We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, good quality b&b with good breakfast and friendly helpful staff”
Review of MW Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MW Townhouse
Ranked #322 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 December 2006

rooms are very large and well equiped. the deor could do with a repaint in places but nothing that would affect the quality of your stay.

beds comfortable and bathroom facilities good.

staff are particularly friendly and will help you out with anything you need to enjoy your trip to edinburgh

there is parking which is useful in edinburgh and although not walking distance from the centre there is a regular bus every 10 mins which gets you there in about 10 mins

definately a b&b to book if you are wanting small and friendly

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nic0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for MW Townhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2006

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this B&B for 2 nights and had a really enjoyable stay. From initial communications with the owners (who were always polite and helpful) right up to leaving we were dealt with very well. Room was clean, tidy and of a good size. En-suite was lovely also, with power shower, plenty of towels and lovely products to use. Just wish we had stayed another night there! Edinburgh was amazing and this lovely B&B really made our trip memorable. Only slight quarm was the fact that breakfast was only served from 8.30-9am which we thought was a rather small time frame and a little on the early side for those who want a relaxing holiday and no really early starts! But apart from that we had a wonderful stay and will definately be back again in the future!! Thank you

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank UniGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2006

We have recently got back from a long weekend in Edinburgh Scotland and I have to say the highlight of my visit was MW Townhouse. The service was impeccable the staff over friendly. The room was very comfortable with a modern design and a very nice size shower also well designed. Breakfast was a real treat and everything gave a sense of pure luxury and comfort. The hotel was located a brisk 15 minutes walk from the city centre and all attractions. All this at a mere £30. I would surely recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: November 2006
1  Thank Trippy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2006

Myself and my fiancee stayed here for new years eve 2005 and wer were ripped of to say the least. We paid for £110 per night for a MINIMUM three night stay which was extortion that Tony Soprano would be proud of. Please remember that this place is ONLY a B&B. The property itself is lovely with friendly staff and nice rooms. The location is not particularly central but the owner pointed out the bus routes to us and was generally very helpful. It's only about a 20 minute walk to the Princes Street area of Edinburgh. The city itself is fantastic and much nicer than nearby Glasgow which is a bit of a dump. However if your staying in Edinburgh on a budget stay in Jurys.

Stayed: December 2005
2  Thank blaa_in_exile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2006

Stayed 2 nights at the townhouse and 1 night at the guest house and it was wonderful. They had parking so that wasn't a problem and the bus stop was a few steps from their doorstep. The city itself was maybe 10-15 min away by bus but it's very easy to locate and away from the main city traffic. The hosts are very gracious, informative and, of course, the breakfast is good. They even have free internet access for their guests. The rooms are nicely decorated and clean and you even have the shower and wc en suite.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank genevievegelvosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2006

We stayed in the MW Townhouse for three days in mid-September 2006. Having read the existing reviews on TripAdvisor we were really looking forward to our visit. Don't get me wrong, the guest house is fine, breakfasts are reasonably good and the staff are friendly but I've stayed in much better for a similar price. The room we stayed in was in the attic space - it was a bit dilapidated and also dark as there was only one small window. On the plus side, the MW Townhouse is on a main bus route and walking to the City centre takes roughly 20 minutes.

In summary, nothing really to complain about but definitely nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlenanneTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2006

We recently stayed here for a friends wedding in Edinburgh and would highly recommend it. We arrived to a warm friendly greeting and shown to our rooms which were clean and nicely decorated. On request we were given maps of the area and all the information we needed for transport in and around Edinburgh. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of food from cereal to a full cooked breakfast. The owners were very helpful from the moment we rang up to book our rooms to the moment we left. We would definitely stay there again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenkay79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#196 of 393 in Edinburgh
205 reviews
Thistle House
#304 of 393 in Edinburgh
116 reviews
Appin House
#91 of 393 in Edinburgh
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ardenlee Guest House
#269 of 393 in Edinburgh
158 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#44 of 393 in Edinburgh
454 reviews
94DR
#6 of 393 in Edinburgh
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MW Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MW Townhouse

Address: 11 Spence Street, Edinburgh EH16 5AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £61 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MW Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your MW Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MW Townhouse Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing