We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean and lovely breakfast ”
Review of KM Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
KM Central
Ranked #125 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice, clean and lovely breakfast ”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Perfect location with walking distanse to all the sights - such as The Royal Mile, The Castle, New town, Old town and spectacular Arthurs seat.

Friendly staff, unecpectedly good breakfast, nice and clean. Nothing fancy - but absolutely approved. Good value for the money.

:-)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Snulfepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    130
    81
    24
    17
See reviews for
16
125
67
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Great location, breakfast and friendly staff. I'm a light sleeper so only thing I'd say is that it can get quite noisy on a Saturday night (great for party go-ers but unfortunately not why I was there).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I revisited the Kenneth Mackenzie as it had been so convenient on my previous trip to Edinburgh. From the location it is so easy to access any part of the city centre and only about a 10-15 minute walk to the Waverly Station. Also if you are visiting the George Square university campus it is a couple of blocks from there as well. Reception is in a separate building but always friendly and helpful. There is also a free luggage lockup if you need to leave luggage after check-out. Free wifi is a plus and the breakfast is served nearby with really friendly staff. They cater for vegetarians as well! On both visits I have found it very quiet and slept well. There is a safe in the cupboard that is big enough for a laptop etc. The shower is almost over the loo given the small add-on design but totally functional.
The only downside is that there is no lift despite the number of floors - oh and no biscuits with the kettle. I always think a biscuit or two after a long journey goes down very well AND this is an area known for its good shortbread.

Room Tip: I have always found it a quiet location despite overlooking an area where vehicles access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Ok
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Unless you take great pride in staying at sub-par lodging, thinking you're getting a great deal, I'd pass on Kenneth Mackenzie. You're not getting that great of a deal. This place is okay ... it's clean, the location is good --just a 10 minute walk from the Royal Mile and Waverly train station, and the breakfast was good.

But the room, carpeting, bathroom, and furnishings are way past their prime ... the room hasn't been updated in a long time, if ever. Out of curiosity, I checked at some of the mid-level hotels in the area, and their prices either matched or beat what I was paying. I stayed here in February, and I'm wondering if the price at the Kenneth Mackenzie never varies. The other hotels' prices fluctuate with the season, so I think that in the off-season, you'll get more for your money if you opt for a real hotel instead of a rundown student dorm like the Kenneth Mackenzie. At least, that's the way I'll go next time in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TulsaLonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. Room very clean and relatively comfortable but there was a distinct feel of uni halls remaining here. Rooms and en-suite could do with modernisation and upgrading. Breakfast was the highlight with a lovely selection of cooked and cold produce to choose from.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMR87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oslo
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I was invited to Edinburgh to work with the University so I wasn't paying. They booked me into the Kenneth Mackenzie. It is a good basic hotel. It is not fancy, but it is does a good job. The breakfast was good and the people serving it were friendly. The room was not luxurious, but it had everything I needed. It is centrally located so it is easy to get out and see the city.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank rsling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I was very shocked at this hotel on arrival because it had been advertised as a 3 star hotel and it looked very run down at the front. Reception is also located in a different building. There is no lift at this hotel which is not very well advertised on the website so if you hate lugging your suitcase up flights of stairs this hotel is not for you. The inside of the room was nice and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was great (where the 3 stars come in). This hotel is situated a little bit outside the centre of the Royal Mile and the street it is in is quite dead so I felt a little bit unsafe walking back at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Masson House
#117 of 149 in Edinburgh
431 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Salisbury Green Hotel
#119 of 149 in Edinburgh
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KM Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KM Central

Property: KM Central
Address: 7 Richmond Place, Edinburgh EH8 9ST, Scotland (Formerly Kenneth Mackenzie)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — KM Central 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are thrilled to announce the refurbishment of Kenneth Mackenzie is going ahead at the start of 2017. These exciting developments mean that this year-round hotel will be able to offer 45 new double en-suite rooms as well as a re-design of the breakfast room all available from mid-summer 2017. Our bed and breakfast accommodation at Richmond Place is close to all of Edinburgh's main tourist attractions, including the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle, so you will find it easy to see the sights during your stay. All 20 double and 20 single rooms have en-suite facilities, TV, telephone, chargeable internet access and tea/coffee-making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your KM Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenneth Mackenzie Hotel Edinburgh
Kenneth Mackenzie Suite Edinburgh
Kenneth Mackenzie Suite Hotel Edinburgh
KM Central Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing