be an excellent choice. All the sights were within walking distance, excellent entertainment nearby. Staff very helpful on arrival with suitcase as we were on the 3 rd floor through a meandering route to the room Nice touch having a card and chocs from the staff on our anniversary day. In the small double room, the wallpaper "was dandy" and tea/coffee facilities and ensuite were of a high standard. Def go again. Quality of breakfast which was in adjoining pub varied in quality over the three days.

Room Tip: Although not suitable for disabled persons to get to the 3rd floor was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaygees20012004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Hi jaygees,

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay with us - we really appreciate it :-)

It's great to hear you had a nice anniversary trip and enjoy the chocolates; and it is fantastic that you would stay with us again!

Please let us know when you are returning to Edinburgh and we will ensure you get a great returner's rate.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    698
    194
    83
    48
See reviews for
351
721
226
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Grassmarket for 2 nights, Friday and Saturday. The hotel is really lovely, the staff are very nice and the hotel is well kitted out and clean. The room is plenty big enough and there are nice touches, like the magnetic map. The bathroom is really stylish and the complimentary products are actually really nice to use.
The only thing I found annoying is that the windows we unopenable. The seal had been painted over. This meant that I couldn't get any fresh air into the bedroom and I like to have fresh air when I sleep.
Being on Grassmarket, a lively street, it was nice that the bedroom was very quiet, we could hardly hear any noise when we went to bed. It is also very close to the castle and the Edinburgh mile and because Edinburgh is small it still is only about 10 minutes to the new town.
Definitely a good base to explore the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Hi Hazel,

Thank you for the great review of your recent stay with us here!

It's great to hear you found the hotel and our staff to be lovely, and that you enjoyed the wee touches throughout the hotel such as the Get Flirty Toiletries - I love them!

I hope we can welcome you back again soon,

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

An absolutely lovely hotel!
Rooms are adequate size and very clean. Beds very comfortable
Staff are friendly and happy to help with any of your concerns. Take note that this hotel is at the top of the grassmarket so if your looking for a quiet location this is not the choice! Highly recommended and thank you

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Hi Karen,

Thank you so much for the lovely review!

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, found the rooms to be comfortable and that the staff were able to assist you throughout your time in Edinburgh!

Hope we will see you again soon :-)

Best Wishes,

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st andrews scotland u.k
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Had a lovely stay at this hotel , very clean ,quirky decor rooms on the small side but the large TV on the wall is brilliant ! The breakfast at the excellent pub next door is superb . All the staff are helpfully friendly . Will certainly return .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevie65000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi Stevie,

Thanks for the great review of your stay with us :-)

It is fantastic to hear such positive feedback about our hotel, and it's equally great to hear compliments about the staff - this means we are doing things right!

Let us know when you are returning, and we will ensure you receive a great returners rate!

Hope to see you again soon,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with my friends and we shared a triple room.

We were greeted with friendly staff. The room is average sized, compact, funky and chic! The rooms are the cleanest, freshest with the best beds warmest duvets and great pillows. The room I had was extremely quiet. The wallpaper is dandy comic print, there are magnetic boards in the bedrooms. The showers are modern and you can even play music inside! Everything about this hotel is funky. The lift, the walls, everything!

What's more, at the lobby, there is a door that linked the hotel to a pub. How convenient is that!
And Edinburgh Castle is just a 5-minutes walk away.

I will definitely be going back to this hotel if I am visiting Edinburgh again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitch_Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi Mitch_Lin,

Thank you for your fantastic review - we are flattered that we are your favourite, that's awesome!

It sounds like you had a great trip to Edinburgh with your friends - I am pleased we could play a part at that. It's great to hear you enjoyed the individual design of the hotel, found the rooms comfortable and the staff to be friendly :-)

Please let us know when you are returning; and we will ensure you receive a great returners rate!

Hope to see you soon,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Good place to stay in heart of the old historical side of Edinburgh. The cozy Dandy comics styled rooms are playful, clean and comfortable. The staff are wonderful and very helpful. I was pleased and for sure will stay here again. The only one thing that might be a problem for some people with this hotel is that bathroom doors are frosted glass and does not give you enough privacy if you are sharing the room with some one else. I had single, so it was not a problem.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Nabil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi nabiljamil,

Thanks for the review - we really appreciate it!

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - it sounds like you made the most of our great location! I'm so pleased to hear you found the staff to be wonderful - they will be delighted when I show them your review.

Please contact us directly when you return and we will be sure to offer you a superb returner rate :-)

Hope to see you soon,

Rachel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent an extended weekend with our parents, and we really loved this place! Perfect location in the heart of Edinburgh, walking distance to everything. The rooms are large, modern design and we enjoyed the magnetic map wall and the cartoons.
Friendly and helpful staff, great details like the books in the reception, games and even the option of buying gifts and cards.
The location with bars all around means a bit noisy outside at night, but not much of a problem really.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guro-Marte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hey Guro-Marte,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review - it sounds like you had a fantastic family weekend here in Edinburgh!

It is great to hear you enjoyed our superb location, our quirky rooms and that you found the reception area to be comfortable. I'm so glad you found the staff to be friendly and helpful - this is what we aim for :-)

I hope we can welcome you all back again in the future!

Best Wishes,

Rachel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,407 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
280 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassmarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Grassmarket Hotel is the perfect choice for work and play, and is centrally located only a 2 minute walk from the famous Royal Mile, 10 minute walk from the Edinburgh International Conference Centre and moments from the best attractions Edinburgh has to offer including Edinburgh Castle and the historic Royal Mile. If you like to unwind after a hard day in quirky stylish surroundings, you won’t be disappointed. Our designs bring a distinctive and fresh flavour to the Edinburgh hotel market whilst incorporating traditional Scottish twists, with a few surprises along the way! The hotel has newly refurbished guestrooms, ranging from cosy (single room), comfy (standard twin/double) and comfy plus (triple or 4 singles) all complete with rainfall style showers. Can’t cope without your iPod? Pop it in our dock & kick back in sound proofed rooms. Each bedroom has a large flat screen plasma TV. Oh and if that wasn’t enough to keep you occupied, we also have free Wi-Fi. New to the city? All rooms have wall sized magnetic map that will point you in the right direction and air conditioning as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing