We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claymore Vegetarian Guest House
Ranked #95 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Thank you so much for the lovely welcome and hospitality, Cathy - and the sustaining breakfast, John! My room was quiet, comfortable, and homely. Claymore is a splendid base from which to explore both the city centre and the wider area. Great value and so convenient, with parking and public transport at the door. I look forward to having an excuse to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank learnernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 July 2011

Thank you Learnernz, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. We really appreciate you taking the time to review us ;-)

Warmly
Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Claymore Vegetarian Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2011

Granted, you can get a Vegetarian breakfast almost everywhere- but I don't know another place where the owners get up at 5:45, in time to make you coffee (with a choice of soy milk, if preferred) and cereals, on a Sunday, because you want to run a marathon. My only regret is that I couldn't sample their full breakfast menu before running - I'll have to come back for that another time.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Querfeldein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We stayed here on a trip up to botanic gardens. None of us are veggie but we were recommended the place and for ease decided to try it rather than search out another place that did meaty breakfasts. We had a great trip and the Claymore made the perfect base. Great rooms, good location, lovely host and fantastic breakfast. Didn't miss the swine one bit!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomMatthews79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

I had a wonderful, relaxing time in this B&B. Everything about the stay was lovely and I would recommend it to anyone wanting an inexpensive B&B for a trip to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flar41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

When we arrived at Claymore we were greeted by Cathy (owner) who could not have been more welcoming. We felt relaxed from the minute we walked in and Cathy could not have been more helpful. We loved our room which was comfy, spacious and inviting. We stayed from 29th Nov ' 10 to 3rd Dec'10 during the heavy snow and Cathy offered to call the station to check our train would be running (I did not even have to ask her). Breakfast was superb, my daughter and myself enjoying a cooked breakast of Tatty scone, mushrooms, beans, Haloumi cheese, a real vege feast. Cathy's house was filled with beautiful pictures and objects that spanned from Art Nouveau, Art Deco through to Victorian and beyond, absolutely beautiful. We enjoyed our stay so much that we are definitely returning next year and will be staying in the same room at the same B&B. We will also be staying in touch with Cathy who we now think of as a friend. I would highly recommend Claymore Guest House.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of November, as we were in Edinburgh for an event at the university and decided to make a long weekend of it.

We were initially attracted to this B&B because it is a vegetarian establishment, however looking back this is just one of the many things that make it a truly lovely place to stay.

We were welcomed after a long drive by Cathy, who is calm, kind and hospitable. We were shown to a spacious double room with ensuite shower room. The decor is really individual, with a HUGE bed, armchairs, a patchwork quilt and a wooden wardrobe and a dressing table/desk that would have come home with us if we had been able to smuggle it out in a suitcase! The bed was firm and comfy, there was plenty of additional bedding (if needed) and the room was WARM - so welcome after hitting the rainy streets of Edinburgh. The shower is electric so you can jump in at any time., though the extractor fan is pretty noisy so late night visits to the bathroom feel like you're going to wake the whole house... however that is testament to how quiet the area is - we slept undisturbed. There was a kettle, plenty of choice of different teas, coffee and hot chocolate. Cathy also provided us with a little jug of soya milk to take up to our room so that we could have a cuppa the way we like it.

Breakfast was fairly early for two layabouts like us, but very worth getting up for. There is plenty of choice, with some great choices on the pick'n'mix menu like halloumi and sweet onions as well as your standard eggs, mushrooms, beans etc. We were provided with soya milk on request, a seemingly bottomless teapot of good hot tea, and plenty of fruit, bread, cereal, cheeses, yogurts etc. If you have room after all that and really need your meat fix I expect you can get lots of cracking Scottish sausages at any number of caffs up the road.

We were able to park on the street right outside when we first arrived and each time we returned. It's a little way into the city centre on foot but it is a mostly interesting walk with shops to browse on the way. The bus stop is right outside the B&B though so if your feet are getting achey it couldn't be more convenient.

We had a special winter deal, as advertised on their website, which was 'stay two nights, get third night half price' - which made this about as cheap as some of the chain hotel/lodge type places, but this is SO much better value.

We will definitely stay here again, and would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone looking for a properly *nice* place to stay in this wonderful city.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizziethewitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

As vegans, we were looking for a vegan-friendly B&B and this wonderful guest house more than met our requirements! Cathy Meek is a kind and gracious hostess who went out of her way to make us feel at home. She was a pleasure to interact with. We didn't meet John McCafferty, but he made the best and most inspired breakfasts we had on our trip to the UK. Our vegan breakfasts included potato scones, polenta, mushroom fricassee, tomatoes, onions, and fresh berries. Yum! The rooms were tastefully decorated. There were fresh flowers on the tables. The guest house is situated at a bit of a walk from the sites people usually visit in Edinburgh, but there is a bus stop right in front of it, so it is easy to get around. Also, the street is quiet and we got a good night's sleep. In addition, Pilrig Park is right across the street. Inside this park is Pilrig House, which has many associations with Robert Louis Stevenson. It is a nice place to take a walk or go for a jog. This guest house is highly recommended! We look forward to returning to it!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Ardmor House
Ardmor House
#85 of 393 in Edinburgh
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Winter Cherry Bed & Breakfast
Winter Cherry Bed & Breakfast
#160 of 393 in Edinburgh
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garlands Guest House
Garlands Guest House
#73 of 393 in Edinburgh
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Antler Guest House
Antler Guest House
#49 of 393 in Edinburgh
66 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cluaran Guest House
Cluaran Guest House
#117 of 393 in Edinburgh
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Conifers Guest House
The Conifers Guest House
#165 of 393 in Edinburgh
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Vegetarian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Vegetarian Guest House

Address: 68 Pilrig St., Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 10-15 minute walk to Princes Street. We offer three things to our guests - enjoyable accommodation, warm and friendly atmosphere and good food and we do it with pleasure. Although our food is vegetarian and vegan, we have had many meat eating guests over the years and most of them have gone home happy! We welcome every kind of people and look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claymore Vegetarian Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing