We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Haggis”
Review of KM Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
KM Central
Ranked #133 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Silloth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Haggis”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

While I wasn't too enamoured of the looks of the hotel, I was very pleasantly surprised, the rooms while not massive are a decent size with a wc / wet room, they were clean and well maintained. Luckily we were given a ground floor room as I didn't fancy climbing all the stairs. I really enjoyed the breakfast, particularly the fresh fruit, pastries and cooked breakfast, it was delicious. The location of the hotel is brilliant, just round the corner from the Festival Theatre and it was easy to find. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahHale74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    126
    81
    24
    17
See reviews for
15
115
66
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a great deal in a great location and does not need luxury or a lot of space. If you are obese or have trouble carrying luggage up stairs, then you probably should not choose this place. We were on the third floor and are in our sixties, so the worst part of our stay has been getting to our room. Nonetheless, if we return to Edinburgh, I would love to stay here again. As previously stated in other reviews, the rooms are small, but the bed is comfortable; there is a desk with tv, water kettle, tea bags, and telephone; a bedside table with lamp, and a closet with a safe inside, and two chairs. The bathroom is about four by four feet and includes a shower surrounded by a shower curtain (no other division between the shower and rest of the room), a toilet, and a very small lavatory with a shelf and mirror over it. We have had no problem using the shower; the water does not get on the other fixtures in the bathroom as long as you close the curtain. the floor does get wet, but a bathmat is provided. The room is cleaned every day and is kept spotless. Towels are provided, no washcloths. A nicely scented liquid soap/shower gel is provided. Breakfast is wonderful, and the service is great. It's about a third of a block to walk to the breakfast room, outside. You are offered a selection of dry cereals, juices, yogurt, cheeses, croissants, rolls, ham, melons, berries, grapefruit to help yourself to. Then you may order from a menu of eggs, really good bacon, grilled portabella mushrooms, toast, haggis, black pudding, grilled tomato, vegetarian haggis, pork and leek sausage, coffee, tea, and.....I am forgetting something. And all of it is included in the price of the room, which is a great price for a major city such as this one, especially! You can have some of everything, if you want. It's all really well prepared, and the room is very comfortable and pleasant. Also, wifi is free in your room. Really, this is a phenomenal value, and within walking distance to all the attractions and Waverly Station.

Room Tip: The first or second floor would be best for older people, as the floors are numbered after the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

As other reviewers have pointed out, this is a no-frills hotel. No lift, small en-suite WC/wet room with shower, no bar, and doesn't look very grand from the outside. However, it's warm (shouldn't be an issue in late May, but it's really cold in Edinburgh right now!), the shower works fine, the room itself is a decent size, and the bed is comfortable.

The location is great - it's right in the city centre - the reception staff are helpful and friendly, it has free WiFi *and* a (free) network cable for free wired Internet access (which seems reliable), and the breakfast seems pretty good (I'm more of a toast and marmalade person myself, but had an egg this morning, and the full breakfast looks quite appealing).

At fifty quid a night for a small but comfortable room in a great location, it's good value and I'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: No lift, so if you have luggage ask for a room on the ground or first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSouthville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

i visited scotland for the first time ever on 13th may and booked into the hotel reception. The staff were most friendly and gave me a map to enjoy the sights eagerly awaited. My room was as i expected of a single room and very clean too. Overall my only concern was that of the bathroom it was smaller than i expected. Im sure it would have been adequate for the students who previously resided at this hotel before the client change but i did have a bit of difficulty at the sink and the toilet as was quite cramped. If i was a portly person i feel it might have created further problems. Breakfast was an experience i will never forget in a hurry. The waitress that greeted me was very polite and took my order of a full scottish breakfast. while i waited i started on the fruits and yoghurts which amazed me with choice .when i got my cooked breakfast there was black pudding and haggis in addition to wot im used to in england. I said to myself when in scotland eat like a scot so i tucked into the haggis. It was like something id never had before but always wanted to try. i wasnt disappointed and was quite proud i finished it although i will say it is an acquired taste . I will be going to scotland again as there are so many delights to behold and i will use this hotel again without doubt

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghostrider143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The rooms are very good with clean adequate facilities. It is in good location for city attractions. The choice of foods for breakfast was probably best we had from hotel. Buffet had excellent choice with freshly cooked menu available. The staff were helpful and friendly.
Dont be put off by 1st impressions as looks like student accommodation in residential area but we would recommend it and go back ourselves.
Not suitable for older couples as no lift.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexbirds25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This was our 1st visit to Scotland ever, We spent 3 nights at this hotel over the may bank holiday. We arrived pretty late on the Friday night, but this was not an issue, we had a room on the ground floor which was fab for us, it was clean very well presented coffee/tea making facilities, plenty of plug sockets, wall mounted tv, very comfy bed which was a must after a long journey and forthcoming site seeing. Bathroom was small but clean and functional being the wet-room type, shampoo/body wash is provided as are towels.

Breakfast was more than expected for the price. A good menu buffet for cereal and fruits/pastries etc. and services for hot breakfast all done with very pleasant staff.

Close to the main shopping street, Ideally located for the castle, buses are very frequent and will take you almost anywhere, There are 5 bus tours each one slightly different and different stop locations if you do all 5 its around £17pp and last 24hrs. we did 3 of them and saw loads this is a good way to get and idea of where things are to revisit, We visited the Zoo a must if you like panda's yes we saw the two lovely panda's maybe a JNR later this year, also the castle is a lovely place to visit and has some stunning views.

Taxi's are also very prompt, reasonable and courteous

I would definately recommend the Kenneth Mackenzie and will use it again on my return to Edinburgh..

Thanks for a lovely stay

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stays ask for ground floor or lower floor as there are no lifts. Rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juls64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Location is very nice - in old town, nearby the key museums and the university of Edinburgh. The only bemol were some works on the street that I suppose would only contribute to better comfort of later visitors)).
Food and service are good.
I had a chance to have a wonderful view on the mountain (from the 4th floor).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRRau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Salisbury Green Hotel
#121 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Masson House
#117 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#69 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KM Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KM Central

Property: KM Central
Address: 7 Richmond Place, Edinburgh EH8 9ST, Scotland (Formerly Kenneth Mackenzie)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — KM Central 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are thrilled to announce the refurbishment of Kenneth Mackenzie is going ahead at the start of 2017. These exciting developments mean that this year-round hotel will be able to offer 45 new double en-suite rooms as well as a re-design of the breakfast room all available from mid-summer 2017. Our bed and breakfast accommodation at Richmond Place is close to all of Edinburgh's main tourist attractions, including the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle, so you will find it easy to see the sights during your stay. All 20 double and 20 single rooms have en-suite facilities, TV, telephone, chargeable internet access and tea/coffee-making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your KM Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenneth Mackenzie Hotel Edinburgh
Kenneth Mackenzie Suite Edinburgh
Kenneth Mackenzie Suite Hotel Edinburgh
KM Central Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing