We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abercorn Guest House
Ranked #24 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A beautiful and comfortable place to stay in the wonderful city of Edinburgh, close enough to the city for easy access by public transport but also far enough away to be very quiet at night. It’s also only a 1 minute walk to the beach which was a nice bonus. My partner and I recently stayed here to celebrate our engagement, Angela certainly went the extra mile to help us feel special and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Excellent local knowledge of place to eat and drink as well which was much appreciated. We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Old_Lucy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Fantastic hospitality and a really nice welcome with a pot of tea on arrival. Angela and Willie are great hosts.This is a beautifully appointed stylish house with lovely rooms and great breakfast. Easy access to the city centre by bus or cab and I certainly wouldn't stay anywhere else on future visits to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeS186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here for a one night break with 2 friends. Angela was really friendly and made us all feel at home. The house has a character and style which can never be matched by a chain hotel. The location is ideal. It is close enough to Edinburgh and just a short walk from the beach. Excellent breakfast with a wide range of choices. The only thing wrong with this stay was that it wasn't 2 nights. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indalo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Beautiful, stylish , well appointed room, full of original fittings and fixtures, perfect point to explore the city with the beach only a 5 min stroll from the door.
Wonderful, warm and knowledgable hosts, always available to answer questions or advice on accessing the city and amenities , nothing was ever too much trouble.
A perfect vantage point for exploring the city, docks and surrounding areas
Breakfasts to die for, after consuming you'll be set for the forthcoming day or night , as was my case!
Looking for somewhere to stay in Edinburgh? Do yourself a favour and look no further than the Abercorn in Portobello, you would really be missing out on something quite remarkable and special.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

With work we stay in many guest houses all over Scotland, week in week out and have done for many years! This is by far the best! The welcome, cleanliness, service, decor, and location are all exceptional. This just leaves the breakfast which in every other guesthouse ranges from poor to distinctly avrage! Not here! The food was perfect from the coffee to the poached eggs. I would recommend the establishment to anyone and will definitely be returning here myself on my next trip to Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights in January for a short city break in Edinburgh. We chose to stay here because of the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor, and we weren't disappointed. Angela was a friendly and welcoming host, who made us feel at home. She had great knowledge of the city and was always happy to give advice. The room was warm and beautifully decorated, with a very comfy bed. The breakfast was fantastic, with a choice of continental and full English. Free wifi was also a bonus.

Our only reservation before arriving here was the location. However, Portobello is a lovely seaside town, with a nice beach and quite a few good restaurants and cafes. The bus service into the city takes 20mins, with frequent buses 24/7 and a day pass costing only £3.50.

Overall we had a wonderful stay here and would like to thank Angela and her family for their hospitality. We would whole-heartedly recommend Abercorn Guest House to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannymags1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

I booked Abercorn Guest House after a recommendation from a friend who lives in Portobello ( no bettter recommendation than from a local) and we were heading there for a friends 40th celebrations. What can I say that hasn't already been said by previous guests? Nothing, the room was beautiful, stylish and comfortable and the welcome amazing. Its like staying with a friend who makes you feel at home.

We got the bus out from Edinburgh, which was easy. We just asked the driver where about we should get off which was at the park and no problem.

Room lovely, bed was so comfy, the type of bed that you wish check out was midday. Breakfast was fab and much needed after a few drinks the night before at Esby bar. Hospitality at its best. I would definitely book again and recommend Abercorn Guest House.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Coralie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#11 of 394 in Edinburgh
504 reviews
Dene Guest House
#20 of 394 in Edinburgh
362 reviews
94DR
#5 of 394 in Edinburgh
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 394 in Edinburgh
536 reviews
Sonas Guest House
#34 of 394 in Edinburgh
246 reviews
Lauderville Guest House
#23 of 394 in Edinburgh
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abercorn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercorn Guest House

Address: 1 Abercorn Terrace | Joppa Portobello Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH15 2DD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £62 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abercorn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abercorn is a large Victorian family property, an Old Manse built in 1870. This luxurious four-star GOLD accommodation has recently been refurbished and offers double ,twin and family rooms for up to 5 persons. Easy access to city center every 10 minutes and the buses are 24 hours a day and close to sandy beach, shops and restaurants. A very warm welcome awaits, so why not book today and have a superb stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abercorn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abercorn Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Abercorn Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing