We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem!”
Review of Nira Caledonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nira Caledonia
Ranked #15 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My wife and enjoyed a weekend break at this lovely little hotel. The Nira Caledonia self styles itself as a luxury boutique hotel, which is a description that sits comfortably with me.
We booked the stay through Wowcher, paying a small premium for an executive room, which was very good. The furnishings and bathroom were clean and comfortable. The room had decent facilities; tv, radio and free wifi along with a sitting area - great.
The deal included a three course meal. The menu options under this arrangement were a little limited so we paid a top-up to a full a la carte menu which was well worth it - the food was excellent.
I am disabled which meant that getting around a little challenging (no lift and lots of stairs), that said the staff were very helpful and genuinely went out of their way to help.
I fully endorse and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an exec room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stphnwhit6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had time to make full use of our facilities, from our delicious food in Blackwood's to the peace and tranquillity of our location. Your comments regarding the professionalism and warmth of service from my colleagues are especially appreciated and it will be a pleasure to share you feedback with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Nira Caledonia sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    233
    69
    20
    11
See reviews for
91
731
41
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Having read some reviews was a little worried about this hotel, but it was fab, it was a very small reception as someone pointed out, but you only go to book in, cant see what the problem was, we had the standard room, but it was lovley, decoration was great, everything you needed, meals were also lovely, even though there was a party or reviewers in, staff coped well and were pleasant at all times, 10 mins walk from centre, but will definatley be going back, thank you to all the staff and managers, who made us have a fab weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordieson2ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Nira Caledonia on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback on your visit and for your lovely comments about the hotel and location. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and please be assured all your great feedback has been relayed to all our team members. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
150 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The good stuff:
1. Hotel is in two (soon to be three) traditional town-houses which have been restored with some cool interior designs.
2. The rooms are well equipped with great views over the street or over the suburbs and Fettes.
3. The restaurant is good, staff attentive and breakfast was slightly more "Scottish" and imaginative than your average hotel.
4. One of the young Scots waiters was especially engaging, helpful and friendly - it is great to see people enjoying their work

The not so good:
1. The location is not great - it is a long up-hill walk to the nearest places of interest (Charlotte Square and Princes Street) so if you want to do a lot of city sight-seeing there are better located hotels.
2. Some guests complained their rooms were small - I am sure they were but if you want a half decent sized room then you have to pay more!
3. The bed was the softest I have ever slept on and if you are within 12 inches of the edge you will slip out - never had this problem before!!
4. If you are on a higher floor (we were on the 2nd floor - for Americans it would be the 3rd floor) there is a lot of walking up and down because the ceilings are very high. If you have restricted mobility you have to have a ground floor room because there are no elevators.

In conclusion, I would stay there again if I was doing business in Charlotte Square but for sight seeing in the city I would recommend a more central location. It is a nice hotel with good staff but the location is a big negative for me.

Room Tip: We had a high rear facing room but the views over the suburbs were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your comments regarding the professionalism and warmth of service from my colleagues are especially appreciated and it will be a pleasure to share you feedback with the team. I have noted your comments regarding the location of the hotel and the short walk to Princes Street you do get the peace and tranquillity that Gloucester Place offers. Thank you once again for your comments and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Nira Caledonia in the near future.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stayed at the wonderful Nira Caledonia for my husbands 50th birthday. We only stay over the bridge but we could have been abroad, this hotel is intimate & every detail is covered, the staff are wonderful & unobtrusive. Our suite was lovely & the food was excellent and not expensive. The location is perfect between princes street & Stockbridge which has wonderful bars & restaurants. Can't recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: Room 1005 suite. Lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m-young23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us to celebrate your husbands birthday. It's always great to receive such wonderful feedback which I will certainly share with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Nira Caledonia sometime soon.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I stayed here on business earlier this week, travelling as a solo female which can be a tad daunting. The staff were most welcoming and the room was lovely, with some lovely extra touches. The bed was extremely comfortable and it was quiet and conducive to a good nights sleep. I didn't eat in the restaurant, but I did have breakfast which was freshly cooked to order. There was a great choice. The hotel is a little quirky, it isn't a big chain/corporate and I like to see these endeavours succeed, and they are clearly trying very hard.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had time to make full use of our facilities, from our delicious Scottish breakfast to the attention to detail of our room amenities. Your comments regarding the professionalism and warmth of service from my colleagues are especially appreciated and it will be a pleasure to share you feedback with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Nira Caledonia for your next business trip or for pleasure.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
161 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I went here for afternoon tea with a couple of friends for my birthday.

The waiters and chef were very attentive offering to our drinks and offering us more sandwiches and cakes on several occasions.

There were beef, ham, egg and smoked salmon sandwiches. Followed by lovely fruit and plain scones with jam and clotted cream.

Then there were lovely little strawberry and lemon cakes, marzipan bites. There were some other little cakes that none of us fancied as they were all nuts but to be honest we couldn't have fitted them in anyway.

At the end they also offered us a goody bag of the remaining bits.

Overall, a lovely experience and very good for £14 a person.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lou1974Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Many thanks for your recent review following your Afternoon Tea at the hotel. I am delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your experience and had a memorable birthday. I will certainly share your comments with the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Discreet, friendly, lovely room. Impressed with the quality. Upgraded room was a special treat. Can't go wrong with the room, service & all comprehensive breakfast. All of staff we have met have been accomadating, helpful & eager to please. Upstairs 2 steep floors with no lift but the manager carried our bags so no worries. Breakfast was buffet or custom, both a hearty start. The jacuzzi in our suite was extra nice after hiking Edinburgh. With no concerns I can say we highly recommend the Nira Caledonia & will be back.

Room Tip: Smaller properties seem to go the extra mile for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette N, Director of Sales at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review following your recent visit to Nira Caledonia. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had time to make full use of our facilities, from our delicious Scottish breakfast to the peace and tranquillity of our location. Your comments regarding the professionalism and warmth of service from my colleagues are especially appreciated and it will be a pleasure to share you feedback with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Janette Napier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,672 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nira Caledonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Property: Nira Caledonia
Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing