We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of KM Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
KM Central
Ranked #134 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Garden Grove, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

I stayed in a single room and was satisfied overall with my stay. The room was pretty small, but it looked recently remodeled. Everything looked brand new and modern. The room had a flat screen tv, coffee maker, air conditioning and heater. There is also free internet in the rooms, through an ethernet cable (provided). You have to log onto the university website and set up an account, the 8mb/sec plan is free. Not the fastest, but just fine for checking e-mail and stuff. The location is great, just a short walk to the Royal Mile. Another major plus was the excellent breakfast- lots of items to choose from in the breakfast buffet as well as hot breakfast cooked to order. The only disappointment was that outside my room was an ugly construction site, and loud construction noise at 7am every morning. Hopefully in a year or so the construction will be finished, and this won't be an issue. But overall I think this hotel is a great budget option if you don't mind a small room.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    126
    81
    25
    17
See reviews for
16
115
66
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

I agree with previous review, Edinburgh is an expensive place, so this was very resonable. We were out all day anyway sightseeing. Nice to come back at night to clean and cosy room. Had tea and coffee facilities in room.
It does resemble a dorm, which is not a problem for us.
We had a hire car and there is plenty of room around the streets to park.
Very nice breakfast.
We had a GPS which did help.
Easy walk into town from here.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackiestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

Some reviewers here seem to have been disappointed by this hotel not living up to their 'usual' standards. Well, newsflash: Edinburgh is an extremely expensive city and this place is by far the cheapest you will find in the city centre, hence the lack of lifts, room service, or spa/health suite on site.

What the Kenneth Mackenzie does offer is clean, comfortable and functional rooms in a quiet, yet central location, with a very decent breakfast and friendly, helpful staff who do a great deal to make your stay personal and pleasurable.

If you travel by train, Waverley station is about 15mins walk away, as are all the city centre attractions. If you're travelling by car, the best bet is to park up in a park and ride site on the outskirts (free) and then get a (cheap) bus into town, or indeed a taxi. Parking in town is limited and very expensive.

We were only in Edinburgh for a flying visit to attend a wedding, but we would definitely return and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteYep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

Modern and basic rooms in a clean and tidy atmosphere with no frills at all. The room was spacious and the bathroom decent. Four floors and no lift. Ok for young people (apparently it's thought for university students to stay). A bit too expensive for what it offers, but in line with the average Edinburgh prices. Great location, at walking distance from all the castle and the city centre. No private parking, and all around it's paying area for parking.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItaloIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

Stayed for 2 nights Friday to Sunday.

The Mackenzie Suites are located near the Festival Theatre, an easy 10-15 min walk from Waverley Station and Princes Street.

The premises are run by the University and are probably a former students hall of residence converted into en suite 'hotel' rooms.

We arrived a couple of hours earlier than the official check in time of 2.30 but were able to check in straight away as our room was ready.

There was some construction works in progress on another building at the rear but fortunately for us they did not work on the Saturday and Sunday morning but there may be a noise problem if you are staying mid week.

Our 3rd floor room was clean and contained a comfortable double bed, wardrobe, TV, table, chair and tea/coffee making facilities and a wndow that fully opened..

The en-suite bathroom was very small but clean and functional. There was no seperate shower cubicle just a curtain but the shower worked perfectly and there was always hot water available.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and is served in the building next door.

There is a choice of buffet style continental and/or full cooked breakfast (which is freshly prepared to order) and service was very prompt and friendly. The food and choice was excellent and enough to keep you going until tea time!

When we checked out we were able to store our luggage for a few hours free of charge until it was time to catch the train home.

In summarising I would say that the Kenneth Mackenzie Suites are on a par with say a Travelodge or Premier Inn but with a great breakfast thrown in.

If you are looking for somewhere with 24 hour porterage, plush furnishings and a chocolate on your pillow this probably isn't a good choice but if you just want somewhere basic but clean in a convenient central location you could do a lot worse for the money.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaretAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

While the Kenneth MacKenzie Suites are conveniently located in Old Town the rooms are small. The bathroom was smaller than most closets. While the staff were helpful and friendly. We stayed on the third level and hauling bags up three flights of stairs may be fine for student it was not what I expected. This hotel is associated with the University of Edinburgh and is probably better suited for student housing.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridger1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DONCASTER
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2009

I got this accomodation off LateRooms.com.the night before we went to Edinburgh.then i read trip advisor and thought ,OH DEAR , what have i done,but when we got there it was lovely,the staff were helpfull and friendly,the rooms were spotless , the bedding was lovely and whiteand the towels were white thick and fluffy. The breakfast was nicer than some five star hotels we have stayed in,it was all cooked fresh and there was plenty of choice.So if you want some good cheap accomodation just 5 mins. walk from the royal mile this is where to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEANDONCASTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Salisbury Green Hotel
#122 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Masson House
#118 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#36 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#70 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KM Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KM Central

Property: KM Central
Address: 7 Richmond Place, Edinburgh EH8 9ST, Scotland (Formerly Kenneth Mackenzie)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — KM Central 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are thrilled to announce the refurbishment of Kenneth Mackenzie is going ahead at the start of 2017. These exciting developments mean that this year-round hotel will be able to offer 45 new double en-suite rooms as well as a re-design of the breakfast room all available from mid-summer 2017. Our bed and breakfast accommodation at Richmond Place is close to all of Edinburgh's main tourist attractions, including the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle, so you will find it easy to see the sights during your stay. All 20 double and 20 single rooms have en-suite facilities, TV, telephone, chargeable internet access and tea/coffee-making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your KM Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenneth Mackenzie Hotel Edinburgh
Kenneth Mackenzie Suite Edinburgh
Kenneth Mackenzie Suite Hotel Edinburgh
KM Central Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing