We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You should stay here”
Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #45 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You should stay here”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was our second visit to the Grassmarket. Great location, great staff. We loved it. Our room was smallish, but that is really unimportant -- you're not in Edinburgh to sit in a hotel room. Massive TV, large, comfy bed, very quiet. Our only quibble -- and we made a joke of it -- was a seeming toilet paper shortage. The cleaning staff left us short, and as our supply got dangerously low, we called the desk. But the person on duty didn't have access to where the TP was stashed. A toilet paper vault, apparently. She supplied a sort of passable substitute. Next day the cleaning staff totally stiffed us -- we were amused -- so we purloined a roll from a package we found in the hall. Even with the TP adventures, the Grassmarket is THE place to stay in Edinburgh. We will be back.

Room Tip: Book early; watch for deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi Bill H,

Wow – Thank you for taking the time to leave such an amazing review on our Grassmarket Hotel.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed our first class finish with plasma TVs and large comfy beds.

Please accept my apologies that you were left short of toilet paper during your stay. I will discuss with all the staff where the ‘Toilet Paper Vault’ is located to ensure that no one is caught short again.

No need to wait for a last minute deal we have fantastic returners rates available all year round!! Keep in touch and let us know when you fancy another adventure and we will be sure to sort you out with the best available rate directly.

Karen & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,032
    707
    198
    83
    48
See reviews for
361
733
227
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This cosy little hotel in Grassmarket is full with charm and funny details. Right next door is also the best breakfastplace in Edinburgh. So rather go there than take the hotelbreakfast (wich is served in a bar) But what you should do is try the haggis at the bar, omnom that was good! Unfortaly the room doesn't get full score this time, because we had to Ask for soap and it wasn't that clean either. But location is everything and I would recomend my friends to stay there. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayBianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi MayBianca,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us – we appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests!

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, the food next door in Biddy Mulligans and Hula just beside the hotel. I am sorry to hear your room was not up to standard, this is not the level of service I expect for my guests, and it will be addressed with the housekeeping team.

Thank you again for your comments,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights in July and enjoyed our visit. The central location made it easy to stop by throughout the day to drop-off shopping, change outfits, or take a quick nap before exploring the city. The room was a little small, but that's to be expected in Europe! The room itself was very clean. The only downside is that, due to the trendy location, it was quite loud on weekend nights. All in all, great stay and I'd book again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Lorraine,

Thank you for the great review!

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your extended stay with us earlier this month – it sounds as if you made the most of our central location during your time here :-)

Please keep in touch and we will ensure you receive a great returner rate.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I booked this hotel for my stag party over the weekend so there were a few of us and we had several rooms. There were no complaints from any of the group and they were all full of compliment about how nice it was.

The rooms are cool and quirky and had everything we needed, the bathroom and showers were nice too.

The best thing about this hotel is the location bang in the center of Grassmarket, everything you want is within walking distance from here.

Staff are friendly and the reception are is really cool.

I'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nickthegriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Nick,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Grassmarket – we really appreciate it!

It sounds like you had a fantastic stag party in Edinburgh, and it’s great to hear we played a part in that for you :-)

Please keep in touch to ensure you receive the best returner rate on your next stay.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Fun and funky hotel, but the small rooms are extremely small. Bed against the wall and a small amount of floor space. Almost impossible for 2 people to get ready at the same time. Would be fine for a cheaper hotel but at the price they charge just too small. Parking in the nearby garage £24 per 24 hours so add that to the cost if you have car. Rooms at the back are quiet but at the front can be very noisy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suediam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Suediam,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us – we really appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests.

It’s great to hear that you found the hotel to be “fun and funky” and I hope you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh.

As you have noted some of our rooms do vary in size; this is due to the age of the building and building restrictions that are places upon us. Our smaller rooms are designed to make good use of the space available and we advertise them as ‘snug’ doubles on all websites, with room measurements, to ensure all guests are fully informed at the time of booking.

Thank you again for your comments,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at the Grassmarket Hotel for two nights and really wish I was staying longer! After 30+ hours of flying it was an absolute treat to be staying in such a cool room. Everything is really quirky and interesting. They've put thought into the little things. There's heaps of storage and all facilities are modern and clean.
My favourite part was the deep window sill which I could sit in with my coffee and watch the street while I planned my day!
Definitely would like to come back!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Manda31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi Manda,

Thanks for the top mark review – we are flattered!

It was a pleasure having you as a guest in the hotel, and I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit so much.

Please keep in touch, and I hope we can welcome you back again in the future :-)

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Our last visit to the Grassmarket Hotel was in February, upon leaving we felt that it met all our needs. The hotel was quiet and immaculate, however our only negative was the size of the room.

As it was our second trip we requested a bigger room, Having emailed explaining that it was my partners birthday before arrival. We were greeted with a card and a box of chocolates (despite the fact we noticed that these replaced the tea cakes that come standard in each room) The bigger rooms are impressive however ours was situated at the front of the hotel. For a hotel that is advertised as having sound proof rooms, it let in a great deal of street noise including loud music from one of the bars nearby.

We could not sleep through this and went downstairs to see if we could be moved. The member of staff was helpful however he could not access the computer system meaning that changing our rooms became complicated and resulted in him having to knock on doors to see if they were occupied. By 12.45 we were in a new room that was promised to be "dead quiet". However we could hear music clearly from the pub attached.

After voicing our feelings towards the situation, we were offered compensation in the form of either 10% off the total price or free breakfast. Despite these "generous" options it is clear that little thought went into rectifying our late night move. 10% off is the offer given to all returning guests who book directly through their main site, highlighting how empty this gesture was.

Breakfast is £10 per head, so for two this was more in line with making up for inconvenience caused. However I still do not feel like it is satisfactory as it required little effort or care from the staff. But due to not wanting to ruin my partners birthday by complaining we took that option.

The reason for our clear irritation is how high the standard was set during our last visit. It was clear you were put first, well looked after with much attention paid to your visit. To return to false promises, unorganised procedures and unimaginative forms of compensation sullied an otherwise joyful journey.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MsNibbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Hi HannahProle,

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay at the Grassmarket Hotel. We sincerely apologise that you did not enjoy your return visit with us, and we are sorry that we did not live up to the expectations from your first visit with us.

As you have noted all of our rooms do differ in size and shape due to the age and size of the listed building. However upon your special request we did manage to upgrade your room to one of our bigger ones free of charge.

We are located in the heart of the city centre so unfortunately we do hear some noise from the goings on in the street; we do have secondary glazing on all windows that face onto the street and quiet rooms can be allocated upon request.

As you have discussed we did offer you compensation at the time, I am now disappointed to hear that you were still unsatisfied with the agreement that we came to.

If you are ever thinking about coming back to Edinburgh if you contact me directly, I will ensure that you are looked after,

Karen & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassmarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Grassmarket Hotel is the perfect choice for work and play, and is centrally located only a 2 minute walk from the famous Royal Mile, 10 minute walk from the Edinburgh International Conference Centre and moments from the best attractions Edinburgh has to offer including Edinburgh Castle and the historic Royal Mile. If you like to unwind after a hard day in quirky stylish surroundings, you won’t be disappointed. Our designs bring a distinctive and fresh flavour to the Edinburgh hotel market whilst incorporating traditional Scottish twists, with a few surprises along the way! The hotel has newly refurbished guestrooms, ranging from cosy (single room), comfy (standard twin/double) and comfy plus (triple or 4 singles) all complete with rainfall style showers. Can’t cope without your iPod? Pop it in our dock & kick back in sound proofed rooms. Each bedroom has a large flat screen plasma TV. Oh and if that wasn’t enough to keep you occupied, we also have free Wi-Fi. New to the city? All rooms have wall sized magnetic map that will point you in the right direction and air conditioning as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing