We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff”
Review of KM Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
KM Central
Ranked #131 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely staff”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights during the fringe and found the location to be within easy walking distance to the fringe venues and castle. Room is basic but cleaned daily and has a comfortable bed. Only criticism is odour in the bathroom. The staff at breakfast were friendly efficient and hard working and the breakfasts itself was freshly cooked with a good variety of hot and cold choices. If we return to Edinburgh would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheelawheelaSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    126
    81
    24
    17
See reviews for
15
115
66
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Spent three nights here for the festival this year and will definitely be booking for next year. Equidistant between Pleasance Courtyard and the Undebelly, it is perfectly located for access to the Fringe. The rooms are not voluminous but are clean, well appointed and serviced with a free safe. WIFI is free and I really can't fault the breakfasts either - we never had to wait for a table although we saw a couple of people who did (never over 5 mins though). They happily stored our luggage for the whole day of our departure and all staff were friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard facing room if you are easily disturbed by traffic noise with a window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wigantravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I paid £94 for one night at this student accommodation with a tiny single bed. As website had picture of double bed i was Very disappointing with accommodation. Do not stay here at, there are other lovely places at Same price in Edinburgh.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed in this accommodation for the first weekend on the Fringe festival. I found it through Expedia and seemed reasonably priced given the time of the year and the location.

The accommodation is ideal for the Fringe as it is basic but 10 minutes walk (maximum) to Pleasance Courtyard, Pleasance Dome, Gilded Balloon, Udderbelly and Assembly as George Sq.

The rooms are small with no frills. The bed was very comfortable and looked clean. The bathroom was miniscule however it did the job. Only criticism of the room was the smell, I don't know if it was the heat or just general fustiness but I had the window permanently wide open in order to air it out for the evenings (and also to try and bring the room temperature down significantly!)

There are no stairs in the building but we were lucky enough to be allocated rooms on the second floor. I don't think I could have lugged my cases much further in the heat!

Breakfast is excellent but tables at it are limited so you could experience a significant wait on being seated. There was a cold buffet with cereals, baked goods, cold meat, cheese, yoghurts and fresh fruit. Table service also offered fry ups and toast. All were included in the room price.

Yes, the building looks fairly run down but for the purpose of my trip the location was key. The comfy bed and big breakfast were just bonuses!

I should also say that the reception staff were very helpful and even printed out my boarding pass when I was leaving.

Room Tip: Low floor to avoid having to trek up the stairs. And one at the back to get away from the street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed for 2 nights by myself while visiting friends in the city. The room was small (it's an old dorm room) but was well furnished and very clean. They provide you with information books on the city, and free wifi (that was a happy surprise because the website had said you had to pay for it!) The bathroom is my only complaint about the room because it is VERY small, and the shower is not enclosed at the bottom, so the whole bathroom floor gets wet. It is located in a great location; only about a 10 minute walk from the Royal Mile. The staff was incredibly friendly, and the breakfast (included) was delicious, and way more than I expected! If you are looking for a luxury hotel, this is not the place, but I would definitely recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganB1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was a mini break for us which combined with a spa day. This hotel is basic but with all amenities. We only used it to sleep and with free wi-fi it had all you need. The breakfast was fresh and well presented. The staff were always polite. Very near the Festival Theatre and a fringe venue.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audrey6152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Be under no misapprehension, The Kenneth Mackenzie Apartments are nothing more than poor quality student accommodation.
The room we had was in the roof space and had totally inadequate ventilation to combat the effect of the warmest summer since 2006. The decor comprised of badly applied woodchip wall paper which had been painted, several years ago, in a fetching contrasting candytuft pink and peppermint green. There were several holes in the walls which had been painted over rather than properly repaired with filler before painting.
What had once been white woodwork was badly marked with chips out of the skirting and knott marks showing on the door jamb.
The bathroom, whilst clean was only suitable for persons of diminished stature. The sink had hairline cracks, as did the mirror in the bedroom.
There were trailing cables to the bedside lamp (just the one!) and there was a multi-point junction box glowing in the corner. The TV was small and reception on several channels was poor. There was no convenient power supply for the hair dryer close to the mirror.
The room heater looked like it should have been condemned many years ago.
There is no lift in the building, so persons with mobility or cardiac issues should not consider this accommodation.
Yes we know it was cheap (£80) compared with the major hotels in Edinburgh as accommodation was at a premium because of the Open taking place at Muirfield, but we would not consider student accommodation again.
On the up side, it is ideally located for central Edinburgh

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretA998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Salisbury Green Hotel
#118 of 148 in Edinburgh
345 reviews
Masson House
#117 of 148 in Edinburgh
418 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,043 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KM Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KM Central

Property: KM Central
Address: 7 Richmond Place, Edinburgh EH8 9ST, Scotland (Formerly Kenneth Mackenzie)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — KM Central 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are thrilled to announce the refurbishment of Kenneth Mackenzie is going ahead at the start of 2017. These exciting developments mean that this year-round hotel will be able to offer 45 new double en-suite rooms as well as a re-design of the breakfast room all available from mid-summer 2017. Our bed and breakfast accommodation at Richmond Place is close to all of Edinburgh's main tourist attractions, including the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle, so you will find it easy to see the sights during your stay. All 20 double and 20 single rooms have en-suite facilities, TV, telephone, chargeable internet access and tea/coffee-making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your KM Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenneth Mackenzie Hotel Edinburgh
Kenneth Mackenzie Suite Edinburgh
Kenneth Mackenzie Suite Hotel Edinburgh
KM Central Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing