We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“between good and average”
Review of Ard-na-said

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ard-na-said
Ranked #14 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband, mother, and I stayed here the last night of an eight day trip to Scotland. This was my first time in the city and so I don't know it well at all, but I thought the area around Priestfield Road (although not the street itself) looked a bit shabby; it was not an area I would have wanted to walk around at night. The city center is easily accessible by bus.

The reason I rate Ard Na Said between good and average is as follows. My husband and I stayed in the Burns Room which, despite some furnishings that are a bit worn, was very nice with a comfortable bed. The en suite bathroom gets the award for the best bathroom of probably any lodging in which I have stayed. It's huge and has to have been recently renovated -- just beautiful. On the other hand, my mother's room was located on the first floor, sort of under the stairs. It was small and stuffy with worn furnishings and needed some TLC; the bathroom, however, also looked to have been recently redone. I felt guilty about having my Mom stay in such a place, especially compared to our room. Fortunately she's a good sport.

Breakfast was fine; the breakfast room is very nice. The hosts were a bit crisp with us; perhaps because we were only staying one night.

I probably would not stay here again, primarily because I had a much more welcoming experience at another Edinburgh B&B (reviewed on this site).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dt63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for Ard-na-said
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

We enjoyed a lovely, second-floor room and modern ensuite overlooking the back garden in this large, high-ceilinged home within easy walking distance of a bus stop to town centre (buy day ticket for easy use) and several nearby places to eat, including The Old Bell pub, our favorite. Our delicious breakfast was served in a spacious, elegant room. Parking is available.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Our stay at the Ard-Na-said was lovely! The room was beautiful and bath delightful to come home to after a long day touring Edinburgh. James and Olive were gracious and welcoming. It was clean and the breakfast delicious!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms there!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Ard-na-said a great deal. Just a minute from the bus stop and Jim was eager to call a cab when we wanted one. The room was spacious and the en-suite bathroom well appointed with a very comfortable shower. Our room (Scott Room) looked over the roofs of neighboring houses to Arthurs Seat. Sunrise and sunset were spectacular out our window. The breakfasts were exactly perfect! This B&B is in a residential area with very easy access to transportation. Made it a quiet place, perfect for our needs. Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomnrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This lovely B&B is a little ways from the city center, but we truly enjoyed its quiet, peaceful location and friendly hosts. Very spacious, updated bedrooms with en suite bathrooms, and a gracious breakfast room, full of antiques. High ceilings, beautiful furnishings throughout the house. Excellent full breakfast. There is so much to DO in Edinburgh--and after a day on the Royal Mile it was great to come back to Ard-Na-Said. We had to leave very early on the morning of our departure, and our hosts made sure we had a to-go breakfast pack. By the way, don't miss the Outsider Restaurant, a few blocks off the Royal Mile. Excellent food and low-key, trendy atmosphere.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, you can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jdmagnuson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We are four seniors who are close friends and have traveled to many wonderful destinations together, both pre and post our senior designation. The Ard-Na-Said B&B is located a mile or so south of the central city and in the shadow of Arthur's Seat. Our hosts were Jim and Olive Lyons. As it happens, the travel writer, Rick Steves, stays here when he travels to this locale and we can understand why: the location, the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms, the personable and accommodating hosts, the wonderful breakfasts, and the reasonable prices for the rooms in which we stayed. Take it from us and Rick Steves and stay with Olive and Jim when you travel to Edinburgh. When you visit, we also suggest that you have a delicious dinner at the nearby Salisbury Arms, another wonderful dinner at Hanedan Turkish Restaurant, and a nice breakfast at Hellers Kitchen. The latter two are a wee bit more of a walk but worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reynold1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed with Jim and Olive for 4 nights in June, 2014, and it was one of the finest B & B experiences ever. As noted by other reviewers, the location is ideal with easy walking or bus service to both the old town and new town. The room was beautiful with many thoughtful touches, and our hosts could not have been more accommodating in arranging for taxis, a bus tour, as well as providing welcome advice regarding restaurants. We hope to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#7 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,000 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,386 reviews
Barony House
#2 of 393 in Edinburgh
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#19 of 393 in Edinburgh
708 reviews
94DR
#6 of 393 in Edinburgh
559 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 393 in Edinburgh
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard-na-said? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard-na-said

Address: 5 Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5HH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £66 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP SINCE 14/10/2016 Ard-Na-Said is a Victorian house which was built in 1875. It is set in attractive gardens in a quiet residential area yet only 1.5 miles to the train station. Being only 100 metres from an excellent bus service that offers a speedy access to the heart of Edinburgh. We are close to Holyrood park and Arthur's seat, Prestonfield Hotel,(Rhubarb Restaurant & Taste of Scotland), Edinburgh University and Pollock Halls of Residence and within a 5 minute walk of Prestonfield Golf Club, The Royal Commonwealth Pool & Gym and local shops and Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ard-na-said reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard-Na-Said Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing