We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good area, noisy street...better deals are to be had”
Review of MW Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MW Townhouse
Ranked #312 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I booked based on the location, my room was a closet with a window.
It is on a corner of a busy street so you cannot sleep or watch TV with the windows open.
Breakfast is 8:00 - 9:00 ONLY, cute Polish girls serving was a good point.

Not really worth the money, shop around as there are a LOT of B&B's in Edinburgh

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldtiredandretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2010

Nice rooms, very clean and modern, nice service and a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceccy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

i was told the room was small but this one was tiny. On the website it said you get a cooked breakfast which im still waiting for. the breakfast was between 8 and 9 and had to be out of room by 10am. there was cereal and coissants and fruit and yoghurts. The only good thing was it had tea and coffee facilities. I couldnt get the shower to work and was told it was put on wrong and plumber would have to look at it. I wont be back

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlasgowMagss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We stayed here in August and thought, having seen a variety of reviews already ( after we had booked!) that some very recent factual information might be helpful to those needing accommodation in Edinburgh.
Positives :-
Within walking distance of city centre - easy route about a mile.
Clean white linen
Owners very helpful regarding getting around and very pleasant at breakfast.
Easy to find, south of the city, sat nav took us straight there.
Quantity of food, tea and cofffee at breakfast was ample with regular offers of more coffee and toast.
Negatives:-
Obviously new owners since 4 stars. Think Scottish tourist board should review its status.
From their website the words 'luxurious comfort' 'good value for money' 'dedicated offstreet parking' 'power showers' 'hearty mouth-watering, home-cooked MW full Scottish Breakfast'' need a further explanation.
'Luxurious comfort' --- Bed was comfy but other than that a basic standard B&B, a little tired in the decorating department. The victorian shutters did work but when closed revealed that they had not been painted behind for a long while to match the rest of the decor.
'Good value for money' £120 per night for 3 nights - I would not class this as good value for money for this standard of accommodation.
Dedicated off street parking - There are 8 rooms but only sufficient parking at the rear for 4 cars - maybe 5 if you blocked others in. Other parking is by permit on the street. We were lucky as there was only ever another car there as we particularly chose this for the private parking.
Power showers - It looked like a power shower but there was no power from a pump or any other way that was noticeable. It was a sufficient enough shower to shower and hair wash but absolutley not a power shower! Also when running hot water, either in the shower or the basin, we think the pipes must have been routed via Glasgow as it took absolutely ages to come through. Not very green as they like to advertise themselves! However there was always hot water for us.
'Hearty mouth-watering, home-cooked MW full Scottish Breakfast''- we had cooked breakfast which consisted of 1 rasher of bacon, 1 sausage, which I would class as a value brand, one soggy hash brown, mushrooms, half an uncooked fresh tomato, beans and a choice of egg. This was the same each morning. You were asked on arrival whether you wanted cooked or continental, then just assumed you would eat the same each day. Edible but advertising language we think has a little poetic licence!
The outside looks a little tired and the grass to the front garden is obviously not cut and garden not tidied regularly.
Hope these little facts are useful to other travellers. We gave it an overall rating of 3 because didn't feel it deserved 2 which is poor but would have liked the option of overall 2 and a half. It's own website write up is far superior to the accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gemlover82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2008

I booked this B&B in April due largely to the great reviews on TripAdvisor. I was a little disappointed overall.

Pros -

1. The staff and managment were very friendly and helpful. The manager went out of his way for us a couple of times, and that means alot. However, I wish we could have been given better information on visiting the touristy sites other than, 'Go to the Edinburgh Visitors Center'. I think one of the points of staying in a B&B is to get first-hand information from a local. This is in fact one of the main reasons I book a B&B instead of a hotel.

Cons -

1. Breakfast window from 8:30 to 9:00. This seems way to short. We're on vacation for goodness sakes, and I think we could be given at least an hour.

2. Water problems - Several times the water went out in the shower. This seemed to happen when more than one guest in the building was using the shower at the same time.

3. Check out at 10:00am. Again, we're on vacation, and it's a little hard to get everything packed up and ready that early.

So-so:

1. Location: The bus stop is right around the corner so it's pretty easy to get to the center of town. It's within walking distance to Arthur's seat, which we enjoyed doing one day. However, we spent alot of time walking to Newington Rd about 5 minute walk away where there were lots of restaurants.

2. Room: The room was fine, but not great. The water problems were a nuisance.

Overall, the MW Townhouse is OK, but I probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank picard1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2008

looking at their own website the hotel looked very modern and nice the rates were the usual edinburgh festival rip off rates but we needed the accommodation and booked. on arrival at about 2pm there was a note left on the door no checkin before 3 pm when the owner would be back, there was no parking,it has 9 rooms and enough parking for 4 cars first come first served, the owner was cold,unwelcoming and soon got us to pay for our stay he then gave us the breakfast times, 0830-0900, 30 minutes for all 9 rooms ive never heard that one before,the breakfast it self was described as scottish but it was a plain english with one of everything the toast wasnt even browned,the young girls sevrving looked scruffy and half asleep. the rooms were trying to look modern but failed on close inspection plenty of paint over bad woodwork, as well as the early , quick breakfast you had to leave at 10 am.the hotel had a four star rating god knows who gave them that, none of us who stayed would do so again. give this guesthouse a miss.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank 80marines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

do not stay .this has changed ownership since recieving 4 stars.
we booked a double. they had no record of booking we recieved
a twin. the general maintenance has stopped, grass at front of building hadnt even been cut. have never recived such a bad
breakfast as as the one we had. spoke to the lady who owned the b and b to be told that she has never cooked meat before buying the bb.never been so dissapointed. would rather stay at a travel lodge and have breakfast at mcdonalds.

seriously think this should now be classed as 2 star!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank dom2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Masson House
Masson House
#117 of 151 in Edinburgh
444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thistle House
Thistle House
#305 of 393 in Edinburgh
116 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ardenlee Guest House
Ardenlee Guest House
#297 of 393 in Edinburgh
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#70 of 393 in Edinburgh
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Thrums Edinburgh
The Thrums Edinburgh
#292 of 393 in Edinburgh
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#193 of 393 in Edinburgh
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MW Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MW Townhouse

Address: 11 Spence Street, Edinburgh EH16 5AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £59 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MW Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MW Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MW Townhouse Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing