We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellently placed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kenneth Mackenzie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kenneth Mackenzie
Ranked #134 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellently placed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Nice and clean, central to places of interest, this was ideal for a short break, packing light was the key to this holiday. The breakfast was tasty and well presented and the rooms were well thought out and spotless.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    126
    81
    25
    17
See reviews for
16
115
66
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Hotel is near the Royal Mile and quite close to a bus stop.
Room was clean with a very small bathroom. Furniture was a bit worn out. The worse part is a gap below the door - everything from the corridor is very audible; especially when someone closes doors.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor, windows to the street. The heavier luggage you have, the lower floor is recommende...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlukow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Located in the old town, it's at walking distance from the Royal Mile, the Castle, and many other attractions. The room is essential, I had the WiFi working. The bathroom is very small and not comfortable, but acceptable for a few days stay. There is no elevator. Breakfast is of standard quality. So, the location is optimal if you plan to visit around all day and spend just a few hours in the room.
Since it is not properly a hotel, as they give you the keys of the building entrance and of the room, be careful when you get back late at night or leave early in the morning: the area is quiet, I found a drunkard sleeping in the entrance that blocked my way out...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Good for light travellers. We had quite heavy luggage but the guys did not tell us that there was no lift and the gave us room at the fourth floor. There was no one to even help with the heavy luggage. Shower was just for the sake of being there. Room was small.
But the breakfast was great.

Room Tip: No lift so be careful if travelling with heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kushagra_Gupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Taking price and location into account, this one of two hotels I considered and decided to go with this one because of recommendations I read for the cooked, Scottish breakfast and the fact it has a 24 hour cancellation policy, as well as allowing you to pay on leaving. The Expedia description is slightly misleading in this respect, as you have to pay on arrival, but that was no great hardship and the breakfast was excellent.

As for location, it is ideally located a couple of minutes walk from the Royal Mile, not far from bars and restaurant in Cowgate, Grassmarket etc. I should have read more carefully in advance however, commenters who had mentioned the noise from deliveries all around the hotel, very early in the morning. I was awoken both mornings and did not get a great deal of sleep. If you are a light-sleeper and like a lie-in, this is probably not the place for you but it is very cheap, breakfast is nice with a huge choice: vegetarian, carnivore, healthy eater.

Small grumbles would be that the shower is not very powerful and the TV is very small and just Freeview. However, who wants to come to Edinburgh and spend all their time in their room watching telly.

Room Tip: Ask for one where you can't hear the deliveries, if such a thing is possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acwf2973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

How do you review a student accommodation on a hotel site? I paid 44 pounds, booked through booking.com, which was about 60 pounds less per night than pretty much any other room I could find online at the time of booking. I jumped at it, and glad I did.

What's great? The price and the location.

What's good? The room was comfortable and clean. There was a safe and a coffee making station, a closet with hangers, block out curtains, a comfortable single mattress and clean pressed sheets. The breakfast was good, although my first day I had a funny experience and waiting 30 minutes for one fried egg that I could see the cook working over the entire time. It looked like one of those rubber joke eggs from the 70s, and tasted as I imagine one would. The rest of the time, they had a decent cooked to order breakfast including veg hagis and a decent buffet of fruits, cheeses and plenty of cereals.

What wasn't good? Well, for the price nothing in fact, it was all fine indeed. But for those paying more than 44 pounds, maybe the lack of service (it's a university residence after all) would be a problem, or the 4 story climb up stairs without a lift, or the annoying staff in the dinning room, or the shower the pours over the whole bathroom or the noise from the rooms across the corridor. If you don't mind snoring, then it won't be a problem. (other than that, it was very quiet)

Would I stay here again? Yes absolutely, because it was good value and I'd prefer to save money in exchange for service and "comfort".

Room Tip: the back courtyard is extremely noisy with trucks and service vehicles early in the morning. Choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photo_gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silloth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

While I wasn't too enamoured of the looks of the hotel, I was very pleasantly surprised, the rooms while not massive are a decent size with a wc / wet room, they were clean and well maintained. Luckily we were given a ground floor room as I didn't fancy climbing all the stairs. I really enjoyed the breakfast, particularly the fresh fruit, pastries and cooked breakfast, it was delicious. The location of the hotel is brilliant, just round the corner from the Festival Theatre and it was easy to find. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahHale74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Masson House
#117 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Salisbury Green Hotel
#122 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#67 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenneth Mackenzie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenneth Mackenzie

Property: Kenneth Mackenzie
Address: 7 Richmond Place, Edinburgh EH8 9ST, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenneth Mackenzie 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are thrilled to announce the refurbishment of Kenneth Mackenzie is going ahead at the start of 2017. These exciting developments mean that this year-round hotel will be able to offer 45 new double en-suite rooms as well as a re-design of the breakfast room all available from mid-summer 2017. Our bed and breakfast accommodation at Richmond Place is close to all of Edinburgh's main tourist attractions, including the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle, so you will find it easy to see the sights during your stay. All 20 double and 20 single rooms have en-suite facilities, TV, telephone, chargeable internet access and tea/coffee-making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Kenneth Mackenzie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenneth Mackenzie Hotel Edinburgh
Kenneth Mackenzie Suite Edinburgh
Kenneth Mackenzie Suite Hotel Edinburgh
Kenneth Mackenzie Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing