We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent”
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #50 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

On the very rare occasion I need to stay in Edinburgh I stay here. Great location for where I want to be, good friendly staff very relaxed with a nice place next door for a drink and some food. Rooms are of an average standard, but everything else gets me coming back.
Jake
Jake

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank jaffajake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Hi Jake,

Thanks for the great review - it's always good to hear feedback from our regular guests :-)

Please get in touch with us directly next time you are coming to stay on grassmarket@centraledinburghhotels.co.uk and we will ensure you receive a fantastic returner rate!

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,616 - 1,622 of 2,270 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

Nice clean hotel located close to all places of interest. Room was clean and tidy. Bathroom was to a good standard with plenty of hot water. My initial room had a ceiling leak but the girl at reception, who was very nice and accommodating, promptly moved me to a bigger room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HSD44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Hi HSD44,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh!

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the receptionist managed to reallocate you to a larger room promptly.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon :-)

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hotel is very centrally located and easy to get to, however we had major issues with the room which was too hot and despite complaints to reception, it was not resolved.
We complained on 4 occasions over a 2 night stay about the air-con not working and each time it was temporarily fixed but 2 hours later it stopped working again, this made the room hot and stuffy because the windows were not open-able, so there was no air circulation.
This made our stay very uncomfortable and we wouldn't return or recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose carefully, most rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buzz_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Hi Buzz,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - we appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests!

I am sorry to hear of the issues you experienced during your stay with us, and I can only apologise that we were unable to resolve these for you during your stay. Another guest has also commented on the air conditioning in their room, and due to this I have arranged for a full system service to prevent this from happening again.

Thank you again for your comments,

Best Wishes

Rachel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

The Grassmarket Hotel is a winner. Located in the heart of Edinburgh and just a 5 min walk to Princes Street, this hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many beautiful places in this lovely city.
The room, 107, was large. A big, comfortable bed with crisp linen, ample storage and a big bathroom with a walk-in shower. Spotlessly clean and fresh.
The breakfast was unbeatable. A good choice with a delicious full English on offer.
Staff gave a warm welcome on arrival and were helpful and accommodating throughout our stay.
Two points. The windows in our room were sealed, hotel policy apparently, so the room was warm. The air con wasn't working but was quickly fixed when this was pointed out. Secondly, there isn't any car parking at the hotel, but the receptionist was kind enough to give us directions to a nearby NCP, £16 for 24hrs, very reasonable.
We would definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pudspiesandpasties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Hi pudspiesandpasties,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review about your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh!

It sounds like you had a lovely trip in Edinburgh and made the most of our great location right in the heart of the city :-)

Thank you for bringing the issue with your air conditioning unit to my attention; another guest has also noted this so I have arranged for the system to undergo a full service.

Hope to welcome you back again soon!

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My daughter chose The Grassmarket Hotel for our two night stay in Edinburgh for Mother's Day. I am really glad she did. The accommodation was very comfortable. We had requested a quiet room and that is exactly what we got. The bed was really comfortable, there was a proper hair dryer and the en suite was very impressive with a rain head shower and good shower products. We loved the mugs for tea or coffee and the tea cakes. We arrived before check in time and the receptionist happily stored our bag. The area around the hotel is very lively and colourful.

We are looking forward to a return visit as soon as possible, only this time we will book directly as using an agent obviously cost us more!!!

Room Tip: Top floor is very quiet 5th or 4th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Hi Ann,

Thanks for the great review!

It sounds like you and your daughter had a great Mother's Day trip to Edinburgh and it's lovely that we got to play a small part in that for you :-)

I'm pleased to hear we were able to accommodate your request for a quiet room and that you found the room to be comfortable, and you enjoyed the room amenities.

Please keep in touch, and we will ensure you receive a great returner rate on your next visit!

Hope to see you soon,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was booked on the day for three nights and proved to be an excellent choice. All the sights were within walking distance, excellent entertainment nearby. Staff very helpful on arrival with suitcase as we were on the 3 rd floor through a meandering route to the room Nice touch having a card and chocs from the staff on our anniversary day. In the small double room, the wallpaper "was dandy" and tea/coffee facilities and ensuite were of a high standard. Def go again. Quality of breakfast which was in adjoining pub varied in quality over the three days.

Room Tip: Although not suitable for disabled persons to get to the 3rd floor was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaygees20012004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Hi jaygees,

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay with us - we really appreciate it :-)

It's great to hear you had a nice anniversary trip and enjoy the chocolates; and it is fantastic that you would stay with us again!

Please let us know when you are returning to Edinburgh and we will ensure you get a great returner's rate.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Grassmarket for 2 nights, Friday and Saturday. The hotel is really lovely, the staff are very nice and the hotel is well kitted out and clean. The room is plenty big enough and there are nice touches, like the magnetic map. The bathroom is really stylish and the complimentary products are actually really nice to use.
The only thing I found annoying is that the windows we unopenable. The seal had been painted over. This meant that I couldn't get any fresh air into the bedroom and I like to have fresh air when I sleep.
Being on Grassmarket, a lively street, it was nice that the bedroom was very quiet, we could hardly hear any noise when we went to bed. It is also very close to the castle and the Edinburgh mile and because Edinburgh is small it still is only about 10 minutes to the new town.
Definitely a good base to explore the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Hazel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Hi Hazel,

Thank you for the great review of your recent stay with us here!

It's great to hear you found the hotel and our staff to be lovely, and that you enjoyed the wee touches throughout the hotel such as the Get Flirty Toiletries - I love them!

I hope we can welcome you back again soon,

Rachel Duff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,603 reviews
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,746 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#33 of 151 in Edinburgh
373 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmarket Hotel

Address: 94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £57 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassmarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grassmarket Hotel is the perfect choice for work and play, and is centrally located moments from the best attractions Edinburgh has to offer including Edinburgh Castle and the historic Royal Mile. If you like to unwind after a hard day in quirky stylish surroundings, you won’t be disappointed. Our designs bring a distinctive and fresh flavour to the Edinburgh hotel market whilst incorporating traditional Scottish twists, with a few surprises along the way! The hotel hasguestrooms, ranging from cosy (single room), comfy (standard twin/double) and comfy plus (triple or 4 singles) all complete with rainfall style showers. Can’t cope without your iPod? Pop it in our dock & kick back in sound proofed rooms. Each bedroom has a large flat screen plasma TV. Oh and if that wasn’t enough to keep you occupied, we also have free Wi-Fi. New to the city? All rooms have wall sized magnetic map that will point you in the right direction and air conditioning as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing