We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
95
10
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
10
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstattiescity centrevegetarian breakfastcomfy roombus stop rightgreat place to staywalked everywherestayed here for nightsevery morningguesthouseearplugsfringetoiletries
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2014

What a nice and lovely surprise:) Absolute recommendable. Nice and comfortable room!
Very good quality and different choice for breakfast.
Cathy is a very nice and warm person I felt like home which is so great when you are travelling around!
One day I could not have breakfast because I went to a day tour, Cathy was so nice to prepare a pick nick bag for me, I just felt at home when I went to school :)
Thank you so much!!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sandro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The house is on a street full of B&B options and on the bus route. My bedroom was very pretty, with a sink, a shared-bathroom, coffee & tea in room, comfortable bed, and very relaxing vibe. Breakfast was truly the best you can imagine. I am not vegetarian and I would definitely choose her home over any other just to have her breakfasts again. Delicious and healthy, so many options on the menu, better than restaurants- above and beyond! Fresh fruits, milks of many kinds, and an amazing collection of cereals.
The house is about 20 minutes from the center, a nice walk from the center and on the bus route if you prefer. The bus stop is literally in front of the house. Cathy radiates good energy and you will feel right at home from the moment you arrive.

Room Tip: Best to ride the bus from the house to the center town, the way is uphill.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IndySevenSeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Have stayed twice at the Claymore now, and will definitely return next time we go to Edinburgh. Welcoming, comfortable and warm accommodation, with a great range of veggie and vegan breakfast options that were most appreciated after a night out. It's not too far to walk from the main areas of Edinburgh, or you can easily get a bus or taxi and the street is fairly quiet so you can get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank outmoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is such a delightful place to stay. The house is comfortable and clean, the decor restful but interesting, the food is fabulous (including for vegans) and the welcome is warm. We have stayed there two years running for August festival trips and hope to return.

Room Tip: Room 1 is our favourite.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DeeTh58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a very charming guesthouse with spacious and well-decorated rooms -- in my opinion, larger and prettier than those of much more expensive classic hotel that a friend of mine chose to stay in. It's about a 20 minute brisk walk to the city centre, or just a few minutes on the bus which stops opposite the front door. Cathy is informative, sweet and helpful. The vegan (and vegetarian) breakfast menu is extensive and delicious.

Room Tip: The traffic outside the front rooms does cause some noise, but Cathy provides complimentary ear plugs.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boxcars66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews