We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my stay”
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #48 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotel was easily accessible from waverly station by foot. The staff was helpful, the room adorable and comfortable. I only had two issues. 1) since there is no door on the shower it was easy to flood the bathroom 2) hallway noise. Knowing this I would still stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank emhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hi emhelen,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh.

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be comfortable :-) I hope we can welcome you back again next time you are in the city - keep in touch for our best rates available on our website and facebook!

Hope to see you again soon,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,559 - 1,565 of 2,226 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here to celebrate my girlfriends birthday, which I had casually mentioned when enquiring about the hotel and when we got to the room there was a birthday card and chocolates waiting for her! Such lovely and thoughtful staff!

The room itself was beautiful with views looking out over the grassmarket. The bed was amazingly comfy and the room decorated with style. The highlights were the iPod dock, the magnetic map of the city, and the Tunnocks Teacakes!

Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Cameron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hi Cameron,

Thank you for the fantastic review - we really appreciate it :-)

It sounds like you had a great trip to Edinburgh for your girlfriend's birthday - I'm pleased we could play a small part in that!

Please let us know when you are coming to Edinburgh again, and we will set you up with a great returner's rate.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed here with my sister for my 23rd birthday. The hotel is so qwuirky it's one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. Staff were extremely friendly. It's right in the city centre so ideal for getting around. Loved the Ipod docking station in the wall, brilliant idea.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Hi Anna,

Thanks for the great review - we really do appreciate it!

I'm so pleased to hear you had a lovely birthday trip to Edinburgh; and I am so happy we could play a small part in that for you!

Please keep in touch and we will be happy to offer you a fantastic returner rate on your next stay :-)

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Fantastic hotel, it`s right in the centre of the old town and only 5 minute walk to the castle and Princess Street, the staff was very polite and very helpful and couldn`t do enough for is, the room was very spacers and the shower was big enough for the 2 of us, plus we loved the Dandy wallpaper. We ate in the pub next to the hotel and it`s was really nice and we will be stopping again in October with our friends from the USA

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Arnnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hey Arnnie,

Thank you for leaving such a great review of your stay with us here in Edinburgh - we really appreciate it :-)

It's fantastic to hear such positive feedback from our guests about our location, rooms and staff.

Please keep in touch and we will sort you out with a great returner rate.

See you in October!

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

You could not ask for a better location, as the castle and the royal mile are all within easy walking distance. The pub next door has a great breakfast (it was included with out booking). The rooms are kitschy and cute, and while a little on the small side, not at all bad for a European city. The staff was very helpful and friendly. A friend and I stayed there four nights and had a great time. She plans to take her grandson back in a couple of years and figures to stay there again. If I ever get my husband to the UK, I wouldn't have a single qualm about booking there again. Reasonable rates, too.

Room Tip: There is a lift to the upper floors. I don't know that there is any difference in the rooms, rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WandaandDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Hi Wanda,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh - it sounds like you and your friend had a great time in Scotland!

It's great to hear such positive feedback about your stay, especially regarding the rooms, breakfast and staff :-)

I hope we can welcome you back again,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Excellent. Clean, funky, nice room, very affordable. Very nice decor. Staff friendly and efficient. We didn't know quite what to expect from the photos but overall it exceeded expectations. Nice little touches in the rooms as well. Overall excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank gebrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Hi gebrown1,

Thanks for the 5 star review - it's really great to hear such fantastic feedback from our guests!

It's lovely to hear you had an excellent stay with us and found the staff to be friendly and efficient - we aim to provide the best customer service to our guests :-)

I hope we can welcome you back again soon,

Rachel Duff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from Edinburgh after staying at the Grassmarket Hotel for four nights.
The hotel is in a fantastic location, a beautiful area with lots of amenities right on the doorstep. I read some reviews on here that stated some rooms were noisy late into the night, so we were pleased to have a room at the back. However, the room was very cosy to say the least, with the double bed closed in on three sides. However, we didn't come up to Edinburgh to sit in a hotel room! The Dandy wallpaper was ace as were the teas/coffees and Tunnocks Teacakes provided.
On arrival, we were greeted by a very pleasant, helpful young lady who offered to carry our bags up as she explained the lift only goes to the first floor (we were on the second), but I let my husband carry it!
I would definitely recommend the Grassmarket due to its quirky feel and excellent location, the only downside was the enclosed bed, but I would imagine that in such an old building there will be some very odd spaces to work with.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank hunkofjunk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Hello hunkofjunk13,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - we really appreciate it :-)

We know we are lucky to be right in the heart of the city, and it's great to hear that you made the most of our fantastic location during your trip - there is so much to see and do in Edinburgh and our staff are always happy to share tips on what to cram into your stay!

It's great to hear you enjoyed the design of the hotel and liked the wee touches like the teacakes - they are a treat!

Hope to see you again,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,559 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#26 of 151 in Edinburgh
352 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmarket Hotel

Address: 94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £69 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassmarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grassmarket Hotel is the perfect choice for work and play, and is centrally located moments from the best attractions Edinburgh has to offer including Edinburgh Castle and the historic Royal Mile. If you like to unwind after a hard day in quirky stylish surroundings, you won’t be disappointed. Our designs bring a distinctive and fresh flavour to the Edinburgh hotel market whilst incorporating traditional Scottish twists, with a few surprises along the way! The hotel hasguestrooms, ranging from cosy (single room), comfy (standard twin/double) and comfy plus (triple or 4 singles) all complete with rainfall style showers. Can’t cope without your iPod? Pop it in our dock & kick back in sound proofed rooms. Each bedroom has a large flat screen plasma TV. Oh and if that wasn’t enough to keep you occupied, we also have free Wi-Fi. New to the city? All rooms have wall sized magnetic map that will point you in the right direction and air conditioning as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing