We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
197
64
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
64
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre private parking bus stop full scottish breakfast nice guesthouse breakfast was delicious off street parking b bs no elevator min walk comfortable rooms free wifi double room quiet location comfortable stay porridge a great stay
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2018

We had a car and didn't want to deal with driving and parking in city center. Sonas guest house has free private off-street parking in back, which was great. Walking distance to city center (20-30min.) or an easy bus ride. We took the bus into center and walked back. Bus stop is very close to guest house....about a block away. We ended up walking most of the way back because it was Sunday evening and buses weren't running as frequently. 1.70/ride or 4.00/day pass for bus. No change is given on bus, so try to have exact amount. Good wifi. We stayed in room #8 which had 2 twin beds. The bathroom is small (especially the sink), but functional. No wash clothes. Included was a good cooked breakfast and self serve items. Vegan options available. Staff is friendly.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BiggerPassportPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Overall a good stay.

1. Two bus stops away from city centre
2. Easy to find the location
3. Extremely helpful staff
4. No air condition- we traveled in july and some days it was really uncomfortable.
5. No elevator.
6. Free parking - which was extremely useful
7. High on cleanliness- rooms were cleaned everyday
8. Breakfast was same everyday. No chicken, but if u eat ham then u will like eat.

We liked the stay. The second bed was useful but made the room cramped up for space.
Overall a nice stay.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Abhishekadvisestrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

This guest house was very comfortable, the room a good size but somewhat cramped with an extra single bed in it, but the bathroom also a good size, ours had a tub in it. The breakfast VERY good, typical hot Scottish breakfast. The owner very friendly and chatty, and even gave me a few extra cents when I was short for the busfare back to the airport and got rid of all my GBP

Room tip: There are more restaurants nearby, in the next street, than what the owner tells you about
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Annemarie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely one night stay, good location with either a walk, or a short bus journey to the main sights of Edinburgh. Warm and friendly hosts.
Room was clean and comfortable. Agree with a previous review, in time some aspects would benefit from some updating. Breakfast was lovely, good start to the day! Thank you Sonas Guest House

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Girl-Meets-Worlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Great little guest house with super friendly and helpful owner and workers. I really liked the location. The breakfast was delicious and the rooms were clean and comfortable. This is located in a quiet neighborhood within walking distance to several decent eating establishments.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 792SteveS792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews