We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“love this hotel”
Review of Nira Caledonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nira Caledonia
Ranked #15 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
keswick
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“love this hotel”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

we have been here about 4 times now ,in past few years ,we stay in same room twice and then room down stairs ,this is wonderful hotel and love rooms are so nice , we were here on 10 july 2011 we had great time this was our honeymoon at time we had great time ,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louise g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Nira Caledonia Edinburgh on tripadvisor.

I was delight to read your positive comments and that your continue to enjoy your stays with us. I have passed them on to the whole team and everyone was really pleased!

I look forward to welcoming you back to your Edinburgh home in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

James Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    233
    69
    20
    11
See reviews for
91
731
41
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Spent two nights at this hotel.Beautiful, wonderful staff, great food, fabulous rooms - however, we stayed in a 'small' or 'petite' double room on our first night.Would not recommend this,unless you are travelling alone! Bathroom was tiny,with just a frosted door to it,which you cant lock.No privacy. On our second night, we were upgraded to a larger room (without even having to ask) ,with a large, beautifully decorated seperate room containing a large jacuzzi bath. It was fabulous.Ideally located 10 minutes walk from Edinburgh city centre. Would highly recommend this hotel - but if you are a couple, book the larger room!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 590Martha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Nira Caledonia Edinburgh.

I was delighted to read that you liked our boutique hotel, staff and food. I have noted your comments about the Petite Double room you booked. I was please that we were able to upgrade your room on the second night and that you enjoyed the large jacuzzi bath.

I look for to welcoming you back in the near future. In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do let me know.

Yours sincerely,

James Lane
General Manager
Nira Caledonia
Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this lovely hotel. The bedroom was unique, clean and comfortable. The service was good at the bar and restaurant, thanks to David. Love the decor. Lovely quiet street, near all amenities. Would recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Nira Caledonia Edinburgh.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our boutique Edinburgh hotel. Thank you for your very kind comments about David, I know he was thrilled to read them.

I look for to welcoming you back in the near future. In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do let me know.

Yours sincerely,

James Lane
General Manager
Nira Caledonia
Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel on a romantic break for a Valentine weekend away. I was pleasently surprised when entering the hotel how gorgeous the reception decor was. What a beautiful hotel. We were greeted by a lovely, helpful guy on reception, who was more than helpful, very polite and very welcoming to us.

Our room was amazing, very very posh! Very spacious, fabulous decor, very cosy. More than we expected.

The hotel is just off the centre, a 10 minute walk to Rose Street/Princes Street, we enjoyed the walk as the weather was very pleasent.

We would without a doubt stay here again, superb.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AimNKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Nira Caledonia on tripadvisor.

Thank you for your very kind comments about our recently refurbished reception area and we are thrilled that you thought the hotel was beautiful. I was delighted to read your comment about the helpful, very polite and very welcoming reception you received on arrival. I have passed your comments to the team.

I was also delighted to read that your thought our newly refurbished rooms were amazing and very posh! It makes all our efforts worthwhile! Thank you!!!

I look forward to welcoming you back to your new Edinburgh home in the near future and at such a time, if I can be of any assistance, please do let me know.

Yours sincerely,

James Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We got an amazing late deal for the Nira Caledonia, and were very impressed with what we received. The hotel is around 15 - 20 minutes walk from Waverley station, down the broad and refined streets of the New Town (there are a couple of bus services, too).

The hotel is small, but very opulent and discreet. Rooms were kitted out with plenty of luxury touches, such as rainfall shower, jacuzzi bath, upmarket toiletries, flat screen TV, iPod dock... The restaurant and bar area was small and quiet, but with a good range of drinks.

Would happily stay again if we got another good rate online.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zippymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind and positive review of our boutique hotel in Edinburgh, Nira Caledonia.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyable stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do let me know.

Yours sincerely,

James Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I remember staying here before so was pleased of the opportunity to return.

The hotel is in a nice old terrace, but not overly central.

The bedroom and bathroom I was given was very well decorated indeed.

Eevening meal is in a quiet restaurant and the food is above average and the service excellent - my first choice when in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Thank you so much for your very positive review of Nira Caledonia.

My team and I were delighted to read that you enjoyed your return trip to us and that you are making Nira Caledonia your first choice of luxury boutique hotel in Edinburgh.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and if I can be of any assistance, please do let me know.

Yours sincerely,

James Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
140 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Location and reception - Occupies two Georgian townhouses in the New Town in Edinburgh. Very good location indeed, a quiet residential street but just a genuine few minutes walk from the centre. Very small reception squeezed into the hall of one of the houses. Smiling staff.

Rooms - I have stayed here four times in the past month, and have ranged from an upgraded suite (600 feet, magnificent and luxurious, huge bed, sofa, massive TV) to the smallest attic room (100 feet, cosy and snug, though not much room for cat swinging). All the rooms have charismatic "blingy" decor - big lamps, curtains, objets. Windows open. Kettle and Nespresso machine provided.

Beds - all full doubles, very comfortable, first class linens (somewhere over 500 thread count I would say), expensive pillows (though I always bring mine).

Baths - mostly jacuzzi style baths, bathrooms newly refurbished, smart, not huge (there isnt the space between the rooms) but big enough.

Ambient noise - very low at the front (this is a very quiet street of houses and apartments with no through traffic), slightly more at the back, some fan noise but not high, and some road noise from the shopping street down the hill. Not enough to much disturb even this noise-hating traveller.

A bit of an Edinburgh gem overall - if you dont have a car! (no parking)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Coltbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NumberTenEdinburgh, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time for posting your review of Nira Caledonia on tripadvisor.

I have passed your comments on to my team and we are all delighted you have enjoyed your recent stays with us. I am also delighted you have noticed all the changes we have made to the hotel while carrying out our recent refurbishment.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do let me know.

Kindest regards,

James Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nira Caledonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Property: Nira Caledonia
Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing