We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grassmarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grassmarket Hotel
Ranked #48 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Business trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great welcome, staff so very helpful. Single room small and very basic but clean and tidy. Location great and on check out day your bags can be left if you want to explore Edinburgh a little longer. Breakfast Is next door in the Irish Pub and this is very, very good. A little expensive for what you get but I guess this is typical city rates and this is a shame and drops your overall impression/ experience. No car parking facilities.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi David,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us – we really appreciate it.

It’s great to hear you enjoyed our location, found the room to be clean and the staff helpful – I will also be sure to pass on your kind words to the team next door in Biddy Mulligans!

I hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,017
    700
    194
    83
    48
See reviews for
352
723
226
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Egremont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Friendly staff, great location and a very unique decor. I loved this place and will definitely book again. The washroom and toiletries were waaay above expectation, if I had more time the hotel alone would have been enough for me to extend my stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi Sarah,

Thank you for the great review – it is fantastic to here that you will return to stay with us again :-)

Please keep in touch to ensure you receive the best returner rate next time!

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I noticed that back in May this year there was a review that complained about the surly service and that nothing worked. Well, I guess nothing much was done to remedy this when we stayed for half a day in July!

After a long 18 hr flight into Edinburgh we checked into the hotel. The room is not comfy- it's TINY. We had to lug our suitcases up three flights of stairs, oh and there was no wifi in the room.

But that wasn't that big a deal. At around 10 pm that night just when we were abt to collapse in bed, we found out that the showers were not working. Not a drop. We went down three flights of steps to the recep to enquire abt this. The manager told us we could just stay and not shower as they were fully booked. He also didn't seem to believe us when we told them there was no wifi in the room.

What shocked us wasn't the faulty shower or no wifi- it was the response to all these very serious issues- we were told it was "our choice really" to stay on in the hotel without showers or stay at a sister back packers in a pub that closed at 1.30 am. When we decided to move out that night to another hotel at 11 PM, no assistance was offered to help us with the suitcases down 3 flights of steps. I was incensed when I reached the lobby and was asked whether we found another hotel!! I did just tell the manager that there was NO WIFI in the room. I felt very keenly then that they were trying to kick us out of the lobby as some guests had returned to the hotel and they were wary that we would make a scene.

Some assistance were given to us in the form of letting us use the computer in the lobby to find a hotel but that was it and this was after we asked. A cab was called after I asked for one, and we were left to lug out suitcases ourselves. Only one staff, a tall guy in a polo tee, apologized and helped with the suitcases to the cab. The lady and another staff, I believe he might have been the manager, disappeared and looked rather peeved at us.

All in all, we felt like we were treated as a nuisance by the hotel staff. No apologies (save for the guy mentioned above), no practical options and barely any assistance at all.

This was our first night in Scotland and our first experience of "Scottish hospitality" and I would say this is the worst service provided by a hotel I've ever experienced. Fortunately the rest of my stay in Scotland was a hundred times better and made up for this absolute disaster.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whataboutkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi whataboutkate,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us; we appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests. I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy aspects of your brief stay with us and it is unfortunate that we did not get a chance to speak in person during your time with us and come to a suitable resolve.

Your comments will be discussed at our weekly team meeting and measures put in place to ensure we address the level of service you have received during your stay with us.

Once again I can only apologise for this, and if you are ever returning to Edinburgh please let me know directly.

Regards,

Rachel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Fun and funky hotel in great location. Parking with 24 hour attendant and CCTV camera, a 5 minute walk away. Hotel is laid out in an atypical manner with narrow hallways, stairs and one lift. Very quite for being so centrally located. Bed super comfortable and lovely shower!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Womanfromaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi Womanfromaway,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review – we really appreciate it :-)

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay; particularly our individual décor, comfy beds and fantastic showers! As you have noted the layout of our hotel is unusual; this is due to constraints placed upon us by the age of the building.

I hope we can welcome you back again next time you are in Edinburgh!

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The Grassmarket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Great staff made my stay what it was. Stayed here for a surprise birthday event and the staff were very helpful with local knowledge. always polite and courteous unlike so many places these days. Will be back for sure.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Fisk1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Fisk1971,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Grassmarket.

It sounds like you and your friends had a fantastic surprise birthday in Edinburgh, and it’s great to hear we played a part in that for you :-)

We look forward to seeing you all again soon, don’t forget to book direct for a great returners rate!

Karen & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Everything about the hotel worked. Friendly reception, easy check in/out. Really clean and stylish room. Comfy bed, great bathroom. Eclectic, stylish furnishings. Looked to fault it but couldn't. Guys in the pub/restaurant downstairs super helpful and a quality steak to boot. 10 out of 10 from me. Will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr1002013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Mr1002013,

Thank you for leaving a review of your time in Edinburgh; I am so pleased that you couldn’t fault us and have given top marks!

I will ensure that your compliments are passed onto the chef for the great meal you had next door in Biddy Mulligans; I am sure he and the rest of the team will appreciate it!

Come back and visit soon with our great returners deals,

Karen & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed at the Grassmarket Hotel for 3 days in July. This hotel was in a superb location, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and quirky! Loved all the little unique items and sayings around the hotel. Lots of pubs, restaurants and shops around the hotel (not to mention the castle at the end of the street!) Enjoyed the free wifi and would definitely stay here again! Approx. 20 minutes by taxi from the airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KC_Sunshine27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Grassmarket Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi KC_Sunshine27,

Wow- Thank you for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review on your recent visit to the Grassmarket Hotel!

It sounds as though you made the most of our great city centre location during your stay with us; we know we are so lucky to be right in the heart of things with the castle at the end of the street!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon with our great returners rates!

Karen & The Grassmarket Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassmarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmarket Hotel

Property: Grassmarket Hotel
Address: 94-96 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2JR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassmarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Grassmarket Hotel is the perfect choice for work and play, and is centrally located only a 2 minute walk from the famous Royal Mile, 10 minute walk from the Edinburgh International Conference Centre and moments from the best attractions Edinburgh has to offer including Edinburgh Castle and the historic Royal Mile. If you like to unwind after a hard day in quirky stylish surroundings, you won’t be disappointed. Our designs bring a distinctive and fresh flavour to the Edinburgh hotel market whilst incorporating traditional Scottish twists, with a few surprises along the way! The hotel has newly refurbished guestrooms, ranging from cosy (single room), comfy (standard twin/double) and comfy plus (triple or 4 singles) all complete with rainfall style showers. Can’t cope without your iPod? Pop it in our dock & kick back in sound proofed rooms. Each bedroom has a large flat screen plasma TV. Oh and if that wasn’t enough to keep you occupied, we also have free Wi-Fi. New to the city? All rooms have wall sized magnetic map that will point you in the right direction and air conditioning as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grassmarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassmarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing