We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bed and breakfast in a lovely Edinburgh”
Review of Ard-na-said

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ard-na-said
Ranked #18 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bed and breakfast in a lovely Edinburgh”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

What a wonderful B and B for our first time to Scotland. Friends had recommended Ard-na-said for our stay. We ended up staying in the WALLACE room. It was PERFECT. Very clean and spacious for our 3 nights there. Our hosts Olive and Jim were very helpful in directions and booking our tours. If arriving by train it is best to take a taxi to the B and B.(it would be a very LONG walk up the hill from the train station!) For trips into the town center, we took the bus which was one stop away on a main street. Buses run all the time. Get at day pass for 3.50, it's worth it!
Our breakfasts were DELICIOUS! Even if you hate the thought of haggis, Olive's sample portion was worth the try. I would say that of all the places we stayed this was one of our favorites. It deserves the BEST rating!!

Room Tip: stay in the Wallace room! It's huge!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    49
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
67
172
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We spent one night here and it was delightful. From the beautiful bathroom to the comfy beds to the delicious home cooking at breakfast it was definitely a wonderful stay. There are buses close by for transport into the city centre and a taxi is also not too expensive from here. Thank you Jim and Olive!

Room Tip: The Rankin room was on the ground floor with a lovely view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrannyLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Jim and Olive Lyons treated us like royalty. We had a beautiful bedroom on the bottom floor with a window out on the garden. The bedroom was bright and lovely with two chairs by the window to sit in. The bathroom was luxurious with a great shower and more room than I've ever seen in a B&B bathroom. We enjoyed Jim's sense of humor as he served us a traditional breakfast. They were both very personable and took an interest in all we did. We loved staying there and hope to go back again in the future- worth staying more than 2 nights!

Room Tip: We recommend a ground floor room so that you can see the yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWildtrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This is a really lovely B&B in a quiet and convenient area of Edinburgh. The breakfasts were delicious and our hosts were very welcoming and helpful. We had to be at the Waverley station before 7.00am for a steam special to Inverness on the Saturday morning of our 3 day stay. We were able to catch a bus from just around the corner, leaving our car safe in the hotel car park. We were provided with a "take away" breakfast, which was well put together.
Our room was spacious and comfortable with all the luxuries of an expensive hotel; big, soft, fluffy white towels, bath robes and slippers.
I would definately recommend this B&B to anyone and we will stay here again if we return to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Scott room and it was lovely with a great view of Arthur's Seat
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJJPFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I can't recommend this place highly enough. It's located in a neighborhood outside of the downtown area, which is actually nice to be in a more quiet, quaint neighborhood. It is less than a minute walk from the bus station to get to/from downtown, which is very convenient.

The rooms are clean, comfortable, and quiet. I had my own spacious bathroom and a little patio to look out on. I felt like I was in a close friend's house. You can choose which breakfast you want each morning, and the food was DELICIOUS! I only paid 45 pounds/night for my single room, which is really affordable.

Jim and Olive knew I was traveling alone, so they were extra sweet and helpful. They packed me a sack lunch the morning I left since my flight was at 6am.

I would highly recommend staying here, especially if you are looking for a warm, comforting, nice place that feels like a friend's home.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This B&B was so lovely! The room was clean and modern! The food was great! The owners were very hospitable and even had a list of restaurants that were near by, that they tried and enjoyed. It was very helpful when looking for a good restaurant is an unfamiliar city. I would recommend this B&B to any of my friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbyB397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This is a lovely B&B located off Dalkeith Rd. in a wonderful older home with high ceilings and period artwork on the walls. Hosts Jim and Olive are very helpful in providing information about Edinburgh. Our room was a large one with a comfortable bed and a large bath (shower) . The breakfast was delicious and even conducive to vegetarians. One needs to take a bus to town but that was easy to get the hang of after one trip ; we did take a taxi to the airport. There are a number of very good restaurants in the area which we frequented for dinner. I highly recommend this B&B .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 148 in Edinburgh
962 reviews
Prestonfield
#3 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,107 reviews
94DR
#7 of 393 in Edinburgh
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kew House
#6 of 393 in Edinburgh
810 reviews
Barony House
#3 of 393 in Edinburgh
689 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 393 in Edinburgh
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard-na-said? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard-na-said

Property: Ard-na-said
Address: 5 Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5HH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP SINCE 14/10/2016 Ard-Na-Said is a Victorian house which was built in 1875. It is set in attractive gardens in a quiet residential area yet only 1.5 miles to the train station. Being only 100 metres from an excellent bus service that offers a speedy access to the heart of Edinburgh. We are close to Holyrood park and Arthur's seat, Prestonfield Hotel,(Rhubarb Restaurant & Taste of Scotland), Edinburgh University and Pollock Halls of Residence and within a 5 minute walk of Prestonfield Golf Club, The Royal Commonwealth Pool & Gym and local shops and Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ard-na-said reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard-Na-Said Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing