We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back for more....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Claymore Vegetarian Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claymore Vegetarian Guest House
Ranked #107 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Inveraray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Back for more....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Another return visit to one of my favourite places to stay in Edinburgh.

Warm welcome as ever and very good vegan breakfast.

Location is close to work and the city centre, so ideal on all respects for work and evening in town.

Looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Becsbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
43
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

My wife and I had a very enjoyable three night stay in this excellent vegetarian and vegan friendly guest house.

Cathy gave us a warm welcome and we appreciated her good nature, sense of humour, charm and easy going manner throughout our stay. The accommodation is a smart sandstone terrace house in a decent location, with an attractive flower and shrub filled front garden. Stepping through the front porch you end up treading on traditional tartan in the reception hallway, an inviting and pleasing introduction to the house, complete with a fireplace, pine panelling, tourist information leaflets, colourful art deco lamps, dried and fresh flower arrangements, beautiful prints, quirky ornaments, mirrors, a delightful doll and the man in the moon! Winding up the stairs, the theme is continued in the double bedroom, a bright and homely place, furnished in pine, two comfortable armchairs, tastefully accessorised with art nouveau prints and supplied with the usual tv, tea and coffee making facilities etc. The en suite was fine and the comfortable bed ensured we had good quality sleep.

Breakfast was a much anticipated highlight, offering a cornucopia of tastes and textures, from fruit juices, fresh fruit, fruit salad, breads, preserves, spreads, yoghurts, nut butters, cereals, dairy free milk, speciality teas and coffees etc. The cooked breakfast menu was designed to please. We raved about the traditional porridge and I experienced a taste of 'vegan nirvana' with a substantial and mouthwateringly hearty collection of mushrooms, baked beans, tomatoes, polenta and tattie scones! Our enjoyment was enhanced by the beautiful, colourful crockery, the wonderful decor and embellishments, the bright and sunny position beside the bay window and the relaxing, melodic background music.

Cathy's compassion, dedication, hospitality and commitment to providing a top notch veggie service, shines through and she has excelled in providing a lovingly crafted veggie retreat in the midst of yet another meat eating metropolis. This makes life easier for any vegetarian or vegan wishing to explore the sights and sounds of Edinburgh as we can be spared the tiresome rigmarole of trawling through the often second rate alternatives in future. Thanks to Cathy for her courage and conviction in sticking to her principles in a commercial sea of compromises and having faith in this venture, which I am sure we will all be enjoying for many more years to come.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kensmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 3 wonderful days in this B&B. The breakfast was amazing, the room was comfortable and Cathy was very helpful and welcoming. Even our late arrival (after 10 pm) was no problem. I would recommend this B&B to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Inge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

The guesthouse is warm and homely with stacks of books and boardgames. The food is AMAZING! best breakfast I've had at a hotel. You won't even need lunch if you are out seeing the city during the day. The staff were super helpful when we were planning our trips out and the bedrooms were large and comfortable. Id recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slatedogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and would liked to have stayed longer! So welcoming to me and my 16 yr old son. Other hotels and B & B's advertised catering for vegetarians and gluten intolerance, but once we arrived there was no acknowledgement of being notified, and no effort to provide anything for me. Cathy went out of her way to make sure I had a satisfying breakfast for the first time in Britain! Cathy was so helpful and friendly, I would recommend anyone stay at Claymore Guest house.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionajmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

What a great hotel - great vegan breakfast everyday (not easy to find!) and a great introduction to Edinburgh. Room was comfortable and welcoming, and we felt well looked after by the hosts who were happy to recommend places to visit and eat (away from obvious touristy places)

Edinburgh is a wonderful city and so veggie friendly - don't miss David Bann, Henderson's, and The Jacket Potato shop at the bottom of the royal mile!

When in Edinburgh we will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmy_ros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed one night in the guest house. The location was good, about 15-20 minute walk to the main attractions, and bus service close by. There was free street parking outside, and we had no problem finding a parking spot.

We stayed in the family room, which could easily accomodate a family of four. It is however facing the street, and you can hear the traffic quite well. I would try to get a room toward the back. The room was large and clean, and the beds decent.

Breakfast had a good selection of cold and made to order hot items. The host was very helpful and friendly.

Overall a very good stay. Be aware that they only accept cash.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street. We stayed in the family room (room no 2) facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andreaslundin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Antler Guest House
Antler Guest House
#60 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garlands Guest House
Garlands Guest House
#114 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Conifers Guest House
The Conifers Guest House
#145 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Millers 64
Millers 64
#79 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fraoch House
Fraoch House
#8 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.1 mi away
Winter Cherry Bed & Breakfast
Winter Cherry Bed & Breakfast
#195 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Vegetarian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Vegetarian Guest House

Property: Claymore Vegetarian Guest House
Address: 68 Pilrig St., Edinburgh EH6 5AS , Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 10-15 minute walk to Princes Street. We offer three things to our guests - enjoyable accommodation, warm and friendly atmosphere and good food and we do it with pleasure. Although our food is vegetarian and vegan, we have had many meat eating guests over the years and most of them have gone home happy! We welcome every kind of people and look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claymore Vegetarian Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing