We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice suprise in edinbourgh central”
Review of Hotel Twenty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Twenty
Ranked #148 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 27 October 2013

a cheap priced hotel that is well worth the money in central edinbourgh?i scoured the internet and could not find one till i tried hotel 20.it was cheap and at a good price for central edinbourgh even included a breakfast(continental) and staff were so friendly and helpful and full of good advice for everyone. the decor and facilities are more worthy of the 4 stars they are aiming for and deserve as i have never stayed in such a lovely room before at these priceswith one of the most comfortable hotel beds i have ever had and the quality of furnishings and decor this has left left me determined to come back next time i am in edinbourgh and i will certainly tell everyone going to edinbourgh to check them out.

Room Tip: any special requests are met if possible from the team at hotel 20 and i was even advised on my pers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We take all guests comments in to consideration. We try and pride ourselves with great service and in time we are hoping to upgrade the whole hotel to a 4 star standard. Again we thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at Hotel Twenty and hope to see you again .It was a pleasure having you stay at Hotel Twenty.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed here a night before a week long tour of scotland and two nights post tour with my boyfriend and mum- both times we had the same room.. "Featuring views of the back garden" - please note this is actually a room at the front of the buliding only a few metres from a busy road, however on the otherside of the road is a park, so i guess not complete false advertising. This would have been absolutely fine (im usually a good sleeper) except the window dont close tightly and there is a constant breeze and noise entering the room. The venitian blinds dont close completely and curtains are not block out so light filters through very easily. The modern bedding is nice but the springs of the bed could be felt and the pillows (even after havin extra due to a spare bed) were quite uncomfortable. Also the bedheads on two of the beds were tipping like they werent screwed on properly. I appreciate bathroom wasnt updated yet - it was still quite functional and large but the toilet didnt flush properly 100% of the time. The breakfast is very basic but fine (i dont eat cooked english breakfasts though). The heating isnt set come on until 8pm for a few hours and doesnt come on in the morning which we found a little uncomfortable as it was quite cold. Also we were completely lost when we first arrived as there is no sign to the reception which is down stairs! I have been travelling for 6 months around the world and to be blunt i have stayed in cheaper/better quality hostels, but im sure these things will all improve when renos are complete :) Dont get me wrong there are definitely a few positives - LOVED having a bar fridge in the room (this is so rare!) the location was central, staff were very helpful plus it is pretty well priced for £90 a night for 3 adults. The thai restuarant down stairs was fantastic aswell and provided us with room service for no extra charge!

Room Tip: If youre a light sleep dont choose a room with "back garden views"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelWos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. We take all guests comments in to consideration. We try and pride ourselves with great service and in time we are hoping to upgrade the whole hotel to a 4 star standard. Again we thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at Hotel Twenty .It was a pleasure having you stay at Hotel Twenty.

Regards

John Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We just returned home after a short break at the hotel twenty. It's an absolute bargain for a central Edinburgh hotel. It is a 10 minute walk from Waverly Station and a 5 minute walk to the Playhouse, a very central hotel for a tourist in Edinburgh. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was continental and adequate. The staff are all friendly and John certainly goes out of his way to make you feel very welcome. Will certainly stay there again when in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We take all guests comments in to consideration. We try and pride ourselves with great service and in time we are hoping to upgrade the whole hotel to a 4 star standard. Again we thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at Hotel Twenty and hope to see you again .It was a pleasure having you stay at Hotel Twenty.

Regards

John Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I gave Hotel 20 '5 out of 5' on the basis that it's an absolute bargain for a central Edinburgh hotel, the room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the staff were friendly. It's not a 5* hotel but it's charging hardly more than a Hostel, and yet the rooms themselves were of a very high standard. The staff were also friendly and accomodating. I would certainly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: I rated the Fitness Centre and Room Service as Excellent because the Hotel offers neither, but the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We take all guests comments in to consideration. We try and pride ourselves with great service and in time we are hoping to upgrade the whole hotel to a 4 star standard. Again we thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at Hotel Twenty and hope to see you again .It was a pleasure having you stay at Hotel Twenty.

Regards

John Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The customer service especially is top notch, John the manager was amazingly helpful when I had a booking issue with Laterooms. Can't think of anything negative to say. Will hopefully be staying up there again soon!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank budgie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We take all guests comments in to consideration. We try and pride ourselves with great service and in time we are hoping to upgrade the whole hotel to a 4 star standard. Again we thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at Hotel Twenty and hope to see you again .It was a pleasure having you stay at Hotel Twenty.

Regards

John Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a small (I think 12 rooms) hotel, and I arrived after midnight. I was let in, got my key and was in my room with minimum fuss and maximum courtesy and attention. My room was small, but big on decor, black, red and white, not your usual bland hotel room. Facing the front I expected traffic noise to be a problem, but it was not, and I was not bothered by noise from other hotel users. The bed, shower and room facilities were good. Breakfast was continental and adequate, served downstairs.
The biggest plus was the friendly staff, and the price, great value for money considering its location which is so handy for a tourist in Edinburgh.
The negatives: well, I'm a big woman and the single room was small, but acceptable. The stairs might be a problem for the elderly or disabled as both reception desk and breakfast room were downstairs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buchanlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We take all guests comments in to consideration. We try and pride ourselves with great service and in time we are hoping to upgrade the whole hotel to a 4 star standard. Again we thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at Hotel Twenty and hope to see you again .It was a pleasure having you stay at Hotel Twenty.

Regards

John Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel is definitely aged.... but don't let the appearance fool you. This hotel carry the great values of any 3/4 star hotel might got.

First, the room is very spacious

Second, the room is clean

Third, the bed is made very good, little soft, but not springy or making any squeeky sound, the sleep is very good as I really needed it after the 13 hour flights. To make their effort counts, they provide extra pillows for everyone in my family, which does help alot of my stiff neck.

Fourth, even though is aged, but their toilet is good enough and their shower is surprisingly 5 star quality, great volumeflow but gentle and excellent temperature control.

Fifth, the wifi is excellent !

To make this hotel look bad, well.. I got to say is the location, the walk from waverley station is about 15-20 minute, which is not "very near" quality for me because I am travelling with my family and baby.

However, for any who had booked this hotel , please do use the lothian bus, one day pass just for GBP 3.50 and hope on bus no 5 or 45, you just hop off the first station after they turn in the leopold place/london road. Its the first bus stop and almost right infront of their hotel. And you can get it on/off just under 3 minutes, plus the day pass you can use it to go almost any where you can think off for free on that day !

Little extra here i need to compliment, which is the hotel manager both, day and night, one of them call johnny if I remember clearly, makes our check in and stay and all other little thing so easy , great work and keep going the good effort , I wish them be the one of the edinburgh great stay in near future

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We take all guests comments in to consideration. We try and pride ourselves with great service and in time we are hoping to upgrade the whole hotel to a 4 star standard. Again we thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay at Hotel Twenty and hope to see you again .It was a pleasure having you stay at Hotel Twenty.

Regards

John Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Regent House Hotel
Regent House Hotel
#129 of 151 in Edinburgh
25 reviews
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#138 of 151 in Edinburgh
688 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#147 of 151 in Edinburgh
419 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#126 of 151 in Edinburgh
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Twenty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Twenty

Address: 20 Leopold Place | London Road, Edinburgh EH7 5LB, Scotland (Formerly Richmond House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £37 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Twenty 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Twenty is situated in the heart of Edinburgh. We strive on giving a good customer service at the best possible prices. Hotel Twenty is within walking distance of Edinburgh Waverly Train station, The Playhouse Theatre and all its shops, pubs and clubs. We have only recently taken over the Hotel and have already done a lot of cosmetic work to it. We now serve a cooked breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Twenty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Twenty Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing