We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved my stay at Sonas”
Review of Sonas Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonas Guest House
Ranked #34 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed four nights at Sonas B&B and I am pleased to say that this place is extraordinary.
The host, Christy, is lovely, with an amazing smile and I think she was very pleased to host me.
The room was very clean, very good bed and bathroom. The place was quiet and very cosy. Breakfast was served in a very nice room, with soft and entertaining music. The only very very little problem I had was the lack of table in my room, which would have been very useful to work. However, Christy let me use the very large and big table in the breakfast room to work (which was even better). She even offered me a coffee. I definitely recommend this place. I will return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcodelbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

We were greeted by a lovely young women called Christina, what an assset she is - friendly, informative and seemed genuinly pleased to see us.

The room was at the top of the house and was lovely, clean and modern. The bathroom was sparking clean we could not fault it.

Breakfast is served in a very pretty room, with a good choice - my french toast with crispy bacon and mushrooms hit the spot and set me up for the day .

The owners are friendly, relaxed and again seem genuinly happy to be looking after you.

Our only regret was that we were only here for one night, if we had known how good it was going to be we would have made a weekend of it.

There is parking to the front and rear of the guest house and frequent buses run into town from just around the corner.

This guest house is on our "we will be back list"

Loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank out4theday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

we stayed in the b&b for one night, but the attention we received is something 5-star hotels should learn. as soon as we walked in we were given hints and advice on where to go and what to do and how to get there, including bus directions, etc. breakfast, though only served from 8 to 9, was delicious and server per person. highly recommended if you're looking for a no-frills stay

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drsoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed at Sonas B&B in October. Irene greeted us with a smile and helped with the luggage and with the car parking. Our room was on the first floor at the back. The room is spacious, the large bathroom was clean and with a nice bath tube. Breakfast is served on the ground floor in a very pretty room., with a wide variety of food.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaTramujas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Sonas was a cozy, comfy and affordable B&B when we stayed in Edinburgh. Our hosts were very attentive to our needs and were knowledgable about the attractions and best ways to get around the city. A full breakfast was included every morning with coffee, teas and juices. Our room was clean with Wi-Fi and cable TV. Overall an A rating

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaleBuffalo_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Wonderful staff and very nice accommodations! Breakfast every morning was a real treat too! Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This B&B was in a great location, 10 minute walk from city centre & on bus line. The breakfast was delicious, a car park in the rear and very friendly staff. The price was very reasonable too.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dene Guest House
#20 of 394 in Edinburgh
362 reviews
Ard-na-said
#13 of 394 in Edinburgh
382 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Broughton Hotel
The Broughton Hotel
#17 of 394 in Edinburgh
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
94DR
#5 of 394 in Edinburgh
571 reviews
Alba House
#40 of 394 in Edinburgh
179 reviews
West End
The Lairg
The Lairg
#66 of 394 in Edinburgh
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonas Guest House

Address: 3 East Mayfield, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £57 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonas Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the south side of the city we are ideally located for visiting Edinburgh's main attractions. All rooms are en-suite,recently refurbished and offer comfortable beds, TV with radio channels; tea & coffee facilities and hairdryer. We provide a freshly cooked breakfast and offer private off street parking and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Sonas Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonas Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing