We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Twenty
Nearby Hotels
US$375
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$334
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$305
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (570)
Filter reviews
570 results
Traveller rating
119
133
111
73
134
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
133
111
73
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hoteledinburgh playhousecontinental breakfasttea coffee facilitiescity centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 570 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here for one night for a works night out. A little strange to have to ring the bell and wait to be let in, but no problems. The reception guy could not have been more welcoming and friendly! My room was right opposite the reception desk and next to what I'm guessing was the kitchen/staff area, so a little noisy through the walls in the late evening. But the room was nicely decorated, a good size, clean and tidy with all I needed. Very comfy bed and pillows. Breakfast was continental, and a great selection. It was a very handy central location at a reasonable price, and I didn't have a problem parking near by either. Overall I'd highly recommend this place and would certainly come back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wedgiewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback . It means a lot to us as we are a small hotel and are also upgrading. We are hoping to complete the refurbishment in the near future and hopefully achieve a 4* rating once completed. Again it was a pleasure having you at Hotel Twenty and we look forward to seeing you again.

Regards

John Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Hotel was clean...room a little small ...but what do you want on a lads rugby weekend....I just used it as a base ...will be back when back in Edinburgh ...once refurb is complete it will be spot on ...


I will be using this place in future

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prow13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback . It means a lot to us as we are a small hotel and are also upgrading. We are hoping to complete the refurbishment in the near future and hopefully achieve a 4* rating once completed. Again it was a pleasure having you at Hotel Twenty and we look forward to seeing you again.

Regards

John Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

On arrival greeted by laundry bags all over the floor. Room damp patch and peeling paint. Minibar was black and grubby as was ensuite bath. Extractor dangerous with years of fluff and bit of toilet paper stuck in it! Wall light hanging off and mattress stored in bar I kid you not! Should be condemned and management are con men. They take money when folk refuse to stay in their dirty smelly hotel THEN re-let room to some other victim.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sugarplum_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback , i take all feedback positively. As you are aware we are updating the hotel as it was left in a terrible state from the previous owners. I am hoping to update another 3 rooms in this quiet period and have them completed by February. As this is a grade 1 listed building it takes time and patience with the planning permission as i would rather do things properly and to a good standard than rushed and half done. We strive on customer service and all reviews over the last year are very positive in this area. We are sorry that you did not choose to stay at Hotel Twenty . As the price reflects we are a budget hotel and not a 5 star in which you may be used to, I have taken the star ratings of until i have completed the refurbishment. The price we charged you was very fair especially for a hotel in the middle of Edinburgh , you will find it very difficult to find a double room and a family room for 2 nights including breakfast at a busy period in hospitality and at a weekend for £200 . The way you bullied my staff members was unacceptable in common respect and next time if you do decide to return i will put you in a new room and you can see the difference in standard and where we are looking to take the Hotel .

Regards

John Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed for one night in October when passing through. On the plus side, a very friendly welcome and helpful staff, low prices, and it's a fine old building, well placed for theatres and Waverley. The Thai food in the restaurant was also great. On the minus side, my single room was very cramped, smelt a bit stale, and the bathroom was also tiny and rather tired-looking, with nowhere to hang a towel. Breakfast was not very appetising (slightly soggy croissants) and it was odd to have it in the Thai restaurant. I know they are working on renovations, so maybe other rooms are better (and it was very cheap, so for the price it was OK).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkLoLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback . As you are aware we are updating the hotel as it was left in a terrible state from the previous owners. I am hoping to update another 3 rooms in this quiet period and have them completed by February. As this is a grade 1 listed building it takes time with the planning permission as i would rather do things properly and to a good standard than rushed and half done. Again thank you for staying and it was a pleasure having you stay at Hotel Twenty and next time you return i will put you in a new room and you can see the difference in standard and where we are looking to take the Hotel .

Regards
John Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed in the hotel for two nights we had booked the hotel for our visit to see the Lion King at the Playhouse location was excellent. But have to say the two Johns went that little bit extra to make our stay very pleasant they took the time to speak to us and advised the hotel was being upgraded also we were upgraded to a family room they provided everything we required for our stay. Hotel was spotless first time in the hotel but would be our first choice when we visit again.Would like to wish John and his staff every success in the future which i am sure they will have once again we have to thank you.John & Anne Mcgougan

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annemcgougan757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K, Manager at Hotel Twenty, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear John and Anne,

Thank you very much for your feedback it really means a lot to us here at Hotel Twenty . It was a pleasure having you at the hotel and you are more than welcome back any time . As you are aware we are upgrading and hopefully it will be to a 4* standard when completed . Again it was a pleasure having you .

Regards

John kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews