We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky hotel, really liked it, view down onto grassmarket was marvellous.”
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #45 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quirky hotel, really liked it, view down onto grassmarket was marvellous.”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed at Grassmarket Hotel on an impulse. Price for double room was reasonable for my purpose. Room was quite small but wouldn't put me off going back. Would have been easy to sit at the window and watch the activity down on the street all night. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CS2006110101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi CS2006110101,

It gives me great pleasure to read your lovely review following your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you made the most of our fantastic views of the Grassmarket; it is really is relaxing to watch the world go by!

It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we will look forward to welcoming you back with our great returners rate.

Karen & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,032
    707
    199
    83
    48
See reviews for
361
733
228
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We spent four nights at the Grassmarket in May 2014. We booked online and weren't disappointed. Excellent service and location. Rooms very clean with "different" decor. Loved the blackboard with Sudoku. The staff, particularly Sara and Mel were very helpful and friendly. . We had a first floor room overlooking the Grassmarket and side street.. I would ask for a similarly located room in future as the pub next door has live music at night which could be noisy in rooms closer to the music.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pub/restaurant next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 92448949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi 92448949,

Thank you for such amazing feedback about our Grassmarket Hotel, and I am so pleased that you chose to write a review to share your experience with future guests!

It is fantastic to hear you enjoyed our quirky rooms, Sudoku boards and our fantastic staff - I will personally pass on your kind words onto Mel and Sara , I am sure it will make their day!

Don’t be a stranger, let us know next time your returning to Edinburgh directly and we will be more than happy to help. It was a pleasure to have you stay.

Karen & The Grassmarket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I chose this hotel as I have difficulty walking distance.
However we took a stroll around the back of the castle onto Princess street,which I managed comfortably!

It was easy to find and check-in was quick and simple.
The building is two knocked into one and therefore has a maze of stairs and passages of which we did get lost a few times but it added to the quirkiness of our stay. The room was small but adequate,with a very comfortable bed,great view of the Grassmarket and quaint decor!
We had a slight problem with the flat screen TV but after a quick call to reception it was sorted.
It is surrounded by bars,cafés and restaurants which are noisy at a weekend but as long as you know in advance,it's not a problem.
Very reasonable and a great location.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richtoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hi Richtoon,

Thank you so much for the lovely review - it's fantastic to hear that you has such a great time with us :-)

It sounds like you really made the most of our excellent location right in the heart of the city with so many famous attractions within walking distance. As we are located in the busy city centre there maybe some street noise however we do have rooms on higher floors or located to the back of the hotel that are quiet and available upon request.

Please keep in touch to receive the best returner rate on your next visit to Edinburgh!

Karen & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Grassmarket Hotel in mid-May 2014. I booked it for us, having been intrigued by the photos online. It was very easy to find, and has a variety of restaurants all within a very easy walk - or barely a walk at all.

We had booked a tour to be out of town for three days before actually staying at the hotel. They very willingly let us stow our largest suitcase with them until we returned; that worked out beautifully.

The room was clean and as fun as the photos depict. The shower was very nice. The hotel staff were all very pleasant. There is coffee available in the lobby along with maps and newspapers.

The only downside, and in our minds it was rather significant, is the fact that the rooms are located immediately above Biddy Mulligan's, a bar that is pretty loud on weekend nights. I knew this and had read of this in reviews, but we decided to give it a try. My husband can sleep through anything, and I wear earplugs precisely because I can't, so we got through it. But this is something about which you really need to be aware prior to staying here. We were on the 1st floor (European; 2nd floor American), and maybe it's not such an issue above that.

So, in sum: A very nice place to stay with helpful and pleasant personnel, but loud at night.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hi Kimberly J,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us here at the Grassmarket- it sounds like you had a great trip around Scotland.

As you have noted, we are located above Biddy Mulligans which can get busy on the weekends – however, we do have rooms that are not affected by noise and these can be requested at the time of booking :-)

Don't leave it too long...

Karen & The Grassmarket Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Ferry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Excellent location in Edinburgh Center.
Shops and castle in easy walking distance but also good Bus Service to all areas. (£1.50 for a single trip - any distance on one bus - £3.50 for a day ticket - who needs taxis!)
Nice mixture of modern rooms in traditional building.
Friendly & helpful staff.
I usually stay in the sister Hotel, The Murrayfield which is also a fantastic Hotel, but as fully booked when I messed up my bookings, stayed here and no regrets.
There is a lift to all floors but a few steps in the corridors, depending where your room is, and corridors are a little narrow, but staff are so helpful I am sure they would help you with luggage if needed. (This is a traditional building - fantastic!)
Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hi Richard S,

I am delighted to hear you had a great stay with us at the Grassmarket and its fantastic to hear that you would recommend us to others!

The team work exceptionally hard every day to ensure that all our guests have the best stay with us and I am sure they will appreciate you taking the time to leave such kind comments.

Please keep in touch to receive the best returner rate on your next visit to Edinburgh!

Karen & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mascouche, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We loved our stay. Edinburgh is beautiful. The Hotel is very well located, comfortable beds, very good service, and lots of extras! Stairs to Edinburgh Castle at the end of the street. Hula Juice Bar is just next door.

Room Tip: Room with view on Grassmarket
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Marie-Chantal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hi Marie-Chantal M,

Thank you for your lovely review. It's great to know that you rate your experience with us so highly.

We are so lucky being located right in the heart of the city and having such famous attractions just a few minutes’ away – Well done making it up the steps, they certainly keep you fit! I normally wimp out and take the easy alternative of the hill.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future, I promise there will be lots more to see!

Karen & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Quirky rooms, love the layout, still kind of homely to. Good location and central, breakfast was also good, made to feel welcome. The night I stayed there was live music downstairs which was loud and I couldn't sleep till later as I wanted, shame, would have been perfect otherwise.

Room Tip: The bar down stairs can be a bit noisy at night time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Nelson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi Nelson,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us - your feedback is invaluable to our team!

It's lovely to hear you enjoyed our individual rooms, the atmosphere of the hotel, our location and the breakfast from Biddy Mulligans next door.

I'm sorry to hear you found the room noisy, unfortunately due to our city centre location some rooms can be adversely affected by noise.

Please let us know directly if you are returning, and we will be sure to allocate you to a room further away from the bar and the street.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#83 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassmarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Grassmarket Hotel is the perfect choice for work and play, and is centrally located only a 2 minute walk from the famous Royal Mile, 10 minute walk from the Edinburgh International Conference Centre and moments from the best attractions Edinburgh has to offer including Edinburgh Castle and the historic Royal Mile. If you like to unwind after a hard day in quirky stylish surroundings, you won’t be disappointed. Our designs bring a distinctive and fresh flavour to the Edinburgh hotel market whilst incorporating traditional Scottish twists, with a few surprises along the way! The hotel has newly refurbished guestrooms, ranging from cosy (single room), comfy (standard twin/double) and comfy plus (triple or 4 singles) all complete with rainfall style showers. Can’t cope without your iPod? Pop it in our dock & kick back in sound proofed rooms. Each bedroom has a large flat screen plasma TV. Oh and if that wasn’t enough to keep you occupied, we also have free Wi-Fi. New to the city? All rooms have wall sized magnetic map that will point you in the right direction and air conditioning as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing