We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
97
10
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
10
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tatties felt very much at home city centre vegetarian breakfast comfy room bus stop right great place to stay home away from home walked everywhere every morning guesthouse earplugs fringe toiletries supermarket
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just back from this quirky B+B after a 2 night stay. Very quirky with mismatched crockery etc. The fact that its was a meat free house had no bearing on my stay there. Cathy was great and very helpful. About 15-20 minute walk to the main attractions. Loved it - will be back

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soozyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our first time staying here and couldn't fault it. A very comfortable room which was at the back of the house so no noise from the road. The owner, Cathy, was very pleasant and welcoming, and the breakfast was delicious. Fried halloumi and tattie scones, mmm. The location is very convenient for the city centre - just a short bus ride from a bus stop practically outside the door, or about a 25 min walk.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickylp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Claymore is a very cute guest house, with comfortable rooms and an incredibly accommodating, cheerful host. The breakfast was wonderful, and the location is within a short bus ride from the city center. I highly recommend staying here!

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here for the first time, this weekend and received a very warm welcome from Cathy. Our room (No. 6) was at the top of the house, and at the back, so nice and quiet. Decor is quirky and beautiful; the room had a nice shower and comfy bed. As vegetarians, we are used to nimimal veggie breakfasts in non-veggie places, so breakfasts here were a delight - huge choice of lovely quality food. I had griddled halloumi, fried polenta, mushrooms and tomatoes, which was just divine. Fresh fruit was on the table and a vast array of different teas available. And as cat lovers, we were delighted to make friends with their resident black & white cat, Felix :-) I feel suree we will become regulars!

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenlightsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

3rd time of staying here and the 3rd time i haven't been able to fault any of the stay.

Was allowed to check in early as was going to the rugby.

Cathy as always offered a warm welcome and escorted us to our room. Spacious twin room on the 2nd floor.
Very comfy bed with TV, tea and coffee making facilities and the option of having fresh milk for the room.
I am no vegetarian but very much enjoyed the breakfast.

Was allowed to keep our bag in the b and b until our train at 8pm which was a bonus.

Can recommend this place enough and will certainly be back.

Room tip: Room 5. En suite top floor very comfy bed and very quiet
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holmesyyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews