We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grassmarket Edinburgh”
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #48 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Was a good experience, the location is close to the most important places to visit in Edinburgh, the personnel was very friendly and helpful. The bar had a good food and drinks. I recommend this hotel to stay in Edinburgh,

Room Tip: The table in the room is so little to use a notebook and the wood floor are noisy, but the bed is so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Daniel_Parisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hi Daniel,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay!

It is great to hear that you would recommend us to others, and that you enjoyed your stay with us :-)

I hope we can welcome you back again next time you are in Edinburgh.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,551 - 1,557 of 2,226 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

My friends and I had a fantastic two night stay at the Grassmarket. It's an ideal area. Close to everything and yet an arms distance from commercial traffic. The restaurants, pubs and shops are upscale. Not all that silly stuff. You can go to the Royal Mile for that. The staff was responsive and accommodating. The rooms were attractive and fitted out nicely. Lovely bathroom. And the beds and linens were heavenly.

Room Tip: Do get the breakfast included because it's great. Ask in advance for a room with a view. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hi Jennifer,

Thank you for the lovely review!

It sounds like you had a great trip to Edinburgh with your friends, and you took advantage of our fantastic location during your stay :-) It's great to hear such positive feedback about your stay - I am pleased you enjoyed yourself!

Best Wishes,

Rachel Duff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic hotel. We stayed for 2 nights and will definitely be returning.
The staff are welcoming and the location is absolutely brilliant.
The rooms are on the small side, but entirely adequate. They are clean and comfy. The iPod docking station with ceiling speakers is great.
Won't be the last time we stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesC1210778049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hi James,

Thank you for the fantastic review!

It's great to hear such positive feedback about your stay and our staff :-)

Please keep in touch and we will ensure you receive a great returners rate for your next stay!

Hope to see you again soon,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The location was perfekt. Few minutes walking to the castle and the Royal mile. Room with a lot of space. Nice personal. But I do not like loud music in the reception when you are a litle tired of travelling. Grassmarket is also a place with many restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fleskedalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Hi Fleskedalen,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh!

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and our fantastic location :-)

Hope to see you again soon,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Grassmarket Hotel is geared towards youthful travelers on a budget, who want something a notch up from a hostel. It's very close to the Royal Mile and all it's sights. The Grassmarket area itself is full of pubs and restaurants -- which is convenient, but a bit wild and noisy on weekends. The staff works hard and seems truly glad to see you. Having a pub attached to the entry way is something else that appeals to those looking to party close at hand. Our room was "cute" -- from the cartoon wall paper on one wall, to the giant map of Edinburgh on the other. If you're bit older, as we are, ask for one of the "quieter rooms" -- we were on the top floor and although there were a few stairs, it certainly was peaceful compared to outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back or at the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FWBRHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi FWBRHB,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us - we really appreciate it :-)

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay, the rooms and found the staff to be helpful and friendly!

Please keep in touch to receive the best returner rates.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Grassmarket hotel has an excellent location, near to all we wanted to see and do as well as restaurants for all tastes. The staff is really helpfull and nice and immediatelly satisfied all our needs. A bit noisy due to Easter parties but being at the higher floor it didn't disturb us at all.
Breakfast was nice although we had to wait a lot for it was crowdy. Nevertheless I would recommend it for every sort of trip, vacations or business, couples or families.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bsearch b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi bsearch b,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us her in Edinburgh - we really appreciate it!

It's great to hear you enjoyed our central location - we know we are lucky to be right in the heart of it all :-) It's also lovely to hear you found our staff to be helpful and friendly!

Hope to see you again soon,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

-Confortable hotel
-Placed in the center of Edinburgh
-Very nice design
-Plaisant staff
Breakfast is served in the pub bar
A lovely location (very central, we could walk to pretty much all the attractions we wanted to see) and a spotless and well-appointed room.
Nice place for a week-end in Edinburgh

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Lilivoyageuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Hi Lilivoyageuse,

Thank you for the great review!

It's lovely to hear you found the room to be comfortable, with a great location and friendly staff :-)

Please keep in touch if you are returning and we will make sure you receive a great returner rate!

Hope to see you again soon,

Rachel & the Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,559 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#26 of 151 in Edinburgh
352 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmarket Hotel

Address: 94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £69 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassmarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grassmarket Hotel is the perfect choice for work and play, and is centrally located moments from the best attractions Edinburgh has to offer including Edinburgh Castle and the historic Royal Mile. If you like to unwind after a hard day in quirky stylish surroundings, you won’t be disappointed. Our designs bring a distinctive and fresh flavour to the Edinburgh hotel market whilst incorporating traditional Scottish twists, with a few surprises along the way! The hotel hasguestrooms, ranging from cosy (single room), comfy (standard twin/double) and comfy plus (triple or 4 singles) all complete with rainfall style showers. Can’t cope without your iPod? Pop it in our dock & kick back in sound proofed rooms. Each bedroom has a large flat screen plasma TV. Oh and if that wasn’t enough to keep you occupied, we also have free Wi-Fi. New to the city? All rooms have wall sized magnetic map that will point you in the right direction and air conditioning as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing