We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect short break ! Wish we could have stayed longer!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claymore Vegetarian Guest House
Ranked #108 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
ROTHERHAM, SOUTH YORKSHIRE
2 reviews
“A perfect short break ! Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We found the Claymore online and booked a 2 night stay on the 10th and 11th of October. We loved it straight away! Cathy is so lovely and she went out of her way to make us feel welcome.The room (1) was clean and spacious and the very large bed was so comfortable after a full days walking! We loved the Faith in nature hand washes and shower gels that were provided. The breakfasts were AMAZING!! So much choice and top quality food. We didn't know what to have so tried a variety of things, Cathy was totally unfazed by our weird combinations! The breakfast kept us going all day and we did't get hungry until the evening! Cathy is also a mine of information about local buses; walks and places to go. Our top tip to other travellers would be to get a day saver bus ticket. These cost £3.20 and you can use them all over the city. We went to the Rosslyn chapel with ours and used it into town as well (the bus stop is just across the road from the guest house and you can get a bus to Leith from just outside). Thank you Cathy, we really loved Edinburgh and the Claymore and hope to return again one day. [---]

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHERYL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Claymore Vegetarian Guest House, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
Thank you Cheryl for your kind words ;-) We are really glad you enjoyed your time with us. While we have been careful to use animal friendly toiletries for some time now, we recently decided to 'upgrade', its really nice to know they were appreciated ;-)

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Warmly
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
45
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I had a great week, and we both enjoyed the hotel on that final night/ morning - a lovely place to stay, and great breakfasts!

Room Tip: As far as I could see, all of the rooms were beautifully decorated/ furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Claymore Vegetarian Guest House, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Thank you M C, we appreciate you taking the time to review us and are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Warmly
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inveraray, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Spent four nights. Peaceful atmosphere, good service and friendly. Catered for vegan diet with no fuss at all. Will visit again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becsbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Claymore Vegetarian Guest House, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Becsbri... thank you for taking the time to review us, we are happy you would return ;-)

Warmly
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The Claymore is a lovely vegetarian B&B with an old-fashioned atmosphere. Hospitality is in focus, with real care from the hosts and great attention to the small details, from a bounty of hot drinks to umbrellas or ear plugs (some rooms face the street and there is occasional traffic noise) - the small but important comforts and considerations.

Breakfast is generous, varied and high quality, with a choice of breads, spreads, cheeses, fresh fruit, cereals and a cooked option as well - eggs are a staple, and only the bacon and sausage are missing for carnivores, with halloumi and the usual beans/tomato/potatoes/tattie scone/mushrooms making up the sides.

Also old-fashioned is their cash only policy, and wifi coverage that is largely limited to the front breakfast room of the house, but dodgy wireless coverage is the case in much of Edinburgh, and the front room was always available for use.

Another plus is a local bus stop being directly outside the door, making the centre of town a very quick and easy trip away, handy if the famous rain is present. Princes Street is about a 15 minute walk, and the neighborhood is peaceful. A taxi ride from the Old Town is about £6, not including tip.

The rooms are large and furnished in style, with flatscreen TVs and satellite channels alongside vintage furniture and artwork. Not all rooms are ensuite.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xlondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Claymore Vegetarian Guest House, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Thank you xlondoner for your honest appraisal. We appreciate you taking the time to review us ;-)

Warmly
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We loved this B&B, the room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated and it was close to the city centre but still nice and quiet (squirrels in the garden too). The breakfast was amazing - what a choice, we had omelettes and they were lovely. Cathy is a darling and genuinly cares about her guests. We would definately recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Claymore Vegetarian Guest House, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Thank you much for your review The B ... I am blushing! Glad you enjoyed your stay and our squirrels too ;-)

Warmly
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We incidently booked into Claymore Vegetarian Guesthouse and were warmly welcomed by Cathy, who showed us our roomy room with large beds and en-suite bathroom.
Excellently located to discover Edinburgh, free parking on the road, a copious breakfast to start the day - and yes, it was very good despite being vegetarian (I might be converted one day if all meals could be as good as the breakfasts served at Claymore).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CedricVandermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Claymore Vegetarian Guest House, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review us CedricVandermeulen, we appreciate it ;-) We are delighted you enjoyed our breakfasts and survived the lack of bacon and sausage!

Warmly
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Thank you so much for the lovely welcome and hospitality, Cathy - and the sustaining breakfast, John! My room was quiet, comfortable, and homely. Claymore is a splendid base from which to explore both the city centre and the wider area. Great value and so convenient, with parking and public transport at the door. I look forward to having an excuse to come back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank learnernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Claymore Vegetarian Guest House, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Thank you Learnernz, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. We really appreciate you taking the time to review us ;-)

Warmly
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Ardmor House
Ardmor House
#80 of 392 in Edinburgh
217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Antler Guest House
Antler Guest House
#52 of 392 in Edinburgh
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Winter Cherry Bed & Breakfast
Winter Cherry Bed & Breakfast
#174 of 392 in Edinburgh
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Conifers Guest House
The Conifers Guest House
#167 of 392 in Edinburgh
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millers 64
Millers 64
#76 of 392 in Edinburgh
168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fraoch House
Fraoch House
#9 of 392 in Edinburgh
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Vegetarian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Vegetarian Guest House

Property: Claymore Vegetarian Guest House
Address: 68 Pilrig St., Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 10-15 minute walk to Princes Street. We offer three things to our guests - enjoyable accommodation, warm and friendly atmosphere and good food and we do it with pleasure. Although our food is vegetarian and vegan, we have had many meat eating guests over the years and most of them have gone home happy! We welcome every kind of people and look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claymore Vegetarian Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing