We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place to stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ard-na-said

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ard-na-said
Ranked #27 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rhoon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

Had a lovely stay at Ard-na-said! Really close to the busstop, just 1 minute walk and they all take you to the city-center. We stayed in the Burns-room! Very beautiful and spacious with a king size bed and a large beautiful bathroom. The breakfast is really nice, lots of cereals, nuts, fresh fruit and yoghurt, perfect poached eggs and bacon and delicious marmelade! You do very much feel at home and we felt very welcome! We never experienced any negative things during our stay, the hosts are very friendly and helpfull. We will be back one day! Thank Jim and Olive!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    40
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
56
148
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

The location of this lovely B&B is ideal with the bonus of ample free parking - the walk into the city was easy and pleasant (although we were very lucky with the weather, there are numerous, frequent buses for those not so lucky!). The house is beautiful and the hosts welcoming and friendly. Breakfast offered a generous choice and was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eah264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

Great owners, perfect room that beats any hotel we have ever stayed at, superior service, like being at home except I got breakfast every morning. Need anything, just ask.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmwjr1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ard-na-said. Jim and Olive are delightful hosts, very accommodating, and serve a very good Scottish breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2010

My wife and I had the great pleasure to be hosted by Jim andOlive Lyons the owners of he Ard Na Said in Edinburgh. The Bed and Breakfast is very clean and extremely well located for seeing the city. The hosts are very helpful and very warm. The breakfasts were excellent and very filling. We loved our stay there.Langhorne, Pa.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richman613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

My Husband and I stayed at this Guest House in May 2010, if you are looking for a bed and breakfast within easy reach of Edinburgh then this is the one.

The bedroom was beautifully decorated and the breakfast was fantasitc.

Jim and Olive are the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble and we received a very warm welcome.

We would recommend this Guest house to anyone, we shall definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daveandelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

Located in a quiet area close to transportation, Ard-na-said is a delightful B&B. Our room was well-appointed and our hosts, Olive and Jim, were gracious and helpful. A wonderful breakfast is served in the diningroom/parlor. We'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolatelover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.1 mi away
AmarAgua Guest House
AmarAgua Guest House
#51 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunedin Guest House
Dunedin Guest House
#134 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gifford House
Gifford House
#75 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorstan Guest House
Dorstan Guest House
#73 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#59 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard-na-said? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard-na-said

Property: Ard-na-said
Address: 5 Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5HH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP SINCE 14/10/2016 Ard-Na-Said is a Victorian house which was built in 1875. It is set in attractive gardens in a quiet residential area yet only 1.5 miles to the train station. Being only 100 metres from an excellent bus service that offers a speedy access to the heart of Edinburgh. We are close to Holyrood park and Arthur's seat, Prestonfield Hotel,(Rhubarb Restaurant & Taste of Scotland), Edinburgh University and Pollock Halls of Residence and within a 5 minute walk of Prestonfield Golf Club, The Royal Commonwealth Pool & Gym and local shops and Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ard-na-said reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard-Na-Said Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing