We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Hotel Twenty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Twenty
Ranked #145 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I gave Hotel 20 '5 out of 5' on the basis that it's an absolute bargain for a central Edinburgh hotel, the room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the staff were friendly. It's not a 5* hotel but it's charging hardly more than a Hostel, and yet the rooms themselves were of a very high standard. The staff were also friendly and accomodating. I would certainly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: I rated the Fitness Centre and Room Service as Excellent because the Hotel offers neither, but the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We take all guests comments in to consideration. We try and pride ourselves with great service and in time we are hoping to upgrade the whole hotel to a 4 star standard. Again we thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at Hotel Twenty and hope to see you again .It was a pleasure having you stay at Hotel Twenty.

Regards

John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    124
    108
    69
    126
See reviews for
67
224
53
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The customer service especially is top notch, John the manager was amazingly helpful when I had a booking issue with Laterooms. Can't think of anything negative to say. Will hopefully be staying up there again soon!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank budgie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We take all guests comments in to consideration. We try and pride ourselves with great service and in time we are hoping to upgrade the whole hotel to a 4 star standard. Again we thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at Hotel Twenty and hope to see you again .It was a pleasure having you stay at Hotel Twenty.

Regards

John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a small (I think 12 rooms) hotel, and I arrived after midnight. I was let in, got my key and was in my room with minimum fuss and maximum courtesy and attention. My room was small, but big on decor, black, red and white, not your usual bland hotel room. Facing the front I expected traffic noise to be a problem, but it was not, and I was not bothered by noise from other hotel users. The bed, shower and room facilities were good. Breakfast was continental and adequate, served downstairs.
The biggest plus was the friendly staff, and the price, great value for money considering its location which is so handy for a tourist in Edinburgh.
The negatives: well, I'm a big woman and the single room was small, but acceptable. The stairs might be a problem for the elderly or disabled as both reception desk and breakfast room were downstairs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buchanlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We take all guests comments in to consideration. We try and pride ourselves with great service and in time we are hoping to upgrade the whole hotel to a 4 star standard. Again we thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at Hotel Twenty and hope to see you again .It was a pleasure having you stay at Hotel Twenty.

Regards

John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel is definitely aged.... but don't let the appearance fool you. This hotel carry the great values of any 3/4 star hotel might got.

First, the room is very spacious

Second, the room is clean

Third, the bed is made very good, little soft, but not springy or making any squeeky sound, the sleep is very good as I really needed it after the 13 hour flights. To make their effort counts, they provide extra pillows for everyone in my family, which does help alot of my stiff neck.

Fourth, even though is aged, but their toilet is good enough and their shower is surprisingly 5 star quality, great volumeflow but gentle and excellent temperature control.

Fifth, the wifi is excellent !

To make this hotel look bad, well.. I got to say is the location, the walk from waverley station is about 15-20 minute, which is not "very near" quality for me because I am travelling with my family and baby.

However, for any who had booked this hotel , please do use the lothian bus, one day pass just for GBP 3.50 and hope on bus no 5 or 45, you just hop off the first station after they turn in the leopold place/london road. Its the first bus stop and almost right infront of their hotel. And you can get it on/off just under 3 minutes, plus the day pass you can use it to go almost any where you can think off for free on that day !

Little extra here i need to compliment, which is the hotel manager both, day and night, one of them call johnny if I remember clearly, makes our check in and stay and all other little thing so easy , great work and keep going the good effort , I wish them be the one of the edinburgh great stay in near future

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We take all guests comments in to consideration. We try and pride ourselves with great service and in time we are hoping to upgrade the whole hotel to a 4 star standard. Again we thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at Hotel Twenty and hope to see you again .It was a pleasure having you stay at Hotel Twenty.

Regards

John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Hotel Twenty is located near the historic center of Edinburgh, easily accessible and in a safe and nice neighborhood. In 5 minutes you can walk to the center or to the bus station.

In the Hotel Twenty you will certainly receive the best service you can imagine. Eddie, the owner, and John the manager are spectacular guys who will do everything possible to make you feel better than at home.

The hotel offers free internet and the price includes an excellent breakfast as well as options for coffee or tea in the room. Since we traveled to London very early in the morning, they prepared breakfast for us in advance, without mentioning their help for recovering some forgotten belongings left at the hotel.

It was our first time in Edinburgh and they also help us to plan our time there and recommended us visiting Stirling, which was an excellent option for taking a look of the surroundings of Edinburgh, particularly of Stirling Castle, at only 45 minutes from the city center.

Additionally, the hotel has a Thai restaurant where we had dinner one night and the quality was excellent!

It is a place I recommend and certainly would visit my next time in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rruizb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We take all guests comments in to consideration. We try and pride ourselves with great service and in time we are hoping to upgrade the whole hotel to a 4 star standard. Again we thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at Hotel Twenty and hope to see you again .It was a pleasure having you stay at Hotel Twenty.

Regards

John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very helpful staff, they went out of their way to help me with maps/trains/buses and getting around the city.
Really clean facilities, great TV, great WIFI, comfortable beds.
Excellent restaurant on site.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view - very pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyandTitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We take all guests comments in to consideration. We try and pride ourselves with great service and in time we are hoping to upgrade the whole hotel to a 4 star standard. Again we thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at Hotel Twenty and hope to see you again .It was a pleasure having you stay at Hotel Twenty.

Regards

John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester,
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

As a young woman travelling on my own to a new place, I have found the reception very welcoming. Lots of information and advise on how to get around the city.
Food smells amazing and Eddie was lovely and really helpful with places to see and what buses to catch etc.
I would recommend Hotel Twenty to anyone. I'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Htrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We take all guests comments in to consideration. We try and pride ourselves with great service and in time we are hoping to upgrade the whole hotel to a 4 star standard. Again we thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at Hotel Twenty and hope to see you again .It was a pleasure having you stay at Hotel Twenty.

Regards

John Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#143 of 149 in Edinburgh
399 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#128 of 149 in Edinburgh
270 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#79 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#139 of 149 in Edinburgh
263 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#88 of 149 in Edinburgh
826 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Halcyon Hotel
Halcyon Hotel
#127 of 149 in Edinburgh
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Twenty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Twenty

Property: Hotel Twenty
Address: 20 Leopold Place | London Road, Edinburgh EH7 5LB, Scotland (Formerly Richmond House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Twenty 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Twenty is situated in the heart of Edinburgh. We strive on giving a good customer service at the best possible prices. Hotel Twenty is within walking distance of Edinburgh Waverly Train station and all its shops, pubs and clubs. We have only recently taken over the Hotel and have already done a lot of cosmetic work to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Twenty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Twenty Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing