We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Nira Caledonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nira Caledonia
Ranked #17 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This hotel lived up to the hype was one of the most relaxing, romantic places. The room was amazing the furniture alone was beautiful and the bed so comfy you wanted to spend your entire stay in it. The staff were amazing and very friendly couldn't have asked for more from them. The food was amazing also and they went to a lot of effort to make sure I could eat the food as I have a lot of allergies and they were great about it. We even ordered room service while we were there the prices were reasonable for room service and the food was again great.
The hotel it's self is beautiful inside and out and in a lovely surrounding area close to the city centre. It's easy walking distance and taxis were reasonably priced also there is a well connected bus next work two streets over that can allow you to deal with the many hills of Edinburgh.
We'd definitely come back no question!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had time to make full use of our facilities, from our delicious Scottish breakfast, fabulous dinner menu and room service to the peace and tranquillity of our room amenities all in the perfect location. Your comments regarding the professionalism and warmth of service from my colleagues are especially appreciated and it will be a pleasure to share you feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
There are newer reviews for Nira Caledonia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

945 - 951 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

I stayed here on the monday and Tuesday with a voucher deal which included a 3 course meal on the first night and bottle of champange in room.
Room was excellent with well stocked fridge and mini bar which is very expensive .
Meal and breakfast were excellent quality and all staff very polite and helpful.
Would recommend it to everyone. Will visit again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Billy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had time to make full use of our facilities, from our delicious Scottish breakfast to the peace and tranquillity of our location. Your comments regarding the professionalism and warmth of service from my colleagues are especially appreciated and it will be a pleasure to share you feedback with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in 2013 sometime soon.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Could not fault the service or facilities at the Nira Caledonia. Only a short walk from attractions such as the castle and the Edinburgh dungeons. Good selection of food/drinks and the breakfast was very tasty. Only problem was the mattress was a bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WILKO1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had time to make full use of our facilities, from our delicious Scottish breakfast to the peace and tranquillity of our location. I was very surprised that you found our beds uncomfortable. All the beds feature 2,000 pocket sprung mattresses and luxurious down toppers and pillows.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in 2013 sometime soon.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights as part of a voucher codes promotion and were delighted with it.
The room was really nicely furnished and the bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfast service was top class and the food was also really nice as they used all locally sourced produce.
We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night and had a delicious meal. The Chef came out to talk to us to see if we'd enjoyed the food and he told us how he'd been to one of the finest steakhouses in London to get some inspiration for his menu.
The hotel is situated in a really quiet part of town and the area just behind the Hotel ( Stocksbridge) is well worth exploring as there are some great restaurants and cafes around which have a more 'local' feel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor and there is no lift. It was a great room and had nice views but if yo...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wadders79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had time to make full use of our facilities, from our delicious Scottish breakfast and fabulous dinner to the peace and tranquillity of our location. Your comments regarding the professionalism and warmth of service from my colleagues are especially appreciated and it will be a pleasure to share you feedback with the team. I will certainly pass on your comments to David, our Chef.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in 2013 sometime soon.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights with a wowcher deal and loved our time in the Nira Caledonia.
We read reviews prior to arriving, which stated rooms were small. I expected them to be cramped but they were more than adequate. We decided to upgrade to the jacuzzi room and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The whole hotel has a touch of class about it and we were made to feel very welcome. The staff we encountered were all very helpful and happy to assist. The food we received with the deal was first class, with the option to add other courses should you feel the need. The location is in a lovely part of Edinburgh around 10-15 minutes slow walk to Princes St/Waverley Station. The only problem you may find is the opaque bathroom doors.
I'd definitely recommend this hotel. Hopefully we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank clockendbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Nira Caledonia on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback on your visit and for your lovely comments about the hotel and location. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and please be assured all your great feedback has been relayed to all our team members. Thank you for sharing your comments with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed here back in March for my birthday on St Patricks Day- and it was booked through the wowcher website. It's the first time I've bought one of those deals and I was nervous we'd be treated differently- but I needn't have worried. The 2 gentleman we dealt with over the 2 days on reception were fantastic- it was heavy sleet outside the whole time and as we travelled by train- we needed taxis everywhere and they booked those for us and chatted to us while we waited. We did go out for a couple of walks and the smallest touches (like the umbrellas by the front door) helped us greatly! There was a young blonde girl waitressing on the Monday night who was also fantastic- these staff are a credit to the hotel. The room (room 4) was beautifully decorated and although I'd read other reviews of the rooms being tiny - I was more than happy with the space. The bathroom was lovely and immaculate- with a jacuzzi bath- and was replenished descreetly when needed. When we were shown to our room we were helped with our luggage, and classical fm was playing in the room when we entered which was a lovely touch! There was champagne and roses as part of the deal and they were presented beautifully too. We had dinner in the restaurant on our last night and my partner really enjoyed the food- although I can't comment as I was suffering from terrible morning sickness at the time and was disappointed I couldn't enjoy it but the food looked and smelled delicious. Overall, we had a gorgeous weekend at the Nira Caledonia and have recommended it to several of our friends since getting back- I wouldn't hesitate to pay full price to go back and if we visit Edinburgh again- I'll be staying there! Fabulous!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had time to make full use of our facilities, from our fabulous dinner in Blackwoods Restaurant to the peace and tranquillity of our location. I was delighted to read your comments about how friendly our colleagues are and will certainly share your comments with them.

All the very best for when your new arrival comes and we look forward to welcoming you back to Nira Caledonia sometime soon.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

We had 2 nights in a Jacuzzi Suite & we loved it.
We were apparently given the largest jacuzzi & I believe this meant our room perhaps wasn't as large as other suites but this suited us fine as relaxing, champers in hand in the jacuzzi was all we wanted to do anyway..we were on honeymoon afterall!

However the room was still spacious & felt luxurious. We also had a separate smaller room with sofa, small wardrobe, luggage stand & a well stocked mini fridge also.
There was also a compact separate bathroom, nice shower but very small shower cubicle. Overall it almost felt like a small apartment, with beautiful decor, high ceilings, shutters on windows with big heavy beautiful curtains & situated in a leafy quiet area in Edinburgh. Just lovely & we'd definitely go back to a jacuzzi suite for sure.

We had one breakfast delivered to the room & another breakfast (both delicious!) in the restaurant.
We also had one evening meal in their new Blackwoods restaurant which was superb (the food wasn't as hot as I'd personally have liked, & after mentioning it to staff we were given a complimentary bottle of wine by way of apology-much appreciated. I didn't want to give a negative as it was beautifully cooked, so well prepared & it's obvious when speaking to the chef that he's passionate about his food & tries very hard to please). I'd definitely go back just for a meal - steaks & sauce were amazing.

The hotel staff couldn't have been nicer, they were always friendly, accommodating & willing to please .. We requested room service (ice buckets & champagne glasses) a few times & it was always brought swiftly, & with a smile.
We would highly recommend for a romantic, relaxing, quiet stay - just perfect for us!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandg187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Nira Caledonia on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback on your visit and for your lovely comments about the your suite and your meal in Blackwoods Restaurant. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and please be assured all your great feedback has been relayed to all our team members. Congratulations once again on your recent marriage and may you have many happy years together. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,857 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,853 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,386 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nira Caledonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £116 - £399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing