We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Ard-na-said

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ard-na-said
Ranked #19 of 391 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My wife and I, along with my parents and sister spent two nights at the Lyons' beautiful home.
We stayed at several B&Bs in Britain and France, and this was one of our favourites.
The location is quite good, though a long walk from the center of town. We cabbed it in and out, and found this to be convenient and inexpensive.
Our rooms were spacious and bright. Though you had the feel of staying in an older luxury hotel, the bathrooms were recently updated- very appreciated.
Breakfast was excellent. We even tried the haggis sampler!
Thanks to the Lyons for being so welcoming.
We would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colovoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    49
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
67
170
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pontefract
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Have just returned from my second visit to Ard Na Said and am already planning my next. The Wallace bedroom is spacious,clean and comfortable. As a regular walker the distance to town is not a problem and allows you tou take a variety of routes and thus see more of the outskirts of the town. However there is a regular bus service along the main route.
The cooked breakfasts are great with a good choice and served at the requested time. Lovely porridge too.

With reference to a previous review, I paid cash and a receipt was given without having to ask.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 910spendle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This is our second time staying at Ard Na Said, and there is no doubt that we will be returning many more times.
The room (Burns) was lovely and spacious with excellent facilities, and a high standard of cleanliness throughout.
Excellent owners who are very hospitable and cook a wonderful Scottish breakfast!
Ard Na Said is in a lovely location, within walking distance from the city centre however there are many bus stops along the route.
Ard Na Said is a beautiful place to spay, very homely, and we cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Jim and Olive welcomed us warmly. They were very flexible about when we arrived (it's a b and b so no 24-hour reception!!). The Rankin room on the ground floor, where we stayed, (photo on website shows room looking dark) was very light indeed, very spacious with a large bathroom. The bath could not be used, but the shower was spacious and everything was spotless. The twin beds can be pushed together to form a king-sized bed, but it does have that ridge/gap in the middle so spooning not possible....

The decor is classic contemporary - one wall of wallpaper - large monochrome floral sheen on same coloured background, rest of walls neutral. Neutral coloured carpet. Spotless again. Plenty of storage space, wardrobe with hangers and chest of drawers and bedside cabinets. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Two tub chairs and a table. Free wi-fi.

The Rankin benefits from french doors opening onto a patio that gives onto the garden. Table and chairs. Sun in the afternoon. Very private and a delightful addition.

Breakfast is from 8 to 9 and covers the gamut from continental with cheeses to full scottish with black pudding and haggis. Delivered quickly and piping hot. The dining room is again very light and airy, traditionally furnished and decorated in rich colours, with antique furniture.

The room was very quiet, the house having good thick walls.

Ard-na-said is about 50m from a main bus route into the centre of Edinburgh, about 1.5 miles. Walkable in half an hour at a brisk pace. Places to eat nearby (they give you a map of them), too.

At £100 per room per night it's not a steal and you are paying for what you get, but we were pleased with what we got for the price, given what else seemed to be on offer at the time of booking (Edinburgh Festival Fringe time).

Room Tip: Rankin on ground floor quiet, light with patio. Rooms at the front of the house should also be quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon, in the Wallace room. We had a warm welcome, and throughout our stay, Jim and Olive were very helpful, recommending places to visit or eat.

Our room (and the whole house!) was breathtaking - the bed was not only a gorgeous four-poster, but was also very very comfortable. The en suite was sparkling, and the room had a view of Arthur's Seat.

The location was just far out enough from the centre to be quiet, but still easily reachable.

Breakfast was delicious.

A lovely, grand, stay and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Wallace room is stunning - the ceiling is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_W91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My wife, mother, 1-year old baby and myself just finished a driving trip in Great Britain (OK, we went in mid-June to early-July), and had the priviledge at staying at the Ard-Na-Said house.

I heard about them from Rick Steves book, liked the web-site and booked. I was glad I did, and of the 5 places I stayed (variety of two B&B's, two apartments, 1 hotel in Portmerion) - this was my favourite place!

We had the Wallace room which was spacious and WONDERFUL for having a 1-year old. They had a playpen set up for our little girl and we cannot say enough good things about the nice room, 4-poster bed, and the spaciousness of it.

There was Internet access for checking what was going on back in the States (free of charge) and Jim and Olive were extremely welcoming without being too intruding. They were joking around with us, and the breakfasts were great and they were more accomodating with us being a few minutes late in the morning with our little girl (sometimes travelling with infants takes time).

The location is good, although a little walk (albeit a nice one) to restaurants - but the bus system is easy, and I'd stay with Jim and Olive again in a heartbeat if I make my way back to Edinburgh. I can't think of any negatives about my visit - and that's the honest truth!

Room Tip: The Wallace Room is spacious and well worth the cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abnegazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Many thanks to Jim and Olive for the warm welcome of their home and guesthouse, Ard-na-said. We arrived rather late 7 days ago and were warmly welcomed by Olive, who had waited several hours for our arrival. We had booked The Wallace Room and were overwhelmed by it's grand and beautiful space. It became a haven of quiet and peace at the end of each busy day in Edinburgh. There were so many thoughtful touches in the room... DVDs, wash clothes, special aromatic body washes and lotions, soft and plush towels, robes and slippers, and lovely bed linens. Breakfasts were hot and tasty and were served in a spacious breakfast room on the main floor. We had booked our stay at Ard-na-said 5 months in advance to ensure 7 nights in the same room and the same guest house; we were so glad that we had taken the time to do that. We loved the location because it was off Dalkeith Road on a quiet street and only a 25 minute walk into the Old Town. We would highly recommend this guest house to anyone travelling to Edinburgh on business or pleasure. Bravo! Carolyn and Robért

Room Tip: The Wallace room is grand and spacious. Street noise was minimal. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynduerksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 148 in Edinburgh
959 reviews
Prestonfield
#4 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,105 reviews
94DR
#6 of 391 in Edinburgh
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 391 in Edinburgh
473 reviews
Kew House
#7 of 391 in Edinburgh
808 reviews
Barony House
#4 of 391 in Edinburgh
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard-na-said? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard-na-said

Property: Ard-na-said
Address: 5 Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5HH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 391 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP SINCE 14/10/2016 Ard-Na-Said is a Victorian house which was built in 1875. It is set in attractive gardens in a quiet residential area yet only 1.5 miles to the train station. Being only 100 metres from an excellent bus service that offers a speedy access to the heart of Edinburgh. We are close to Holyrood park and Arthur's seat, Prestonfield Hotel,(Rhubarb Restaurant & Taste of Scotland), Edinburgh University and Pollock Halls of Residence and within a 5 minute walk of Prestonfield Golf Club, The Royal Commonwealth Pool & Gym and local shops and Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ard-na-said reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard-Na-Said Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing