We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grassmarket Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$361
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$678
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,364)
Filter reviews
2,364 results
Traveller rating
1,195
785
232
96
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,195
785
232
96
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsteacakesquirky hotelbiddy mulligansdandy wallpapertea cakesmagnetic mapgreat locationadjoining pubmagnetic wallcomic bookipod dockpub next doorroyal milebox of chocolatesgrass marketsingle roomlittle touches
Filter
Updating list...
1,573 - 1,578 of 2,364 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I could not fault the service of the young staff at this hotel and also in the adjoining pub for breakfast. Clean, quirky rooms and an ideal location to explore the city.
The only downside was the noise from the pub below. The live music on our last night went on until 1 30 am and every song could be heard. Maybe we should just have gone down there and joined in ! My only other gripe was incredibly hard mattresses.
Loved the Tunnock tea cakes though :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pub ,
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi Susan R,

Big thank you for this great feedback regarding your recent visit to our Grassmarket Hotel, hearing about your experience and the service received with us is genuinely appreciated.

As you have noted some of our rooms are located above Biddy Mulligans and the smallest pub in Scotland. We do have to the other side of the building that are slightly quieter that can be allocated upon request.

Looking forward to seeing you soon with our great returners rate,

Karen & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Good taste, good quality forniture, magnificent bathroom but far too small for two people.
In order to get out of the bed one has to clear the way by putting the chair under the table!
Here you are selling a single bed room as a double. Not good value.
Staff very friendly.

Crifo & McTilo

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi Cristina,

Thank you for leaving a review on your recent visit to the Grassmarket, we appreciate all feedback we receive.

I am so pleased to hear that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly. I am disappointed that you were unhappy with the room you were allocated. Unfortunately due to the age of the building all of our rooms do differ in shape and size.

If you are ever returning to Edinburgh please let me know and I will personally allocate a more suitable room for you,

Karen & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here, modern room with ipod dock and built in speakers, modern bathroom, air conditioning. Only thing to mention is that we had to carry our suitcases up stairs to get to our room, but that was the only slight drawback and not really an issue.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank BellaCerulean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Hi BellaCerulean,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review and your lovely comments regarding your top notch stay with us!

We are super lucky here at the Grassmarket to have such a fantastic designer working with us who builds such great features into the room such as the iPod speakers that can be heard in both the bedroom and bathroom.

We do hope you come visit again soon and make the most of our returner’s deals,

Karen & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Small room, but perfect for single night stay. Great bathroom, very modern and quirky interior. Views out of window were poor, but this was benefitted by a quiet night! Air con very cool, so no need to open window! Would definitely return

Room Tip: Snug rooms good for 2. Rooms on back quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank fmjcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Hi fmjcollins,

What a great review – it’s fantastic to hear such positive feedback about your time in Edinburgh :-)

It is equally lovely to hear your complimentary comments of our super bedrooms – we have spent a lot of time and effort making the Grassmarket what it is today so we appreciate you sharing your thoughts with our future guests.

I do hope we can welcome you back soon for a longer stay - ensure you book direct and make the most of our great returners rate!

Karen & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Currently in the grassmarket with my girlfriend completely sweating - it is three in the morning and I'm sitting outside my room cas the air con is really poor (dnt know if it's broke) and my window won't open !!!!! Feels Abit like being in prison - also wifi doesn't reach our room - first night and it's it too hot to bear !!!! Hopefully it gets better but tbf the room is nice and so is the bathroom but can't handle the heat when it is cold outside

Room Tip: Dnt choose one on the second floor
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Hi Tommy C,

Thank you for your feedback during your stay with us at the Grassmarket.

Our reception is 24 hours and the team are always on hand to deal with any issues that may occur, even during the night. Had the night porter been made aware of your issues he would have been able to reset the air conditioning unit that services your room and bring you an extra fan to help cool the room quicker.

I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future to reassure you that this is not the norm at the Grassmarket,

Karen & The Grassmarket Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews