We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B & B”
Review of Ard-na-said

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ard-na-said
Ranked #14 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We recently stayed for three nights at the Ard-na-said B & B in Edinburgh and were extremely happy with our choice. Olive and Jim were very gracious hosts and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and provide us with details about transportation, laundry service and restaurants to eat at.
We booked two rooms, the Wallace room and a twin room for our children and were thrilled with the large size, comfort and cleanliness. We thoroughly enjoyed the luxurious Georgian decor.
There was lots of variety to pick from on the breakfast menu and food was promptly served at the designated time.
The location of the Ard-na-said was very convenient for buses into the heart of Edinburgh. As well, free parking was provided for our rental mini-van while we explored the city and surroundings by bus.
All in all, we were very satisfied with this B & B and would not hesitate to reserve there again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PollyVancouverIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for Ard-na-said
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2008

My mother and I stayed at the Ard-na-said B&B while touring Edinburgh. The room was spotlessly clean, large, and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was delicious with great choices such as a full Scottish breakfast or a continental breakfast with delicious fresh fruit. We had good directions from our hosts as to which busses to take to get into the downtown (tourist) area. Ate at the nearby (walking distance) New Bell restaurant for dinner one evening and wished we had more time to go back for another dinner! Would definately recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJFromViennaVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2008

We had been told of this truly wonderful guesthouse by a friend and I must say, myself and my husband had the most delightful stay whilst in Edinburgh.

Our room was a large spacious room with a very comfortable king-size bed and excellent en-suite. We were even lucky enough to have wonderful views of Arthur's Seat topped in!

Breakfast was excellent and more than enough with a wide selection you can choose from. The breakfast room itself is a wonderful large bright bay windowed room and the decor is in-keeping with the period of the property.

Our hosts Jim and Olive were truly a delight and were very helpful making our stay most enjoyable. It was also very helpful to get their suggestions of places to eat in the area.

We will definitely be back and will certainly recommend this place to everyone we know. Thanks for a great stay!!!

p.s. as per the previous review, we certainly saw no sign of 'Mr Spider' and it was definitely not cold......I don’t think I need to go on. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dugetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2007

Beautiful home, very clean and orderly, easy to find, reasonable price. My wife and I stayed in the room with the King size bed, the bathroom had just been remodeled. Breakfast was the best of our trip. Good food with healthy choices, not just a bunch of pastries. Host quarters are separate from guests, more like a hotel with warm homey feel. I personally like the privacy a hotel gives you, never been big on B&Bs, this place was perfect. I would stay here again.
Hint: If your riding the bus stick with Lothian. There are at least 6 bus companies. Lothian is the most frequent.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank josh.jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2007

My mom and I spent three wonderful days in Edinburgh as part of a 10 day trip to Great Britian. Ard na said was our favorite stop of the trip. Olive and Jim were excellent hosts. They both went out of their way to make our stay the best it could be. Olive had some wonderful suggestions for nearby restaurants and was an expert on how to negotiate the local bus service. The bus stop was only a 2 minute walk and the buses ran frequently. Our room was very tastefully decorated and very comfortable. There were many personal touches including heated towel racks that made us feel very pampered. We would definitely recommend this lovely guest house to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2006

This guest house was a wonderful place to stay,and the 3 days that we were there was a great experence.The guest house is out of this world,as was the service that was provided by the owners.Nothing was a problem for them,and anytime we had a question they were so helpful.
Sometimes when you visit a different country things can be overwhelming,but the owners went out there way to make it a vacation to remember.
The room that we stayed in was excellent,and was very clean and well maintained.
The breakfasts were something that we looked forward to each morning.You can get anything you want,and if your not sure if you would like it the owners will provide a sample dish for you.
We even tried the Scottish dish of Haggis,,,,,thats a little different!!
With this being a guest house,it had that personal touch that a hotel can sometimes fail to provide.

Menomonie
Wisconsin USA

Stayed: January 2006
3  Thank craigWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank astieg_410287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#7 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,000 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,387 reviews
Barony House
#2 of 393 in Edinburgh
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#19 of 393 in Edinburgh
708 reviews
94DR
#6 of 393 in Edinburgh
559 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 393 in Edinburgh
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard-na-said? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard-na-said

Address: 5 Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5HH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £66 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP SINCE 14/10/2016 Ard-Na-Said is a Victorian house which was built in 1875. It is set in attractive gardens in a quiet residential area yet only 1.5 miles to the train station. Being only 100 metres from an excellent bus service that offers a speedy access to the heart of Edinburgh. We are close to Holyrood park and Arthur's seat, Prestonfield Hotel,(Rhubarb Restaurant & Taste of Scotland), Edinburgh University and Pollock Halls of Residence and within a 5 minute walk of Prestonfield Golf Club, The Royal Commonwealth Pool & Gym and local shops and Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ard-na-said reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard-Na-Said Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing