We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small Boutique Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nira Caledonia

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Nira Caledonia
Ranked #15 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Essex UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small Boutique Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

The hotel was comfortable,we paid extra for exetutive room which was lovely, and had a good view of the city. The room was on the other side of the building so you had to come out side to go to the resturant ect (and it was freezing!)
Food was average,we was on a deal but the menu was very basic,so we paid small charge for main menu. Cooked breakfast was small and we waited quite a long time, and it was not what I ordered!
The hotel is a long walk from Princes st, and it is all uphill, as my husband has a heart condition this was not ideal, but the hotel were very helpfull in getting us taxis.
But overall we had a lovey stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room in main building with view over city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Nira Caledonia on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback on your visit and for your comments about the hotel and location. I have spoken to our Restaurant Manager regarding the attention to detail for your breakfast and do apologise that it was not what you ordered. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit overall and look forward to welcoming you back to Nira Caledonia sometime soon.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    229
    67
    20
    11
See reviews for
90
725
38
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

From the moment we arrived for our weekend break we were delighted with this hotel. The staff were professional and attentive, the suite was spacious and beautifully decorated. I especially liked that the radio was playing Classic FM when we arrived in the suite! Little extras like the coffee machine and the iPod dock were very welcome. (I like listening to music while relaxing so usually have to pack my own iPod dock) The wardrobe was small and the hangers kept jambing in the door but this is a minor irritation. The bathroom was small compared to the size of the room but was well fitted-out. Although it took two of us about 10 minutes to figure out how to turn the tap on to run a bath!
Breakfast was good. The scrambled eggs were delicious. However, I like black puddings to be earthy and wholesome, not tiny little designer rounds on the plate!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapnDarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Nira Caledonia on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback on your visit and for your lovely comments about the hotel bedrooms and breakfast. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and please be assured all your great feedback has been relayed to all our team members. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Stayed for two nights with my brother in law and his wife. We all enjoyed the stay, good food (breakfast especially), nice clean rooms. The staff were friendly and helpful, no complaints.
However I left behind an item on the bedside cabinet that was of great sentimental value to me ( no monetary value). The housekeeping and staff have not been able to locate this and because if this our stay was completely spoiled. Entirely my fault for leaving it but I'd hoped it would be returned. So we will not be returning

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel on TripAdvisor. I know that you have been in contact with our Manager and she is liaising directly with you regarding this.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Comfortable, spotless, super breakfast, and fresh apples for guests in the hallways a nice welcoming touch. Staf courteous, knowlegeable and most helpful. Not a regular in the city, but would certainly consider coming here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had time to make full use of our facilities, from our delicious Scottish breakfast to the little touches, like the apples, that we do to help make your stay more enjoyable. Your comments regarding the cleanliness, professionalism and warmth of service from my colleagues are especially appreciated and it will be a pleasure to share your comments with them. We look forward to seeing you back at Nira Caledonia sometime soon.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
251 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

I have regularly stayed in this hotel with work and the rooms are so nicely decorated, clean and homely and so much attention to detail has gone in to making this hotel so luxurious. Each time I stay I must admit that I feel thoroughly spoilt with such lovely surroundings. I love this place and continue to come back here time and time again!.This place never disappoints and I always get a superb night sleep in the comfy beds. This hotel is really central and the staff are always so welcoming and friendly. I highly recommend this place and it is terrific value for money

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay. Your comments regarding the decor of our rooms and the warmth of service from my colleagues are especially appreciated and it will be a pleasure to share you feedback with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Nira Caledonia again sometime soon.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We have just returned today from a one night break at the Nira. This was the second time my husband and I have stayed here and again, found this hotel to be fabulous. The staff are so welcoming and friendly, in particular Erwin, who as front of house is highly efficient and professional. The rooms are very sumptuous and grand and I will definitely be returning here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Nira Caledonia on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback on your visit and for your lovely comments about the hotel and the service, especially by Erwin. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and please be assured all your great feedback has been relayed to all our team members. Thank you again and we look forward to seeingyou back in the near future.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

this how is nice once your inside. from the outside its like a house and we were surprised when we pulled up outside. not like any hotel i stayed in before. this was like one of those small family run B&B from the outside but when we went in it all changed. of course the hotel is very small. you will see teh same faced. the reception is a small desk and a chair its a small hotel on a cute cobbled street. I would suggest if your driving and you get this hotel for cheap (i.e. well under £100.00) then stay here otherwise look around.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank int-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review Nira Caledonia on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will certainly share your comments with our team. I was surprised to read your comments with regard to the value you have stated to stay at the hotel. We do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel sometime soon.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nira Caledonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Property: Nira Caledonia
Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing