We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ard-na-Said great Edinburgh stay!”
Review of Ard-na-said

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ard-na-said
Ranked #14 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My sister and I stayed at Ard-na-said for four nights. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable, shower and amenities modern and clean and the room was quiet. The breakfast was made to order and delicious with plenty of fruit, cereal and yogurt in addition to the hot breakfast. The inn is close to the bus line that runs frequently to city center Edinburgh. Everything was easy and convenient. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: we stayed in the Scot room. One large queen sized bed, armor, hair dryer, good sized shower with si...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoPIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
There are newer reviews for Ard-na-said
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

We had a very relaxing stay at this B and B. Jim and Olive were very helpful in helping us plan our activities. We also had delicious breakfasts every day. Easy access on the bus to town and lots of great restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinp55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The difference between a B&B and a hotel is that you're staying in someone's home, and to me that's a nice way to spend your free time. I travel a lot for business so am usually in soulless big hotels. Ard-na-said is a lovely guest house with very pleasant hosts. It's like staying in a friend's house (if your friend had a really big house and cooked you a gigantic breakfast in the morning!). The house itself is a very large traditional house, with a nice big dining room and hall, and surrounded by a small garden. It is in a quiet part of the city and although it's off a main road (Dalkeith Road) it is very restful.

We were off to a wedding nearby so the location was a bonus as it was a short walk to the venue. The area is mainly residential and guest houses, close to the university halls so handy if you were going there, and a short walk to Arthur's Seat if you're that way inclined (we were!). Arrived quite late but it was easy to settle in, and mark off your breakfast on a little form in anticipation of the morning!

Breakfast was great - it's nice to get a choice of items and it was very generous. I had a full English (Scottish!) which was very tasty, plus a small bowl of porridge before. There was also a little buffet of cereal, fruit and juice. Much better than expected!

Location wise it isn't in the centre of town but Edinburgh is a very small city and you can pretty much walk anywhere if you're reasonably fit. If you don't want to walk then there's a bus service that takes you right into town in a very short time, or a taxi won't cost more than about 6 quid (a bargain if you're used to London prices!). Nearby there's the Salisbury Inn which is a nice pub.

I think anywhere you stay, it's the personal touches that make your day. This is a lovely B&B and the landlady especially is lovely (we had a good natter). We had a mix up with the booking by accidentally booking for 1 person instead of 2, and it was no bother for them - we were given extra towels and not made to feel that we'd messed up! They realised by the fact we'd made an extra breakfast order and accommodated our mistake easily.

All in all I would definitely recommend this place if you want a homely, pleasant and not too expensive place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nao C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Come here as we were going to the Christmas market in Edinburgh.
The location is good. About 10 min from Edinburgh centre by car. Could get a taxi or a bus if no car
The guest house is lovely, our room had a lovely big comfortable bed, with a lovely fluffy duvet. The room was big and the en suit really big with ab really good shower.
Good location of the plug points, next to bed and next to the mirror.
Breakfast was ordered the night before on a wee card. I got exactly what I ordered ab fit was really well cooked and nice.
If I was to come back to Edinburgh I'd defiantly say here

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Our first night in Edinburgh, following a flight from the USA. After taking a train and bus to this guest house to drop bags (early), we were invited to have tea (or coffee). Jim, one of the hosts, was so welcoming. We stayed on the first floor in the Rankin room, a comfortable room with large bathroom and garden patio (It was cool so we did not sit outside). We stayed two nights and had very tasty breakfasts (excellent smoked salmon) each day. Bus stops were only a block away, giving access to city centre in 10 minutes.

Room Tip: We were very happy with the Rankin room. No noise from outside.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan172013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Located just a half block off St. Leonard's St., the guest house is a large old Victorian sandstone home set in a tidy yard. It's a short bus ride from Waverly Station, with a grand view of the volcanic formation and Arthur's seat.

The entry is airy, with a broad open staircase on the left and the door to the sitting and dining room on the right. We arrived early, and our hosts were out, but the housekeeper took charge of our bags and gave us a key.

Our sightseeing kept us out to midnight, but when we came in we left our breakfast orders in the box in the hallway. Breakfast is served from 8 to 9, a narrow window, but the selection is good.

We stayed in the Wallace room, the largest room in the house, and it was wonderfully spacious and gracious. Just inside the door was the entry, with vanity and bathroom, followed by the large fourposter bed and wardrobe, followed by a very comfortable sitting area. Big windows, including the bay window facing the street, brought in light and vistas.

There were enough electrical outlets to recharge our phones, laptops, and camera, and the wifi was adequate. A biography of William Wallace lay on a table.

The breakfast selection was very broad. I had fried egg, bacon, a variety of sides, and a sample of haggis. The bacon was a little undercooked, but the haggis was surprisingly good. Coffee was good.

The dining room was flooded with light from the windows, with a pleasant view of the yard. Woodwork, wallpaper, art hangings, and furniture formed a harmonious Victorian room. Our host came in and out with a reserved good cheer.

Just a few blocks to the west is Nicholson Street, a north-south artery lined with shops, restaurants, and pubs that runs down to the Royal Mile. A little further is Causewayside, where two venerable pubs, Old Bell and John Leslie stand within a block of each other. To the west a short walk is the volcanic crag with a climb up to Arthur's Seat and a magnificent 360 degree view.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I were on a 30 day England, Wales and Scotland pleasure trip and we spent 3 nights in this wonderful B&B. We were delighted by the spacious high ceiling, modern, beautiful and comfortable rooms. Olive and Jim are great host. If you are not driving the bus stop is at the end of the street and within a few minutes you are in the heart of everything you want to see and do in Edinburgh. Breakfast could not have been better. The Salisbury Arms Restaurant (and many more) are within walking distance and this is a wonderful place to have dinner. If we every return to Edinburgh we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesandladyDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#7 of 150 in Edinburgh
998 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,385 reviews
Barony House
#2 of 393 in Edinburgh
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#19 of 393 in Edinburgh
708 reviews
94DR
#6 of 393 in Edinburgh
556 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#9 of 393 in Edinburgh
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard-na-said? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard-na-said

Address: 5 Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5HH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £66 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP SINCE 14/10/2016 Ard-Na-Said is a Victorian house which was built in 1875. It is set in attractive gardens in a quiet residential area yet only 1.5 miles to the train station. Being only 100 metres from an excellent bus service that offers a speedy access to the heart of Edinburgh. We are close to Holyrood park and Arthur's seat, Prestonfield Hotel,(Rhubarb Restaurant & Taste of Scotland), Edinburgh University and Pollock Halls of Residence and within a 5 minute walk of Prestonfield Golf Club, The Royal Commonwealth Pool & Gym and local shops and Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ard-na-said reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard-Na-Said Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing