We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grassmarket Hotel, Edinburgh”
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #46 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grassmarket Hotel, Edinburgh”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Grassmarket Hotel in mid-May 2014. I booked it for us, having been intrigued by the photos online. It was very easy to find, and has a variety of restaurants all within a very easy walk - or barely a walk at all.

We had booked a tour to be out of town for three days before actually staying at the hotel. They very willingly let us stow our largest suitcase with them until we returned; that worked out beautifully.

The room was clean and as fun as the photos depict. The shower was very nice. The hotel staff were all very pleasant. There is coffee available in the lobby along with maps and newspapers.

The only downside, and in our minds it was rather significant, is the fact that the rooms are located immediately above Biddy Mulligan's, a bar that is pretty loud on weekend nights. I knew this and had read of this in reviews, but we decided to give it a try. My husband can sleep through anything, and I wear earplugs precisely because I can't, so we got through it. But this is something about which you really need to be aware prior to staying here. We were on the 1st floor (European; 2nd floor American), and maybe it's not such an issue above that.

So, in sum: A very nice place to stay with helpful and pleasant personnel, but loud at night.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hi Kimberly J,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us here at the Grassmarket- it sounds like you had a great trip around Scotland.

As you have noted, we are located above Biddy Mulligans which can get busy on the weekends – however, we do have rooms that are not affected by noise and these can be requested at the time of booking :-)

Don't leave it too long...

Karen & The Grassmarket Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,044
    713
    206
    83
    48
See reviews for
367
742
229
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Ferry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Excellent location in Edinburgh Center.
Shops and castle in easy walking distance but also good Bus Service to all areas. (£1.50 for a single trip - any distance on one bus - £3.50 for a day ticket - who needs taxis!)
Nice mixture of modern rooms in traditional building.
Friendly & helpful staff.
I usually stay in the sister Hotel, The Murrayfield which is also a fantastic Hotel, but as fully booked when I messed up my bookings, stayed here and no regrets.
There is a lift to all floors but a few steps in the corridors, depending where your room is, and corridors are a little narrow, but staff are so helpful I am sure they would help you with luggage if needed. (This is a traditional building - fantastic!)
Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hi Richard S,

I am delighted to hear you had a great stay with us at the Grassmarket and its fantastic to hear that you would recommend us to others!

The team work exceptionally hard every day to ensure that all our guests have the best stay with us and I am sure they will appreciate you taking the time to leave such kind comments.

Please keep in touch to receive the best returner rate on your next visit to Edinburgh!

Karen & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mascouche, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We loved our stay. Edinburgh is beautiful. The Hotel is very well located, comfortable beds, very good service, and lots of extras! Stairs to Edinburgh Castle at the end of the street. Hula Juice Bar is just next door.

Room Tip: Room with view on Grassmarket
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Marie-Chantal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hi Marie-Chantal M,

Thank you for your lovely review. It's great to know that you rate your experience with us so highly.

We are so lucky being located right in the heart of the city and having such famous attractions just a few minutes’ away – Well done making it up the steps, they certainly keep you fit! I normally wimp out and take the easy alternative of the hill.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future, I promise there will be lots more to see!

Karen & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Quirky rooms, love the layout, still kind of homely to. Good location and central, breakfast was also good, made to feel welcome. The night I stayed there was live music downstairs which was loud and I couldn't sleep till later as I wanted, shame, would have been perfect otherwise.

Room Tip: The bar down stairs can be a bit noisy at night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Nelson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi Nelson,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us - your feedback is invaluable to our team!

It's lovely to hear you enjoyed our individual rooms, the atmosphere of the hotel, our location and the breakfast from Biddy Mulligans next door.

I'm sorry to hear you found the room noisy, unfortunately due to our city centre location some rooms can be adversely affected by noise.

Please let us know directly if you are returning, and we will be sure to allocate you to a room further away from the bar and the street.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Perfect location for a hotel in Edinburgh, vibrant atmosphere. Really liked the decor of the rooms, very clever, well thought out stylish and individual. Excellent breakfast menu too.
.......................................................................................................

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hi Jonathan B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a complimentary review of our Grassmarket Hotel. Our location really is an excellent choice if you want to stay in the heart of the city so it’s great to hear you made the most of it.

We are very lucky to have such a fantastic designer working with us; we also really love what he has done with the rooms, it is the little quirks that make us so special.

Hopefully we will be welcoming you back to Edinburgh soon - don’t forget to make the most of our great returners rate!

Karen & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Grassmarket hotel is just one of those perfect spots you want to go back to. We were five siblings with spouses plus mom and dad and all loved the stay. Perfect location, supernice staff who helped out with restaurant and guide tour bookings.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaSara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi AnnaSara,

Thank you for the perfect review - it's always lovely to hear such positive comments from our guests :-)

It sounds like you had a really fantastic family trip to our city, and I am so pleased we could play a small part in that for you!

Please keep in touch to ensure you receive a great returner rate if you are back in town.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very good location in Edinburgh. Close to the Royal Mile, pubs & shops.
The rooms of varying sizes. I stayed myself in a "double" that felt like a small single room. Fresh bathroom.
The staff was very service minded and friendly!
The only negative was all long and narrow aisles

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank lasing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi Lasing,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - we really appreciate it!

It sounds like you made the most of our city centre location during your stay; we know we are lucky to be right in the heart of things, and it's great to hear our guests enjoy that aspect.

As you have noted our rooms do vary in size; this is due to the age of the building and the regulations which go along with that!

It's also lovely to hear such kind words about our team here - we try our best to ensure each guest receives the best experience possible.

Hope to welcome you back again in the future,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,452 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
912 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
308 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassmarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Grassmarket Hotel is the perfect choice for work and play, and is centrally located only a 2 minute walk from the famous Royal Mile, 10 minute walk from the Edinburgh International Conference Centre and moments from the best attractions Edinburgh has to offer including Edinburgh Castle and the historic Royal Mile. If you like to unwind after a hard day in quirky stylish surroundings, you won’t be disappointed. Our designs bring a distinctive and fresh flavour to the Edinburgh hotel market whilst incorporating traditional Scottish twists, with a few surprises along the way! The hotel has newly refurbished guestrooms, ranging from cosy (single room), comfy (standard twin/double) and comfy plus (triple or 4 singles) all complete with rainfall style showers. Can’t cope without your iPod? Pop it in our dock & kick back in sound proofed rooms. Each bedroom has a large flat screen plasma TV. Oh and if that wasn’t enough to keep you occupied, we also have free Wi-Fi. New to the city? All rooms have wall sized magnetic map that will point you in the right direction and air conditioning as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing