We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear.”
Review of Nira Caledonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nira Caledonia
Ranked #25 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Lets start from the beginning. The outside of the building is very grand - situated in a quieter part of Edinburgh and in what looks like a mix of residential / hotel accommodation. Just a short taxi ride from Waverley station. The entrance looks small and that it is. When checking in be prepared to move around the reception desk as other people try to get past you as you check in. There is room in the corridor for 1 person only. Check in guy had the personality of a wet fish.

After getting checked in, we were taken to our room. We booked this hotel based on the description of the character of the building and the style. It is also listed as 5 star so this was another factor in our choice. We climbed the stairs, climbed some more and then left the beautiful stairway for what looked like an entrance to staff quarters. This further staircase took us to our room. The door opened and before us was our very own little cell. We had booked a standard double room that was supposed to be upgraded thought the hotels partner which it clearly was not. In fact, it was downgraded. The room had enough space (just) for the furniture and a bathroom so small that you could touch the shower cubical with your feet as you sat on the square shaped toilet. There was absolutely no room to move in it. As other reviewers have commented on the rooms , I can only confer with their testimonies. This room had none of the features , charm, decadence or otherwise that we're used to describe the hotel. The bed was a dubious double bed with both my wife and I spending the night tossing and turning with the ever present though of falling out of the bed a very real possibility.

I would love to have put a review on here telling potential visitors that the hotel accommodation lived up to the 5 start rating and describing the room with all of the wonderful features described on the website but as I have yet to experience it , I cannot review it.

The only saving grace the hotel had was the restaurant. We had a very attentive waiter for our evening meal who , along with the food, was quite faultless. From the chefs taster to the final course , the food was excellent with the quality of the ingredients and the chefs ability shining through.

In summary, the Nira deserves the 1 start it got for the food , should have been 5 starts but the accommodation let it down so badly.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

883 - 889 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Having booked the hotel and then read mixed reviews about it afterwards I arrived a little apprehensive. To say the least the hotel staff couldn't have done more for us during our stay and I am writing this piece as a big thank you, especially to Marta on reception, Davey the Chef and Rolands and Moray in the bar. All the staff we met were friendly, polite and helpful. We had booked a suite at full price and I can say I was not disappointed. The room was spacious, bright and very tastefully decorated. The food in the restaurant was absolutely delicious and I very much liked the fact the hotel sourced everything locally. We visited the during the Fringe festival and the hotel is perfectly located for the events in the new town just a 5-10 minute walk (close to the bars and the main shopping area). When we revisit Edinburgh I will not hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

A must stay experience for service with a smile. The hot tub suites are fantastic and again a must try when your staying here.

The breakfast was huge and plentiful. Just what was needed after a night out on the town.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stay here for three nights. Accepted we were paying a premion due to summer and festival. After a very long trip to find ourselves up three flights of stairs in the attic; needless to say very disappointed. To there credit once we explained it was very hot they moved up next day. We are from Queensland in OZ so imagine how hot?
Enthusiasm of staff was mixed. Food was very good

Room Tip: If you are a foodie and into old buildings and under 60 you will like this
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We booked this for 3 nights so we could go to shows at the fringe festival. It was an online booking so all we had to go on were the online reviews which all said it was marvellous.
These reviews are spot on. Beautifully decorated in keeping with the age and style of the building it was exactly what we were hoping for. The hotel is about 15 minute walk from Princes street so just far enough away from the noise of the town centre but close enough to walk in and out a couple of times a day.
The reception and bar/breakfast staff are extremely friendly and very helpful.
we stayed in the wilson suite (with an extra bed for our son), the room was certainly large enough for 3 adults but the bathroom was a little small and became quite hot. Lovely thick fluffy bath robes, powerful shower a huge comfy bed. The Scottish breakfast was excellent with refills of tea and toast supplied.
we really can;t fault this hotel at all.
We were talking to the new Manager as we were leaving and he said it was going to be revamped room by room over the next few months - this sounds exciting and as we are returning to Edinburgh again next year for the Fringe it will certainly be on our list.

Room Tip: If you are staying for a few days i would go for the bigger room - The Wilson Suite which also had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie_posner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed in a suite of Nira Caledonia with my wife and 16 years old daughter recently and really enjoyed it. The room was spacious and bright and the staff polite. The breakfast was typical scottish with some options of continental breakfast. In overall, a pleasant stay that combines with a really attractive city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Set in a quiet area that exudes elegance . We received a pleasant welcoming greeting and were shown to our room . My initial impression of the staying in a maisonette was to ask for another room however after a couple minutes settling into the very comfortable settee and being enveloped by ambience of the room all thoughts were forgotten . The room décor is stylish modern and very comfortable. Bathroom was modern with spa bath and great shower system . As a coffee drinker the Nespresso machine was a bonus .We usually chose to dine out of hotels however we elected to stay in to dine . The service was extremely pleasant friendly and professional with a high standard of food in both presentation and taste ,aided by a willingness to ensure that individual requirements were satisfied .
Cannot fault the effort that the complete team went to ensure our stay was the best it and our needs were satisfied . It was and they were.
We both apprecited on departure that the General Manager, Rory took the time to seek our comments prior to wishing us safe travels and thanked us for staying in the hotel. This was a nice personal touch that left an impression in our minds that our custom was valued .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,177 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,431 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
680 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,808 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nira Caledonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £97 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing