We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant guest house with vegan/vegetarian food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Claymore Vegetarian Guest House
Ranked #97 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have a vegan in the family, which can make travel a bit tricky, and gigantic egg-butter-bacon breakfast menus sometimes leave nothing but juice and dry toast as an options. We chose this hotel because of the vegetarian/vegan friendly aspect, but we liked it for more than that. Our rooms were really nice--airy, light, colourful and comfortable. The owner/hostess is a sweet lady, who seemed genuinely concerned that we should have a pleasant stay in the guest house and in Edinburgh. She made some interesting potato scones with tomatoes and mushrooms for vegan breakfast, as well as providing soy milk, a vast array of cereals, toast and so on. (For those of us who eat them, the fresh eggs were also excellent!) The hotel is on a bus route with frequent buses to the middle of downtown, so we found it very easy to sightsee as well as to get to less busy parts of town to meet local friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sztravels_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just back from this quirky B+B after a 2 night stay. Very quirky with mismatched crockery etc. The fact that its was a meat free house had no bearing on my stay there. Cathy was great and very helpful. About 15-20 minute walk to the main attractions. Loved it - will be back

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soozyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our first time staying here and couldn't fault it. A very comfortable room which was at the back of the house so no noise from the road. The owner, Cathy, was very pleasant and welcoming, and the breakfast was delicious. Fried halloumi and tattie scones, mmm. The location is very convenient for the city centre - just a short bus ride from a bus stop practically outside the door, or about a 25 min walk.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickylp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Claymore is a very cute guest house, with comfortable rooms and an incredibly accommodating, cheerful host. The breakfast was wonderful, and the location is within a short bus ride from the city center. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here for the first time, this weekend and received a very warm welcome from Cathy. Our room (No. 6) was at the top of the house, and at the back, so nice and quiet. Decor is quirky and beautiful; the room had a nice shower and comfy bed. As vegetarians, we are used to nimimal veggie breakfasts in non-veggie places, so breakfasts here were a delight - huge choice of lovely quality food. I had griddled halloumi, fried polenta, mushrooms and tomatoes, which was just divine. Fresh fruit was on the table and a vast array of different teas available. And as cat lovers, we were delighted to make friends with their resident black & white cat, Felix :-) I feel suree we will become regulars!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenlightsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

3rd time of staying here and the 3rd time i haven't been able to fault any of the stay.

Was allowed to check in early as was going to the rugby.

Cathy as always offered a warm welcome and escorted us to our room. Spacious twin room on the 2nd floor.
Very comfy bed with TV, tea and coffee making facilities and the option of having fresh milk for the room.
I am no vegetarian but very much enjoyed the breakfast.

Was allowed to keep our bag in the b and b until our train at 8pm which was a bonus.

Can recommend this place enough and will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Room 5. En suite top floor very comfy bed and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holmesyyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Another return visit to one of my favourite places to stay in Edinburgh.

Warm welcome as ever and very good vegan breakfast.

Location is close to work and the city centre, so ideal on all respects for work and evening in town.

Looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Becsbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,033 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claymore Vegetarian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claymore Vegetarian Guest House

Address: 68 Pilrig St., Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 10-15 minute walk to Princes Street. We offer three things to our guests - enjoyable accommodation, warm and friendly atmosphere and good food and we do it with pleasure. Although our food is vegetarian and vegan, we have had many meat eating guests over the years and most of them have gone home happy! We welcome every kind of people and look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claymore Vegetarian Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing