We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“thank you” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abercorn Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Abercorn Guest House
Ranked #33 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zabbar, Malta
Level Contributor
1 review
“thank you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Fantastic place to stay you feel at home Angela is every nice person . The beach of Portobello and the resturants are few minutes walking away .The city center is 20 minutes by bus .hope to see again thank you charly and Antoinette from MALTA

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charly248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    42
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
88
239
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

A beautiful and comfortable place to stay in the wonderful city of Edinburgh, close enough to the city for easy access by public transport but also far enough away to be very quiet at night. It’s also only a 1 minute walk to the beach which was a nice bonus. My partner and I recently stayed here to celebrate our engagement, Angela certainly went the extra mile to help us feel special and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Excellent local knowledge of place to eat and drink as well which was much appreciated. We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Old_Lucy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Fantastic hospitality and a really nice welcome with a pot of tea on arrival. Angela and Willie are great hosts.This is a beautifully appointed stylish house with lovely rooms and great breakfast. Easy access to the city centre by bus or cab and I certainly wouldn't stay anywhere else on future visits to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeS186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here for a one night break with 2 friends. Angela was really friendly and made us all feel at home. The house has a character and style which can never be matched by a chain hotel. The location is ideal. It is close enough to Edinburgh and just a short walk from the beach. Excellent breakfast with a wide range of choices. The only thing wrong with this stay was that it wasn't 2 nights. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indalo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Beautiful, stylish , well appointed room, full of original fittings and fixtures, perfect point to explore the city with the beach only a 5 min stroll from the door.
Wonderful, warm and knowledgable hosts, always available to answer questions or advice on accessing the city and amenities , nothing was ever too much trouble.
A perfect vantage point for exploring the city, docks and surrounding areas
Breakfasts to die for, after consuming you'll be set for the forthcoming day or night , as was my case!
Looking for somewhere to stay in Edinburgh? Do yourself a favour and look no further than the Abercorn in Portobello, you would really be missing out on something quite remarkable and special.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jason280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

With work we stay in many guest houses all over Scotland, week in week out and have done for many years! This is by far the best! The welcome, cleanliness, service, decor, and location are all exceptional. This just leaves the breakfast which in every other guesthouse ranges from poor to distinctly avrage! Not here! The food was perfect from the coffee to the poached eggs. I would recommend the establishment to anyone and will definitely be returning here myself on my next trip to Edinburgh!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights in January for a short city break in Edinburgh. We chose to stay here because of the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor, and we weren't disappointed. Angela was a friendly and welcoming host, who made us feel at home. She had great knowledge of the city and was always happy to give advice. The room was warm and beautifully decorated, with a very comfy bed. The breakfast was fantastic, with a choice of continental and full English. Free wifi was also a bonus.

Our only reservation before arriving here was the location. However, Portobello is a lovely seaside town, with a nice beach and quite a few good restaurants and cafes. The bus service into the city takes 20mins, with frequent buses 24/7 and a day pass costing only £3.50.

Overall we had a wonderful stay here and would like to thank Angela and her family for their hospitality. We would whole-heartedly recommend Abercorn Guest House to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dannymags1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Sandaig Guest House
#41 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Fraoch House
#8 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheridan Guest House
#22 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Bield B&B
#57 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abercorn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercorn Guest House

Property: Abercorn Guest House
Address: 1 Abercorn Terrace | Joppa Portobello Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH15 2DD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Abercorn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abercorn is a large Victorian family property, an Old Manse built in 1870. This luxurious four-star GOLD accommodation has recently been refurbished and offers double ,twin and family rooms for up to 5 persons. Easy access to city center every 10 minutes and the buses are 24 hours a day and close to sandy beach, shops and restaurants. A very warm welcome awaits, so why not book today and have a superb stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Abercorn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abercorn Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Abercorn Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing