We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B I've stayed at in my 10 trips to the UK. Absolutely excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abercorn Guest House
Ranked #24 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2006

My wife and stayed at the Abercorn for six days in
mid-February 2006.

We selected the Abercorn because we wanted to stay in a B&B a bit further out from the city center.

Our stay exceeded all of our expectations. Angela and her husband were outstanding hosts.

We arrived in Edinburgh mid-morning jet-lagged from our 4,000-mile flight. The room we were going to be staying in wasn't ready yet (it was 11 a.m.), but Angela kindly offered to have the cleaning staff clean this room first so we could get a couple of hours rest. This was the first in many nice touches throughout our stay.

The location of the Abercorn is excellent. We had a 1-minute walk to catch the #26 bus, which runs through the heart of the city. We were able to get to the city center in about 15 minutes.

The room was beautifully decorated, very large, and very quiet. I'm a light sleeper and usually hear some noise while I travel that wakes me up, and this never happened at the Abercorn.

The breakfast was excellent and offered great variety. We never left the dining room hungry!

Angela and her husband gave excellent advice regarding dining recommendations, things to see and do and were excellent hosts.

We will definitely stay at the Abercorn when we visit Edinburgh again.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BritishMusicFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 484 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Irthlingborough, Northants
15
Reviewed 1 April 2006

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sheffield,South Yorkshire,United Kingdom,Europe
13
Reviewed 16 March 2006

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Knaresborough, North Yorkshire
13
Reviewed 27 February 2006

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Australia
14
Reviewed 19 February 2006

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HANGLESEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauraManchester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#11 of 394 in Edinburgh
504 reviews
Dene Guest House
#21 of 394 in Edinburgh
361 reviews
94DR
#5 of 394 in Edinburgh
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 394 in Edinburgh
535 reviews
Sonas Guest House
#33 of 394 in Edinburgh
246 reviews
Lauderville Guest House
#25 of 394 in Edinburgh
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abercorn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abercorn Guest House

Address: 1 Abercorn Terrace | Joppa Portobello Edinburgh, Edinburgh EH15 2DD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £62 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abercorn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abercorn is a large Victorian family property, an Old Manse built in 1870. This luxurious four-star GOLD accommodation has recently been refurbished and offers double ,twin and family rooms for up to 5 persons. Easy access to city center every 10 minutes and the buses are 24 hours a day and close to sandy beach, shops and restaurants. A very warm welcome awaits, so why not book today and have a superb stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abercorn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abercorn Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Abercorn Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing