We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint, Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonas Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonas Guest House
Ranked #16 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Quaint, Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We were welcomed with friendly smiles and given useful information for places to eat, transportation and things to do. The breakfast was wonderful and our room was lovely.
If we ever make it back to Edinburgh we would stay with them again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmongowood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    57
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
120
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Brilliant service, room was lovely, the breakfast was great and everyone was very friendly and welcoming. We would definitely recommend thisB&B to a friend and would stay there again if in Edinburgh! They also recommended local places to eat which the one we went to was lovely and there was off road parking included.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mousie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at Sonas B&B for a child free weekend get away. It was perfect. Upon our arrival we were immediately greeted by Christine and shown around. Our room was perfect, clean and just what we were looking for. Christine was very helpful with directions and offered lots of recommendations for things to do and places to eat around town. It's about a 20 min walk to the heart of the city, or a easy 5 min bus ride. The bus system is very easy reliable. We had a very early flight on Sunday morning and needed to leave at 5am to catch our flight. Christine packed a perfect breakfast to go and ensured our taxi was there to pick us up. Over all a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We spent three nights at Sonas at the beginning of June. On arrival we were met by Dennis who showed us to our ground floor room and provided us with a very useful map of the local area and bus information. The bus stop is just around the corner and the neighbourhood is nice and quiet.

The twin room had all that we needed. Everything was spotlessly clean. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom a good size (shower only) and well stocked with toiletries, a notice on the wall gave details for the Wi-Fi connection. Everything was carefully thought out and well organised.

The full Scottish breakfast was a treat, freshly cooked to order and delicious.

Irene was on hand during breakfast and could not have been more helpful, even lending us her mobile phone when the pay phone kept dropping out!

We were interested to see an old newspaper clipping listing Sonas as one of the top ten B&Bs in Scotland. It still deserves that rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swords, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

I have stayed there for only one night but it was more than i was looking for. Only 20 mins walk from the city centre. Great bus services to town who wouldnt fancy to walk. The guest house was very clean, the host Christina was lovely and very helpfull. would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egidija13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton on Ouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

I stayed over the Easter weekend with my daughter, this was our eleventh year staying at this guest house so it is like coming home to us. As with every other time we recieved a warm welcome from Irene, Denis and Christine. We had a very nice comfortable and spotlessly clean room which made our stay in lovely Edinburgh even better. Breakfast was excellent and filling which set us up for the day. We cannot recommend this guest house highly enough you have to stay there to fully appreciate it. It is a short distance from the centre of Edinburgh but it is on a very good bus route or if you are feeling up to it a nice walk. We look forward to continuing with our yearly visits.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

This is a three star B & B situated approx 1.5 miles from Edinburgh City Centre. We stayed in room 7 which was of a reasonable size, nicely decorated and clean. We had a good breakfast served both mornings in a bright, nicely decorated dining room. The bathroom was clean and modern with not one spot of mould. There is private parking and buses run regularly into the city centre from the end of the street. If you wish to walk into the city it would take approximately 30 minutes. We were greeted by Kristina who was friendly and willing to go out of her way to be helpful. I have no complaints at all and would not hestitate to recommend this B & B to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicity56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dene Guest House
#20 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Kingsway Guest House
#13 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
94DR
#9 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
23 Mayfield
#1 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonas Guest House

Property: Sonas Guest House
Address: 3 East Mayfield, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonas Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the south side of the city we are ideally located for visiting Edinburgh's main attractions. All rooms are en-suite,recently refurbished and offer comfortable beds with memory foam mattresses, TV/DVD players with built in radio channnels, tea, coffee facilities and hairdryer. We provide a freshly cooked Scottish breakfast and offer private off street parking and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Sonas Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonas Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing