We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay B & B” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of MW Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MW Townhouse
Ranked #370 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Nofolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Okay B & B”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2007

We spent two nights at this B& B and it was ok. The location was excellent with a good bus service. Staff where ok. As for our room we were disappointed, it needed a repaint and the bathroom smelt. The breakfast was ok, nice to see a veggie breakfast. If and when we go back I don't think we would be staying there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bexfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    23
    25
    14
    6
See reviews for
19
33
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navyblue22
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2007

Absolutely perfect location for seeing Edinbourgh, especially if you plan to use the local bus. Bus stop is right outside the townhouse, and James provided us with perfect instructions for exactly which buses to catch to the city center, which stops to get off at, and even reminded us of landmarks to look for so we'd know when our stop was coming up. The rooms were just wonderful ... very clean, comfortable, stocked with a nice supply of tea, hot chocolate, coffee, etc. Breakfast was lovely .... and May personally stopped by each table to see how the stay was going. She took a personal interest in each guest, what prompted their journey to Edinbourgh, and wished us all well on the rest of the journey when we left. We were so warmly welcomed, it was as if we were old friends coming for a visit rather than strangers. We loved the convenience, property, and secure parking on site for our vehicles. Internet was available but we were on vacation, so avoided it altogether! I would defiitely stay again if I had the opportunity.

  • Liked — Great room, friendly staff, convenient location, affordable
  • Disliked — Breakfast was good, not fabulous, but I wasn't there for the food!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Navyblue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2007

We visited Edinburgh for a long weekend as we were attending a wedding in nearby South Queensferry.
We stayed at the MW Townhouse.
The accommodation was lovely - the room was up on the 2nd floor and was clean, comfortable and modern. The bathroom was clean and modern & there was hot water when you needed it - the bath was fantastic!
The breakfasts were lovely, served by the very friendly staff.
What makes this place exceptional is the owners. May Woods was so helpful, making sure we had the right information for where we had to go, and was particularly helpful in our travel arrangements to S Queensferry, calling cab firms, printing off train/bus timetables.
At breakfast time, she spoke to everyone to make sure they were OK, to find out what they did the previous day & to see if they need anything for their day. Her helpfulness made navigating an unfamiliar city so easy.
The accommodation is a short bus ride from the city centre, but for a £2.50 day ticket you can ride on any of the Lothian buses, which is very good value for money. Otherwise, it is a £1 trip each way. Edinburgh is a city that is very easy to get around, with public transport that is clean, comfortable and very cheap.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this place, and would definitely stay there again if we ever end up in Edinburgh again.

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbbottsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2007

Can highly recommend this guest house for a stay in edinburgh..The owners are v friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Modern appearance in a traditional Edinburgh house with lovely features .Close to buses but still not too far to walk to the centre.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank edin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2007

Our two nights in Edinburgh were made especially special thanks to the warm hospitality at the MW Townhouse. Located on a quiet side street, the city center is minutes away by foot yet a visitor can easily find relaxation in this calm atmosphere after a full day.
The furnishings are simple, elegant, and the room was spotless.
The only noise that was slightly bothersome was somebody with a bad cough in a nearby room.
As we had a very early departure, breakfast was placed on the floor outside our room as promised.
Finally, I must add that two lovely women, May and Kate (I believe?) were so helpful with directions, ideas for eating, bus information, and could even provide us with a French convertor plug. All of the above with warm smiles!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank sallie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne & Wear,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2007

I have recently returned from a weekend break in Edinburgh on 13th April. Having had some difficulty finding a hotel I found through an internet search the MW Townhouse, Edinburgh. What a lovely surprise when we arrived. This B&B is very modern and decorated in a contemporary style. Our room was a twin room with ensuite bathroom and again this was decorated in a contemporary, modern style. The room was a reasonable size with comfortable beds and included a TV, tea and coffee making facilities and a hair dryer.The bathroom was very clean and included a toliet, sink and walk in shower. The breakfast room was very pleasant and again quite spacious with a breakfast to die for!. They had a selection of cereals, fruit juice, full cooked breakfast, pastries and tea and coffee and this was all served by very friendly staff. The MW Townhouse was situated approximately 15mins away by bus from the centre of Edinburgh or approximately 25mins walk. This is a very pleasant guesthouse which I would definately stay at again.

  • Liked — The great breakfast and room comfort
  • Disliked — Hairdryer in the room was cold
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cherrylips031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2007

Just returned from our first visit to Edinburgh - what a beautiful City. The MW Townhouse is a good quality B&B located close to the centre of of Edinburgh and on a regular bus route. House has many original features and our room was a very good size (there were three of us - two adults and a child age 8) with modern, clean facilities, satellite TV and an en-suite. Internet access is available free of charge. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of full cooked or continental options. Service was excellent and although the cost was a little on the high side (comparable with some hotels), it was value for money. We enjoyed our stay and would return again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank clareme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarin Guest House
Clarin Guest House
#131 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#94 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#58 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#205 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Thrums Edinburgh
The Thrums Edinburgh
#346 of 445 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MW Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MW Townhouse

Property: MW Townhouse
Address: 11 Spence Street, Edinburgh EH16 5AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — MW Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your MW Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MW Townhouse Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing