We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonas Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sonas Guest House
Ranked #19 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place, wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I recently took a trip to Scotland, and as part of my trip I stayed in Edinburgh, at Sonas for 3 nights. I booked at Sonas because of the great reviews on TripAdvisor, and the people were totally right. The house was really easy to find, with a great location within walking distance to Edinburgh's main attractions. My room was really nicely done up with all the amenities, and most importantly to me, the service was really outstanding. Christina is a genuinely nice person, and provided lots of helpful tips and advice on Edinburgh's many attractions, as well as nearby restaurants and pubs. Her friendly nature totally made her guests feel comfortable and at home while visiting Edinburgh. The breakfasts were really fantastic, with plentiful amounts of food, and beverages. I never went hungry, that is for sure.

I would recommend to anybody considering a trip to Edinburgh, to stay at Sonas because it was a really great place to stay, great location, with truly wonderful service. Definitely one of the highlights of my trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    57
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
121
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed four nights at Sonas B&B and I am pleased to say that this place is extraordinary.
The host, Christy, is lovely, with an amazing smile and I think she was very pleased to host me.
The room was very clean, very good bed and bathroom. The place was quiet and very cosy. Breakfast was served in a very nice room, with soft and entertaining music. The only very very little problem I had was the lack of table in my room, which would have been very useful to work. However, Christy let me use the very large and big table in the breakfast room to work (which was even better). She even offered me a coffee. I definitely recommend this place. I will return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcodelbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pethshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We were greeted by a lovely young women called Christina, what an assset she is - friendly, informative and seemed genuinly pleased to see us.

The room was at the top of the house and was lovely, clean and modern. The bathroom was sparking clean we could not fault it.

Breakfast is served in a very pretty room, with a good choice - my french toast with crispy bacon and mushrooms hit the spot and set me up for the day .

The owners are friendly, relaxed and again seem genuinly happy to be looking after you.

Our only regret was that we were only here for one night, if we had known how good it was going to be we would have made a weekend of it.

There is parking to the front and rear of the guest house and frequent buses run into town from just around the corner.

This guest house is on our "we will be back list"

Loved it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank out4theday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

we stayed in the b&b for one night, but the attention we received is something 5-star hotels should learn. as soon as we walked in we were given hints and advice on where to go and what to do and how to get there, including bus directions, etc. breakfast, though only served from 8 to 9, was delicious and server per person. highly recommended if you're looking for a no-frills stay

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drsoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed at Sonas B&B in October. Irene greeted us with a smile and helped with the luggage and with the car parking. Our room was on the first floor at the back. The room is spacious, the large bathroom was clean and with a nice bath tube. Breakfast is served on the ground floor in a very pretty room., with a wide variety of food.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaTramujas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Sonas was a cozy, comfy and affordable B&B when we stayed in Edinburgh. Our hosts were very attentive to our needs and were knowledgable about the attractions and best ways to get around the city. A full breakfast was included every morning with coffee, teas and juices. Our room was clean with Wi-Fi and cable TV. Overall an A rating

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaleBuffalo_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Wonderful staff and very nice accommodations! Breakfast every morning was a real treat too! Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dene Guest House
#20 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Kingsway Guest House
#13 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
94DR
#9 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
23 Mayfield
#1 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonas Guest House

Property: Sonas Guest House
Address: 3 East Mayfield, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonas Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the south side of the city we are ideally located for visiting Edinburgh's main attractions. All rooms are en-suite,recently refurbished and offer comfortable beds with memory foam mattresses, TV/DVD players with built in radio channnels, tea, coffee facilities and hairdryer. We provide a freshly cooked Scottish breakfast and offer private off street parking and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sonas Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonas Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing