We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Great First Impression In Edinburgh ~”
Review of Sonas Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonas Guest House
Ranked #19 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Great First Impression In Edinburgh ~”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Friendly and thoughtful service. As a foreign traveler, I was so pleased that the hostess was Initiative and patiently smiling to provide the tour advice and local information about traffic and restaurant, and help lift luggage ( we're young, so we can do it ourselves. But, still thanks to the enthusiasm of hostess~), especially after an exhausting day!

The only blemish in all otherwise perfect things is that there is too many and long staircase to lift luggage up and down the stairs. We saw some elders laborious to lift their luggage downstairs. Too steep and inconvenient stairs are a danger to them!

We lived at Room No.7 on the top floor, beside the spiral staircase. The double bed was seated under the low and oblique ceiling, so the room appeared sort of small. Therefore, the one sleeping near the window must watch out for the low and oblique ceiling when you get up from the bed. Otherwise, he/she may often hit his/her head against the ceiling.

The heat is only provided until PM11:00. The bathroom is clean, and the soap, shampoo, shower gel, and dryer are all provided. It’s a neat and cozy room with the plugged kettle. The breakfast was rich, accompanied by soft and elegant classical music. Further, the hostess ordered and delivered the meals for all the guests with always happy smiling, cheerful tones and humming! It’s wonderful~ She’s amazing! Because she made the breakfast atmosphere joyful and lively~!!

親切週到的服務。身為異鄉遊客,對於旅店女主人始終保持微笑,主動耐心地提供旅遊諮詢及當地交通與餐廳資訊,感到很欣慰。尤其在一天的筋疲力盡之後,旅店女主人還願意主動協助提行李 (我們年輕人可自己提行李,但仍感激旅店主人的熱心幫忙~) !
美中不足的是,又長又多的樓梯,實在不便提行李上下樓。我們當時有見到一些老人家吃力地抬行李下樓。那些階梯對老人來說,的確太陡,十分不便。感覺險象環生!
我們住最頂層,樓梯旁的七號房。雙人床擺在山形屋頂低斜的天花板下,顯得房間有點小。因此從床上起身時得當心,靠窗睡的那個位置一起身,頭常容易撞到斜天花板。
暖氣只供應到晚上十一點。浴室乾淨,附香皂洗髮沐浴精及吹風機。房間整潔舒適,插電燒水壺底感覺有水垢,需要自行清理。早餐豐盛,還伴隨輕柔優雅的古典樂,連點餐及送餐時女主人還一路用開心愉悅的微笑和語氣哼歌!太棒了~ 她真讚!因為她營造出令人感到歡愉充滿朝氣的早餐氣氛~!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moon531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    58
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
121
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We normally stay nearby but as the Hotel was full found ourselves staying at Sonas whilst in Edinburgh for a football match.
What a pleasant surprise!
Free Parking out the back and easy access to the City centre with buses every few minutes or a 20 minute walk.
The room was large and airy and the bed extremely comfortable.
The breakfast was excellent.
Most importantly of all, our hostess was wonderful and couldn't do enough for us and the other guests. Worryingly, she shared my sense of humour..
The guests were an International lot with Italians, French and German visitors as well as an alluring and mysterious Scottish lady but all were made most welcome.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trefor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Lovely guest house in quiet street easily accessible to city centre. Very Clean and lovely house. Friendly welcome from Irene and Dennis. Highly recommend. Buses very regular and only about 10 minutes to Princes Street. Rooms very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaR44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The customer service at this B&B really is impressive and the staff are super and go that extra mile for you. The room we had was huge (although I think we were given the family room), clean and comfortable. Plenty of private off road parking was a bonus, free wifi available and Breakfast was sumptuous. It is only a short walk away from the centre or a cheap taxi/bus ride away. We stayed here at the beginning of our short holiday tour around Scotland and this was definitely hands down the best of all the places we stayed at and really set the standard. My only slightly negative comment was the shower wasn't particularly powerful but everything else was 100% spot on.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We were welcomed with friendly smiles and given useful information for places to eat, transportation and things to do. The breakfast was wonderful and our room was lovely.
If we ever make it back to Edinburgh we would stay with them again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmongowood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Brilliant service, room was lovely, the breakfast was great and everyone was very friendly and welcoming. We would definitely recommend thisB&B to a friend and would stay there again if in Edinburgh! They also recommended local places to eat which the one we went to was lovely and there was off road parking included.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mousie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at Sonas B&B for a child free weekend get away. It was perfect. Upon our arrival we were immediately greeted by Christine and shown around. Our room was perfect, clean and just what we were looking for. Christine was very helpful with directions and offered lots of recommendations for things to do and places to eat around town. It's about a 20 min walk to the heart of the city, or a easy 5 min bus ride. The bus system is very easy reliable. We had a very early flight on Sunday morning and needed to leave at 5am to catch our flight. Christine packed a perfect breakfast to go and ensured our taxi was there to pick us up. Over all a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dene Guest House
#20 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Kingsway Guest House
#13 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
94DR
#9 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
23 Mayfield
#2 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonas Guest House

Property: Sonas Guest House
Address: 3 East Mayfield, Edinburgh EH9 1SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonas Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the south side of the city we are ideally located for visiting Edinburgh's main attractions. All rooms are en-suite,recently refurbished and offer comfortable beds with memory foam mattresses, TV/DVD players with built in radio channnels, tea, coffee facilities and hairdryer. We provide a freshly cooked Scottish breakfast and offer private off street parking and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Sonas Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonas Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing