We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ask for a bigger room”
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #47 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ask for a bigger room”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Fun and funky hotel, but the small rooms are extremely small. Bed against the wall and a small amount of floor space. Almost impossible for 2 people to get ready at the same time. Would be fine for a cheaper hotel but at the price they charge just too small. Parking in the nearby garage £24 per 24 hours so add that to the cost if you have car. Rooms at the back are quiet but at the front can be very noisy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suediam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Suediam,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us – we really appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests.

It’s great to hear that you found the hotel to be “fun and funky” and I hope you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh.

As you have noted some of our rooms do vary in size; this is due to the age of the building and building restrictions that are places upon us. Our smaller rooms are designed to make good use of the space available and we advertise them as ‘snug’ doubles on all websites, with room measurements, to ensure all guests are fully informed at the time of booking.

Thank you again for your comments,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,032
    707
    196
    83
    48
See reviews for
360
732
227
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at the Grassmarket Hotel for two nights and really wish I was staying longer! After 30+ hours of flying it was an absolute treat to be staying in such a cool room. Everything is really quirky and interesting. They've put thought into the little things. There's heaps of storage and all facilities are modern and clean.
My favourite part was the deep window sill which I could sit in with my coffee and watch the street while I planned my day!
Definitely would like to come back!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Manda31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Manda,

Thanks for the top mark review – we are flattered!

It was a pleasure having you as a guest in the hotel, and I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit so much.

Please keep in touch, and I hope we can welcome you back again in the future :-)

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Our last visit to the Grassmarket Hotel was in February, upon leaving we felt that it met all our needs. The hotel was quiet and immaculate, however our only negative was the size of the room.

As it was our second trip we requested a bigger room, Having emailed explaining that it was my partners birthday before arrival. We were greeted with a card and a box of chocolates (despite the fact we noticed that these replaced the tea cakes that come standard in each room) The bigger rooms are impressive however ours was situated at the front of the hotel. For a hotel that is advertised as having sound proof rooms, it let in a great deal of street noise including loud music from one of the bars nearby.

We could not sleep through this and went downstairs to see if we could be moved. The member of staff was helpful however he could not access the computer system meaning that changing our rooms became complicated and resulted in him having to knock on doors to see if they were occupied. By 12.45 we were in a new room that was promised to be "dead quiet". However we could hear music clearly from the pub attached.

After voicing our feelings towards the situation, we were offered compensation in the form of either 10% off the total price or free breakfast. Despite these "generous" options it is clear that little thought went into rectifying our late night move. 10% off is the offer given to all returning guests who book directly through their main site, highlighting how empty this gesture was.

Breakfast is £10 per head, so for two this was more in line with making up for inconvenience caused. However I still do not feel like it is satisfactory as it required little effort or care from the staff. But due to not wanting to ruin my partners birthday by complaining we took that option.

The reason for our clear irritation is how high the standard was set during our last visit. It was clear you were put first, well looked after with much attention paid to your visit. To return to false promises, unorganised procedures and unimaginative forms of compensation sullied an otherwise joyful journey.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MsNibbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi HannahProle,

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay at the Grassmarket Hotel. We sincerely apologise that you did not enjoy your return visit with us, and we are sorry that we did not live up to the expectations from your first visit with us.

As you have noted all of our rooms do differ in size and shape due to the age and size of the listed building. However upon your special request we did manage to upgrade your room to one of our bigger ones free of charge.

We are located in the heart of the city centre so unfortunately we do hear some noise from the goings on in the street; we do have secondary glazing on all windows that face onto the street and quiet rooms can be allocated upon request.

As you have discussed we did offer you compensation at the time, I am now disappointed to hear that you were still unsatisfied with the agreement that we came to.

If you are ever thinking about coming back to Edinburgh if you contact me directly, I will ensure that you are looked after,

Karen & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location to explore the old part of Edinburgh, on Grassmarket surrounded by some great pubs and just round the corner from the Royal Mile. We had asked for an upper floor room as we knew there is a bar directly beneath. It's an old building so the lift doesn't access everywhere so be prepared for stairs. Room 3:03 is very compact but fine for 2 nights. The bed was very comfortable although it was slotted into an alcove so you have to climb over your partner to get out of bed. The only thing missing was the Tunnock Teacake, didn't get one. The staff are friendly and welcoming, no matter what time of night you stagger back.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor and at the front may be subjected to noise from the pub below. Not all rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMac2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi MrsMac,

Thank you for the great review!

It sounds as though you made the most of our great city centre location during your stay with us; we know we are lucky to be right in the heart of things.

As you have noted not all rooms in the hotel are serviced by the lift; this is due to the age of the building and the constraints that this places upon us. We do recommend guests who require lift access to advise us at the time of booking so we can allocate their room appropriately.

I am disappointed to hear you did not have teacakes in your room when you checked in – I will be sure to bring this up with the housekeeping team.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We found the Grassmarket Hotel nice, clean, and accommodating. Overall the staff was helpful and we would definitely suggest paying additional for the hot breakfast. The location was great as we were near the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle. The only improvement would be relating to the hard toilet and lack of wash clothes. Otherwise we would suggest staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hi Jeff B,

Thank you so much for leaving such a fantastic review of our Grassmarket Hotel, it sound like you had a fantastic stay with us!

It is great to hear that you lined your stomachs with a full Irish before exploring the city from our central location next to some of Edinburgh’s most famous attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon with our great returners rates!

Karen & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fellbach, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

for her 21st birthday, my daughter and I spent two nights in the Grassmarket hotel. We've got a cosy, very quiet room and slept very well. We know the hotel from former stays. The girls at the reception were very supportive and did lot of things for us like reservations in restaurants, gave us very good advices what to do and must have seen and so on.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi Sonja,

It is always great to hear from our returner guests - we really appreciate you taking the time to leave another review of your stay with us :-)

It sounds like you had a fantastic time in Edinburgh for your daughter's birthday; it is great to hear the girls managed to help you out so much during your visit.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon!

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

If you want a great location, helpful staff, great bar and food access, and a beautiful neighborhood this hotel is for you!

It was clean, the rooms are a bit on the small side but have all the amenities you could want. Besides having the amenities the decor of the rooms and the hotels is almost too cute to handle. Very hip, very chic, very warm and inviting.

It has an Edinburgh Bus Tour stop right outside of it, which makes getting around and seeing all the sites quick and easy. If you have more than one day I highly recommend booking a 24 hour Grand Tour, which gives you access to all 5 bus lines for 24 hours. We were able to fit in all the sites and sounds on our two day trip!

We would stay at this hotel again and again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi Erin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your recent stay in Edinburgh - we are flattered that you think we are too cute to handle :-)

It sounds like you made the most of our fantastic city centre location while you were staying - it's great to hear our guests have had a great stay with us!

Please keep in touch to make sure you receive the best returner rate next time you stay.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassmarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Grassmarket Hotel is the perfect choice for work and play, and is centrally located only a 2 minute walk from the famous Royal Mile, 10 minute walk from the Edinburgh International Conference Centre and moments from the best attractions Edinburgh has to offer including Edinburgh Castle and the historic Royal Mile. If you like to unwind after a hard day in quirky stylish surroundings, you won’t be disappointed. Our designs bring a distinctive and fresh flavour to the Edinburgh hotel market whilst incorporating traditional Scottish twists, with a few surprises along the way! The hotel has newly refurbished guestrooms, ranging from cosy (single room), comfy (standard twin/double) and comfy plus (triple or 4 singles) all complete with rainfall style showers. Can’t cope without your iPod? Pop it in our dock & kick back in sound proofed rooms. Each bedroom has a large flat screen plasma TV. Oh and if that wasn’t enough to keep you occupied, we also have free Wi-Fi. New to the city? All rooms have wall sized magnetic map that will point you in the right direction and air conditioning as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing